WildSnow Quiver Arrow of the Week – Kastle TX 77


Post by WildSnow.com blogger | February 18, 2013      

Tony Nitti

Editor’s note: Our Quiver Arrow reviews are intended to be brief glimpses of possible planks to be included in our Ultimate Quiver ski selection. Enjoy, and please know that brevity is our goal. Also note that while we call this ski a “TX 77,” in no place on the ski do the graphics include that term, instead, they call it the “Tour Randonnee 77” on the topskin.

Kastle

Kastle TX 77

It’s rando race season and spring is just around the corner. Narrower skis? They’re still viable. While the WildSnow Ultimate Quiver will be focusing on skis in the 90s and 100s, they’re throwing in a few skinny boards to keep things interesting, including this relatively new offering from Kästle: TX 77.

My background: I’m 6’0”, 175 lbs and do the majority of my backcountry skiing in the Roaring Fork Valley, Colorado, with a few rando races thrown in. I ski the Dynafit One boot for quiver testing.

Ski: Kästle TX 77 (tour randonnëe)

Length tested: 167
Other lengths: 147, 157, 167, 177
Dimensions: 115-77-102,
Turn radius: 16.5m in the 167
Weight: 1298 grams per ski in the 167 cm length (verified).
MSRP: $679

A note about the weight of this ski. TX77 rips hardpack on the down, but you pay a price on the up compared to a skinny rando race type plank. In our comparison between skis considering surface area vs weight, 77 is above average in mass. Thus the 167 TX 77 is light because it’s short and skinny, not because of any particular low-mass construction. With that in mind, we wouldn’t consider this an ideal skimo race board nor is is the TX77 a weight saver for ski mountaineering compared to other planks of similar width that are lighter, but it’s a fantastic uphilling ski since it’s so fun on the return.

Introduced in 2011, the TX 77 is the lightest ski in the Kästle collection, and is intended to be used on the long climbs and corn snow descents synonymous with spring tours in the high alpine.

Until the snow consolidates, however, the TX 77 is best served as a fitness ski. Its moderate weight and narrow waist making it the perfect tool for ascending and descending the well-manicured slopes of the local ski resort in an effort to stay in shape. And to test the TX 77, that’s exactly what I did, putting the ski through its paces on the corduroy flanks of Aspen, Buttermilk, and Snowmass here in Colorado.

On the ascent, the TX 77’s karuba wood core and small form factor make for easy uphilling, offering a respite to the overly-taxed hip flexors that plague many backcountry skiers. In fact, in all but the 177 length, the TX 77 could double as a randonnëe race ski, and though it’s considerably heftier than many dedicated rando race planks, it is also roughly half the price.

My only real complaint about climbing with the TX 77 is not with the ski, but rather the pre-cut Kästle climbing skins. For skins tailored to an alpine touring/randonnëe ski, I did not experience the glide I’ve become accustomed to with the pre-cut offerings from other manufacturers. In addition, the Velcro attachment that secures the skin to the tip of the ski strikes me as a bit clumsy, with the piece begging to be lost during a transition.

The narrowest ski in my quiver is 95 mm underfoot, so as I prepared to head downhill for the first time on the TX 77s, I was anticipating the feeling of descending on two curtain rods. I was immediately surprised, however, by the stable feel and edge hold of the TX 77, which is most likely attributable to the ski’s hybrid construction featuring both sandwich and cap elements.

Verdict? If you’ve always contemplated buying a dedicated fitness ski for your daily climb up the resorts, but felt doing so would mean sacrificing fun turns back to the car, then the TX 77 is a natural addition to your quiver, as it climbs like a dream and is a blast on the way down. And sweetening the deal even further, when the resorts melt out the TX 77 may well double as the perfect spring touring ski; its low weight and strong, stable edge hold making it the ideal tool for slog approaches, early morning spring corn, and pencil thin couloirs.

Shopping for a skinny plank such as the ’77? Good luck, they’re not well distributed due to the North American lust for wider bodies. But google for a stint and you’ll probably find something. If you’re looking for something with Kastle downhill performance but with more width, the Kastle TX 87 received high marks from the recent Alpin Magazine ski review, which we highly regard — and was also included in our inaugural Ultimate Quiver review.

(Guest blogger Tony Nitti is a CPA specializing in tax planning. He lives in the Roaring Fork Valley of Colorado with his wife and two children. When he’s not skiing or rando racing, he has fun writing about tax policy at Forbes.com, so he’s uniquely prepared for battering at the hands of extremely passionate commenters and talk show hosts such as he-who-shall-not-be-named.)



IF YOU'RE HAVING TROUBLE VIEWING SITE, TRY WHITELISTING IN YOUR ADBLOCKER, OTHERWISE PLEASE CONTACT US USING MENU ABOVE, OR FACEBOOK.

