Movie Review — TGR Anomaly, and Level 1’s Long Story Short


Post by WildSnow.com blogger | October 9, 2006      

Nothing like a shot of youth culture to get the heart thumping — or put you to sleep. I got a bit of both last Friday night at “The Meeting” ski film festival in Aspen.

First film of our visit was Level 1’s latest urban skiing adventure, Long Story Short. Urban skiing reminds me of rock climb “buildering;” sort of a microcosm of a greater whole. As such, I can appreciate what flexible and fearless kids are doing to bring street skate moves to skiing. Athleticism; good. More skiers to keep skiing’s economics chugging along; good.

That said, Long Story Short’s massive injection of urban jibbing was similar to a heroin overdose in the ghetto where most of the film’s music originates. Basically, what you get on screen is a bunch of young males (no women) sliding down stair railings on skis. Over. And over. And over again. The same rails, different rails, rails in Japan and rails who knows where. Was I alone in reaching rail OD about half way through the film? Too old and stuck in the thawing powder of skiing’s boring old school past? Apparently not, as the rowdy young audience became strangely subdued as the film ground on. No story, no plot, just a bit of interesting athleticism that could have easily been presented in half the time. (To be fair, the film does have some skiing other than that related to stairs, but not much).

Now before you go off on me for being an old stick-in-the mud, let me point out that some powder skiing movies also seem to show the same shot over, and over again. Indeed, Long Story could be seen as a parody of such. Yep, my gripes can be twisted around to bite me. But Long Story had something that kept my thumb firmly turned in the downward position — the music.

A bunch of young white middle class (or better) kids playing on skis to the tune of hiphop rap appears ludicrous, but not funny. Much of such music arises from the sorry state of inner city black ghetto culture, and the lyrics — frequently misogynistic rants about death, violence, drugs and what have you — belie the catchy beat. Watching urban skiing to such tunes was not unlike watching Somalian children starving to the words of Karen Carpenter singing We’ve Only Just BegunTotal cognitive disconnect.

Long Story’s one shining light is its bridge theme. The film makers set up a complex domino fall in a machine shop. Creatively filmed, the flipping dominos and weird machinery lead you into each film segment. Worked for me, though like the rest of the film it got a bit old on the umpteenth iteration. If you like backstory, check out Level 1’s stills of the shop shoot.

Enough Lou, you cry! Leave off the negativity and railing on the rail movie! Okay, on to TGR.

TGR’s movies are predictable, but fun. Super production values, much better music (though the occasional dose of ghetto creeps in here and there) and a bit more variety. Anomaly is no exception. Set up as a travelog of sorts (but with no story and nearly no narration), the footie jumps around the globe. Amazing sequences of Alaskan spine skiing lead to macho avalanche escapes, while plentiful park/pipe keeps the younger set happy (and amazes the oldsters, myself included).

For me the peak of Anomaly was seeing Jamie Pierre’s audacious 25-story cliff jump for God. I don’t know if Jamie’s huck was much in the way of athletic excellence — it seemed more like a daredevil stunt than anything (especially when he lawn-darts in on his head). Yet it is somehow compelling to watch a guy set a record in a sport you at least borderline participate in (yeah, I cliff jump — so long as the drop is under six feet.) Jamie dedicates the jump to Jesus before he hucks, something that seems a bit out there to even a born-again such as myself. On the other hand, a bit of religious expression is refreshing in a film genre where spirituality is usually portrayed as little more than prayer flag collections. After all, most people practice some sort of god stuff, and ignoring that dimension of life contributes to the shallow nature of most adventure sports films.

Speaking of shallow, another problem with today’s ski flicks is they seem almost paranoid of telling a story. It’s certain that in the making of such films all sorts of interesting things happen, not to mention stories about the athlete’s trials that lead to their stunning successes. TGR and other companies have time in the final cuts for the athletes to make goofy (or I’m hip) faces in the camera — how about substituting that with a person actually talking about their passion? I truly believe that a film with the production values and spirit of TGRs offerings, yet with a compelling story line, could break the mold and perhaps even win an Oscar nomination as the extreme skiing film Fall Line did many years ago.

