G3 Zen Oxide – WildSnow Arrow of the Week


Post by WildSnow.com blogger | November 3, 2011      

I got a laugh this morning when a Buddhist friend of mine called me for ski recommends. We were talking mid-fats, and I said one of the ones to consider, and perhaps he’d like because of the name, is the Zen Oxide. Which begs the question, what’s next, the Evangelical Anhydride?

Ecumenicism aside, we’ve put a pair of these guns in our test and review quiver for this coming winter. We think they’ll be fun. Wood core, 178 centimeter, reasonable weight for this type of width and length: 131/105/123 at 63.9 ounces (1810 gr) per ski. Touted by G3 as “their fattest lightweight ski.” Not heavily rockered, but the early rise type looks to provide the lift assist we’re all looking for in the soft stuff. See our weight chart to compare with other skis.

G3 Zen Oxide for backcountry skiing.

G3 Zen Oxide for backcountry skiing. Nice looking planks though we'd rather they were light colored to prevent ice buildup on the topskin, click to enlarge

G3 Zen Oxide 'early rise' tip is essentially a bit of rocker, about 15 cm.

G3 Zen Oxide 'early rise' tip is essentially a bit of rocker, about 15 cm.

The party line from G3.

We’re looking forward to riding these religious icons! Shop for Zen.



IF YOU'RE HAVING TROUBLE VIEWING SITE, TRY WHITELISTING IN YOUR ADBLOCKER, OTHERWISE PLEASE CONTACT US USING MENU ABOVE, OR FACEBOOK.

Please Enjoy A Few Suggested WildSnow Posts


Comments

15 Responses to “G3 Zen Oxide – WildSnow Arrow of the Week”

  1. Scott November 3rd, 2011 11:56 am

    @Lou,

    I’ve noticed G3 skis seem to be shorter for an advertised length than, say, BD’s skis. Is that true with the Zen Oxide too?

  2. Lou November 3rd, 2011 7:42 pm

    I’d say perhaps yes. For example, the 174 Wayback (an arrow for another week) we have here in the quiver is almost exactly the same physical length as the 178 G3. I need some enlightenment on this. Anyone?

  3. Nick D November 3rd, 2011 9:33 pm

    I can believe that, as my 167 Coombacks are about 1 cm less than my 171 Free Randos.

  4. Karl November 3rd, 2011 9:33 pm

    I skied 185’s that seemed as long as my 183’s Liberty Helix, so yes(?). The weight was a joy on the up, but seemed wimpy at times going down… or maybe I’m the wimp.

  5. Charlie November 3rd, 2011 10:10 pm
  6. Colin November 3rd, 2011 11:02 pm

    K2s measure longer than their advertised length.

  7. gillesleskieur November 4th, 2011 5:25 am

    Maybe k2 measures with a line from tip to tail where other manufacturers lay the meter on the curve of the tip and to the tail. ?

  8. Lee Lau November 4th, 2011 5:03 pm

    Lou,

    You’ll probably like this ski but I will warn you that it tempts you to not turn. Have fun! Best ski I’ve tried in a long long while

  9. Mark W November 4th, 2011 11:00 pm

    Did you say mid-fat? Terms like that sure are a moving target. Sounds like this might be a fun ski for sure.

  10. max November 6th, 2011 8:25 am

    supposedly nordica are the only skis that are consistently as long as they say

  11. Lou November 6th, 2011 4:16 pm

    This ski length issue reminds me of another length issue. In the end, just not a big deal compared to more important aspects.

  12. David B November 6th, 2011 11:32 pm

    The length thing; well it’s obvious that us men folk are the ones making the skis.
    I’ll leave the rest up to you!!

  13. Will November 8th, 2011 10:59 pm

    K2 measures their skis by pulling the tape taught from the tip to tail. Most other manufactures measure by following the curvature of the ski.

  14. Mike T November 23rd, 2011 9:55 pm

    I have been out a couple early sessions with this ski…. So far they have been a blast!

  15. William April 29th, 2013 12:49 pm

    Lou,

    Just picked up a pair of 186 2012/13 ZenOxides for exclusively BC use in Tahoe area. Visually, the mount reference point looks a little tailward. Before I have the also new Plum Guides mounted, I thought I would check for any opinions you might share about whether to mount them on the reference or ahead a cm or so.

    Thanks in advance.

  Your Comments


  Recent Posts




Facebook Twitter Google Instagram Youtube

WildSnow Twitter Feed



 



  • Blogroll & Links


  • Welcome to Louis (Lou) Dawson's backcountry skiing information & opinion website. Lou's passion for the past 50 years has been alpinism, climbing, mountaineering and skiing -- along with all manner of outdoor recreation. He has authored numerous books and articles about ski touring and is well known as the first person to ski down all 54 of Colorado's 14,000-foot peaks, otherwise known as the Fourteeners! Books and free ski touring news and information here.

    All material on this website is copyrighted, the name WildSnow is trademarked, permission required for reproduction (electronic or otherwise) and display on other websites. PLEASE SEE OUR COPYRIGHT and TRADEMARK INFORMATION.

    We include "affiliate sales" links with most of our blog posts. This means we receive a percentage of a sale if you click over from our site (at no cost to you). None of our affiliate commission links are direct relationships with specific gear companies or shopping carts, instead we remain removed by using a third party who manages all our affiliate sales and relationships. We also sell display "banner" advertising, in this case our relationships are closer to the companies who advertise, but our display advertising income is carefully separated financially and editorially from our blog content, over which we always maintain 100% editorial control -- we make this clear during every advertising deal we work out. Please also notice we do the occasional "sponsored" post, these are under similar financial arrangements as our banner advertising, only the banner or other type of reference to a company are included in the blog post, simply to show they provided financial support to WildSnow.com and provide them with advertising in return. Unlike most other "sponsored content" you find on the internet, our sponsored posts are entirely under our editorial control and created by WildSnow specific writers.See our full disclosures here.

    Backcountry skiing is dangerous. You may be killed or severely injured if you do any form of ski mountaineering, skimo randonnee and randonnée skiing. The information and news on this website is intended only as general information. Due to human error and passing time, the information, text and images contained within this website may be inaccurate, false, or out-of-date. By using, reading or viewing the information provided on this website, you agree to absolve the owners of Wild Snow as well as content contributors of any liability for injuries or losses incurred while using such information. Furthermore, you agree to use any of this website's information, maps, photos, or binding mounting instructions templates at your own risk, and waive Wild Snow owners and contributors of liability for use of said items for ski touring or any other use.

    Switch To Mobile Version