Kastle 87 – Quiver Arrow of the Week


Post by WildSnow.com blogger | December 23, 2011      

We’re creeping up on completing the Ultimate Quiver. Then we’ll test everything. In the backcountry, not on groomers. Human powered. This week’s addition, winner of the Alpin Magazine 2011 ski test, Kastle 87.

Kastle 87 backcountry ski.

Kastle 87 backcountry ski won Alpin Magazine ski test, is in that intermediate width that's just about perfect for ski mountaineering.

These guys weigh in at 53.1 oz for the 177 cm length, sidecut 122/87/110. That puts them in the same weight and width class is a couple other well liked touring skis. We suspect that testing these will be fun. Soon.



IF YOU'RE HAVING TROUBLE VIEWING SITE, TRY WHITELISTING IN YOUR ADBLOCKER, OTHERWISE PLEASE CONTACT US USING MENU ABOVE, OR FACEBOOK.

Please Enjoy A Few Suggested WildSnow Posts


Comments

7 Responses to “Kastle 87 – Quiver Arrow of the Week”

  1. AndyC December 23rd, 2011 1:36 pm

    An extremely highly regarded company in the Alpine skiing world, it will be nice to see your review; I’ve been interested in these and one of the larger models like FX94/104, but so few are seen and so few are the reviews. A very expensive ski to buy blind (without trying it out).

  2. John December 23rd, 2011 1:53 pm

    I have been skiing the FX94 for 3 seasons. Fantastic, rock solid, high performance ski but heavy for long steep skinning approaches. Really shines in steep gnar! Generally if the approach is low angle, the weight is not an issue. My preference is to use these on low angle glacier approaches to very steep couloirs we climb rather then skin.

    May be on my FX104s for the first time next week.

  3. Chris December 26th, 2011 11:53 pm

    I hope you enjoy this ski Lou. This is the ski that Neal and I skied the Lhotse Face on Everest on. It’s got great performance to weight, and loves corn snow, but is not as high-perf as the FX series, which has metal sheets and weighs more (The FX 94 in a 176 is 1000 grams more than the TX 87 177) I have been skiing the FX 94 on Ajax and Highlands so far this season (and 104’s when it snows) but will tour exclusively on the TX 87 and 97 this season.
    Cheers

  4. Lou December 27th, 2011 6:04 am

    Thanks for chiming in Chris! We’re looking forward to this ski, as it’s the same form factor as some other well liked mountaineering skis in our quiver, and in the same weight class. Yet wider has been important lately, as we’ve been skiing backcountry and enjoying the bottomless faceted snowpack in the wild Elks. Continues to amaze me how we actually can have fun on fat skis in snow that used to be virtually unskiable with our skinny sticks.

  5. John December 27th, 2011 2:02 pm

    When is the TX97 going to be available?

  6. +1 February 27th, 2012 6:45 pm

    hi there, just putting up some pressure on you guys 😉 and making sure you’re extensively testing these! (not that it’s boring anyway).

    do you have any idea of when will the reviews be ready? as always, thanks for the great work

  7. Patrick January 10th, 2013 10:25 am

    Have you tested this ski Lou? I’m thinking of change. Narrower sounds good to me.
    Might be time to start weighing skins, not just skis, boots, and bindings, packs, etc. Skins, especially if ‘damp’, must amount to something.
    Also interesting to come up with some kind of measure of skin drag (friction).

  Your Comments


  Recent Posts




Facebook Twitter Google Instagram Youtube

WildSnow Twitter Feed



 



  • Blogroll & Links


  • Welcome to Louis (Lou) Dawson's backcountry skiing information & opinion website. Lou's passion for the past 50 years has been alpinism, climbing, mountaineering and skiing -- along with all manner of outdoor recreation. He has authored numerous books and articles about ski touring and is well known as the first person to ski down all 54 of Colorado's 14,000-foot peaks, otherwise known as the Fourteeners! Books and free ski touring news and information here.

    All material on this website is copyrighted, the name WildSnow is trademarked, permission required for reproduction (electronic or otherwise) and display on other websites. PLEASE SEE OUR COPYRIGHT and TRADEMARK INFORMATION.

    We include "affiliate sales" links with most of our blog posts. This means we receive a percentage of a sale if you click over from our site (at no cost to you). None of our affiliate commission links are direct relationships with specific gear companies or shopping carts, instead we remain removed by using a third party who manages all our affiliate sales and relationships. We also sell display "banner" advertising, in this case our relationships are closer to the companies who advertise, but our display advertising income is carefully separated financially and editorially from our blog content, over which we always maintain 100% editorial control -- we make this clear during every advertising deal we work out. Please also notice we do the occasional "sponsored" post, these are under similar financial arrangements as our banner advertising, only the banner or other type of reference to a company are included in the blog post, simply to show they provided financial support to WildSnow.com and provide them with advertising in return. Unlike most other "sponsored content" you find on the internet, our sponsored posts are entirely under our editorial control and created by WildSnow specific writers.See our full disclosures here.

    Backcountry skiing is dangerous. You may be killed or severely injured if you do any form of ski mountaineering, skimo randonnee and randonnée skiing. The information and news on this website is intended only as general information. Due to human error and passing time, the information, text and images contained within this website may be inaccurate, false, or out-of-date. By using, reading or viewing the information provided on this website, you agree to absolve the owners of Wild Snow as well as content contributors of any liability for injuries or losses incurred while using such information. Furthermore, you agree to use any of this website's information, maps, photos, or binding mounting instructions templates at your own risk, and waive Wild Snow owners and contributors of liability for use of said items for ski touring or any other use.

    Switch To Mobile Version