With the inclusion of a Doug Coombs tribute and a bit about an athlete with a spinal injury, Anomaly does speak to reality. But those segments appear as non sequiturs in the general them of the production. Perhaps “stoke” movies with little to no plot are a niche and TGR will stay there, make a living for the crew and keep getting free Jackson Hole tram rides, but they appear to be moving out of that — and so much the better. As for Level One Productions, if you’re shopping for hood jackets they have some nice ones for sale on their website.



IF YOU'RE HAVING TROUBLE VIEWING SITE, TRY WHITELISTING IN YOUR ADBLOCKER, OTHERWISE PLEASE CONTACT US USING MENU ABOVE, OR FACEBOOK.

Please Enjoy A Few Suggested WildSnow Posts


Comments

8 Responses to “Movie Review — TGR Anomaly, and Level 1’s Long Story Short”

  1. Tom October 9th, 2006 9:07 am

    Hey Lou,

    How about a review of some non-hucking good old fashioned ski flicks, if there are any out there. I have to admit that I can’t relate and don’t have much interest in kids flipping around like gymnasts, but I sure do like watching ripping good skiing on big mountains with deep snow. I hope somebody is still making some films for the old guys like me.

    Thanks.

  2. Kevin October 9th, 2006 10:48 am

    I’m with you Lou. What would be wrong with one of these movies being more of a documentary on the whole ski adventure. Skiing in foreign countries and Alaska is more than just making turns down a steep slope. It is the whole process of getting there as well. TGR and MSP seem afraid of making documentaries, wouldn’t want to be like a Warren Miller movie. Although I must admit MSP had some good narration in PUSH, and I think PUSH was probably the best movie I have seen by them.

  3. Damian October 9th, 2006 1:37 pm

    “…another problem with today’s ski flicks is they seem almost paranoid of telling a story….. TGR and other companies have time in the final cuts for the athletes to make goofy (or I’m hip) faces in the camera — how about substituting that with a person actually talking about their passion?”

    Lou, I couldn’t agree more. It’s a snowboard movie, but last season’s “91 Words For Snow” is a very enjoyable example of a movie bringing across personalities, people and their passion for snow. Around November last year that movie woke me up in a very good way. I don’t even mind the freestyle sections, which is unusual for me. Of course I wouldn’t expect you to run out and buy it, I simply thought I’d mention it as a positive response to your accurate observation regarding the superficial nature of today’s popular snow films.

    The usual disclaimer: I have no association nor vested interest with the movie. I am clearly a total nobody and they are all pro riders and film makers.

    cheers

  4. Lou October 9th, 2006 2:31 pm

    Damian, I’ll get the movie and review it. Thanks for the tip!

  5. Mike Marolt October 9th, 2006 8:50 pm

    Lou: You have to check out Mountain Town. That is the best movie EVER on Aspen, and without question, the best movie in the Meeting. Just super. Its by a couple of AHS guys who knew the subject and have unbelievable talents shooting, writing, editing, everything. (Rattlecan Productions) Just a super super documentary that anyone will enjoy, Aspenite or not. The footage of Nick Devore is unbelievable (never thought i would admit that about a telewacker, but Nick is one of the best skiers i have ever seen, period.) This one will win at the major film festivals.

    I would highly suggest to your readers to go to the Rattle Can site and check out that one, as well as The Line, and Between Earth and Sky. These guys are producing some unbelievable flicks.

    Mike

  6. Lou October 10th, 2006 7:05 am

    Mike, sounds good I’ll check it out soon, it’ll probably arrive in the mail any day now. Nick is indeed an amazing skier, he demonstrates the blend of alpine and telemark that I predicted many years ago, and took way too many years because tele gear had to play catchup in terms of durability and performance. Nick’s father was an amazing athlete (I knew him since highschool), and Nick’s definitely got his dad’s DNA. What I like best about Nick is that he is truly a motivated ski mountaineer. World class.