Please Enjoy A Few Suggested WildSnow Posts


Comments

9 Responses to “WildSnow Quiver Arrow of the Week – Kastle TX 77”

  1. AndyC February 18th, 2013 1:20 pm

    NIce review. I am now using the Kastle LX92 as my daily driver alpine ski. I use a 76-mm waist Volkl Snowwolf (113-76-100) for my spring-summer AT corn snow ski (I have 80-, 95-, and 105-mm waist AT skis but prefer the lightweight cary Snowwolf for the firmer snows). Last summer, a friend bought the ultra lightweight Movement Random for his spring-summer ski (113-76-105) and loves it. We both use TLT5s (without tongues) for this skiing. I’d love to try the Kastle TX77 and TX87 given how much I like the LX92s as an all mountain winter ski. But they are not common around here and I’ve got many more skis than I can use in my lifetime anyway 🙂

  2. tony nitti February 18th, 2013 2:17 pm

    Andy, I think in general, Wildsnow readers have more skis than they can use in their lifetime! I’ve never been on the Snowwolfs, but I really can’t say enough about how much I enjoyed my time on the TX 77s. I’m salviating over the thought of using them as my spring ski.

  3. Carson February 18th, 2013 3:24 pm

    The correct number of skis in one’s quiver is n + 1, with “n” equalling the number you currently own.

    The formula also translates to bikes, beers and many other desirable objects. Please use irresponsibly.

  4. Greg February 18th, 2013 3:58 pm

    As some who’s current value for “n” is effectively 1, I’d be happy to take some of those off your hands 😀

  5. Bar Barrique February 18th, 2013 8:05 pm

    I think it’s time for a blog post on “modding” your light weight black skis by painting them white, preferably using some light weight aircraft paint.

  6. Lou Dawson February 18th, 2013 8:11 pm

    Bar, it’s being done. The problem is a lot of skis are covered with what’s essentially Ptex, no way pain will really adhere to that without nasty chemical intervention or heat baking. We shall see.

  7. AndyC February 18th, 2013 9:10 pm

    What if they all looked like this, one of the nicest looking around:
    [img width=800]http://www.skiershop.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/1/2/12-kastle-lx92-skis.jpg[/img]

  8. TonyBob February 19th, 2013 12:16 am

    I’ve been using the TX 77’s as all season for the more firm conditions. Way beyond my expectations! I’ve skied them with light weight (Dynafit PDG) boots all the way up to the TLT 5s (I know, light weight as well) without the tongue stiffeners.
    These skis WANT to carve. Predictable but drivable is what I’ve found. And capable in 10″ if powder too!
    These are my go to skis for ice or even firm conditions and I can’t wait for spring time to test them in the corn and crud.
    BLUF: edging macine’s with energetic capacity for someone willing to drive them.
    T-bob

  9. Andy February 19th, 2013 12:04 pm

    Hmm, I think that the n+1 formula works even in more specific situations; I need another spring/mountaineering ski…

    I’m currently on the Ski Trab Tour Rando ski though, and it specs out similarly to this one. At 75 under foot and in a 164, it’s a bit lighter and less turny, but retails at $400! Think of the bindings you can get with the savings.

  Your Comments


  Recent Posts




Facebook Twitter Email Instagram Youtube

WildSnow Twitter Feed



 



  • Blogroll & Links


  • Welcome to Louis (Lou) Dawson's backcountry skiing information & opinion website. Lou's passion for the past 50 years has been alpinism, climbing, mountaineering and skiing -- along with all manner of outdoor recreation. He has authored numerous books and articles about ski touring and is well known as the first person to ski down all 54 of Colorado's 14,000-foot peaks, otherwise known as the Fourteeners! Books and free ski touring news and information here.

    All material on this website is copyrighted, the name WildSnow is trademarked, permission required for reproduction (electronic or otherwise) and display on other websites. PLEASE SEE OUR COPYRIGHT and TRADEMARK INFORMATION.

    We include "affiliate sales" links with most of our blog posts. This means we receive a percentage of a sale if you click over from our site (at no cost to you). None of our affiliate commission links are direct relationships with specific gear companies or shopping carts, instead we remain removed by using a third party who manages all our affiliate sales and relationships. We also sell display "banner" advertising, in this case our relationships are closer to the companies who advertise, but our display advertising income is carefully separated financially and editorially from our blog content, over which we always maintain 100% editorial control -- we make this clear during every advertising deal we work out. Please also notice we do the occasional "sponsored" post, these are under similar financial arrangements as our banner advertising, only the banner or other type of reference to a company are included in the blog post, simply to show they provided financial support to WildSnow.com and provide them with advertising in return. Unlike most other "sponsored content" you find on the internet, our sponsored posts are entirely under our editorial control and created by WildSnow specific writers.See our full disclosures here.

    Backcountry skiing is dangerous. You may be killed or severely injured if you do any form of ski mountaineering, skimo randonnee and randonnée skiing. The information and news on this website is intended only as general information. Due to human error and passing time, the information, text and images contained within this website may be inaccurate, false, or out-of-date. By using, reading or viewing the information provided on this website, you agree to absolve the owners of Wild Snow as well as content contributors of any liability for injuries or losses incurred while using such information. Furthermore, you agree to use any of this website's information, maps, photos, or binding mounting instructions templates at your own risk, and waive Wild Snow owners and contributors of liability for use of said items for ski touring or any other use.

    Switch To Mobile Version