  7. Derek October 10th, 2006 5:52 pm

    I’ll second Rattle Can’s ability to produce interesting documentaries. “The Line” was excellent.

  8. Matt May 9th, 2008 12:35 pm

    I feel as if you have missed the point in your interview of Level 1’s Long Story Short. Josh Berman is trying to do something different with skiing than what you like to see in a movie. If you are a middle aged, upper class white male then you probably won’t have any connection to this film, nut it wasn’t made for you, so stop bashing it. All of the up and coming kids who watch his movies can relate to them because we have spent the countless hours trying to master urban rails. Each one is unique in its setup, outrun, number of kinks etc. and to me, this makes for a very interesting movie, as each rail presents a new challenge. You go further by bashing Berman’s music selection, but here again; you show that you have no idea of what you speak. Every single track in the movie is far removed from the mainstream, and provides a totally unique and eclectic soundtrack. If you actually listened to Hip Hop, as I do (I run an Underground hip hop radio show, in addition to being a skier) then you would understand that Berman has selected tracks by rappers, like DL Incognito, who talk about real life, and are not into the stereotypic sex drugs and money that mainstream rappers, like 50 cent talk about so much in their lyrics. All in all, Berman produced another solid movie that gave tens of thousands of kids what they were craving, and endless winter. Next time you want to speak down about a new school skiing movie, do it in the forums at newschoolers.com where you will get an accurate response and don’t just take potshots from your blog. I love ripping big mountain too, but there is allot more to skiing than you realize. Open your eyes.

  Your Comments


  Recent Posts




Facebook Twitter Google Instagram Youtube

WildSnow Twitter Feed



 



  • Blogroll & Links


  • Welcome to Louis (Lou) Dawson's backcountry skiing information & opinion website. Lou's passion for the past 50 years has been alpinism, climbing, mountaineering and skiing -- along with all manner of outdoor recreation. He has authored numerous books and articles about ski touring and is well known as the first person to ski down all 54 of Colorado's 14,000-foot peaks, otherwise known as the Fourteeners! Books and free ski touring news and information here.

    All material on this website is copyrighted, the name WildSnow is trademarked, permission required for reproduction (electronic or otherwise) and display on other websites. PLEASE SEE OUR COPYRIGHT and TRADEMARK INFORMATION.

    We include "affiliate sales" links with most of our blog posts. This means we receive a percentage of a sale if you click over from our site (at no cost to you). None of our affiliate commission links are direct relationships with specific gear companies or shopping carts, instead we remain removed by using a third party who manages all our affiliate sales and relationships. We also sell display "banner" advertising, in this case our relationships are closer to the companies who advertise, but our display advertising income is carefully separated financially and editorially from our blog content, over which we always maintain 100% editorial control -- we make this clear during every advertising deal we work out. Please also notice we do the occasional "sponsored" post, these are under similar financial arrangements as our banner advertising, only the banner or other type of reference to a company are included in the blog post, simply to show they provided financial support to WildSnow.com and provide them with advertising in return. Unlike most other "sponsored content" you find on the internet, our sponsored posts are entirely under our editorial control and created by WildSnow specific writers.See our full disclosures here.

    Backcountry skiing is dangerous. You may be killed or severely injured if you do any form of ski mountaineering, skimo randonnee and randonnée skiing. The information and news on this website is intended only as general information. Due to human error and passing time, the information, text and images contained within this website may be inaccurate, false, or out-of-date. By using, reading or viewing the information provided on this website, you agree to absolve the owners of Wild Snow as well as content contributors of any liability for injuries or losses incurred while using such information. Furthermore, you agree to use any of this website's information, maps, photos, or binding mounting instructions templates at your own risk, and waive Wild Snow owners and contributors of liability for use of said items for ski touring or any other use.

    Switch To Mobile Version