Dynafit Announces NEW Graphene Ultra Ski & Revolutionary Product Timing


Post by WildSnow.com blogger | April 1, 2015      
Graphene Ultra is the lightest ski ever produced.  Available now.

WildSnow spy shot from next season catalog. Graphene Ultra is the lightest ski ever produced. Available now. Click to enlarge.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Boulder, Colorado USA (March 31, 2015) – Dynafit North American announces a groundbreaking campaign to not only sell the most versatile and lightest weight ski ever made — Graphene Ultra — but to completely change the ski equipment public relations landscape by taking a global view of when they release products to retail, going forward.

An industry insider shared this embargoed image from upcoming Italian marketing campaign. Lou is looking forward to testing.

An industry insider shared this embargoed image from upcoming Italian marketing campaign. Skimo racer Allegria Moretti is also a model. She signed on with Dynafit just a few days ago to spearhead the Graphene Ultra campaign.

“We examined metrics from emerging markets such as Chile, averaged with Australia and Switzerland,” said Bryce Ward, CEO of Dynafit North American. “The result at first startled us, but we soon realized that releasing ski products into retail needs to be done in spring, rather than in the fall — basically, we found there are a lot more skiers in South America than we ever thought possible — and Swiss skiers in particular are going all seasons.”

The debut product for Dynafit’s new retail strategy is the Graphene Ultra ski. This amazing, nearly miraculous technological marvel was developed in conjunction with U.S. Special Forces winter warfare specialists, assisted by materials science engineers at DARPA. Capping the design process, the skis were tested by UIAGM guides worldwide, with a final evaluation round performed by Killian Jornet and two other Worldcup skimo racers, the names of whom are being kept private for security reasons.

“The Graphene Ultra skimo freeride touring ski was developed to serve the growing market for recreational alpine ski touring in the European and U.S. markets,” said Ward. “The design priorities were ease of use and adjustability, compatibility with a wide variety of skier types (skimo racers as well as sponsored freeride athletes), along with excellent uphill and downhill performance at a low weight that heretofore is unheard of in the industry.”

The Graphene Ultra is manufactured using a top secret process, kept under tight wraps by Dynafit (and their ski maker Folsom Customs) for a development period of fully six years. The ski will be sold in one length, 176 centimeters, with an area marked off at the tail where certified shop technicians (only available at Dynafit Competency Centers) can cut the ski to length with a special diamond toothed hacksaw. Corresponding boot locations marks are provided, depending on what ski length is ultimately chosen.

“We found that with new materials and processes the archaic method of manufacturing skis with multiple expensive molds, for different lengths, was completely unnecessary,” said Ward. “By using nearly 100% various carbon materials, this ski is so strong we’re working on a promotional video that shows it being used as a pry bar to remove earthquake debris during a live rescue in Valparaiso, Chile.”

Lightweight strength is indeed the big story of the Graphene Ultra ski. Dynafit engineers studied the arcane weight charts at WildSnow.com and realized they could make a ski that literally “went off the chart” in terms of mass. To that end, Graphene Ultra weighs an astonishing 410 grams for the 176 cm length, at a profile of 125/99/111. This is less than 1/3 the weight of any similar sized ski on the current market.

“The amazing lightness of the Graphene Ultra is accomplished in many ways, but two things stand out,” said Ward. “First, as the name indicates we did use a large amount of graphene, a form of carbon that’s so strong a nail supporting the weight of an elephant can’t penetrate a layer only two molecules thick. But secondly, and perhaps even more revolutionary, is we’ve eliminated steel edges. Yes, you heard that right. The edges themselves are a mix of carbon fiber and diamond dust we’ve found holds an edge nearly as well as steel, yet weighs nearly nothing in comparison.”

The benefits of Graphene Ultra go beyond weight and strength. The ski has a black topskin that absorbs and retains nearly 86% of available solar energy, in turn gradually releasing warmth to act as a “snow reduction system,” that prevents heavy topskin ice from forming in nearly all conditions. Patented Dynafit climbing skin mounts are included at tip and tail, along with HDPE base material that exceeds Ptex in strength by approximately 46%, and never needs waxing.

The Graphene Ultra ski is shipping now. MSRP $1,600 USD.

APRIL FOOLS



IF YOU'RE HAVING TROUBLE VIEWING SITE, TRY WHITELISTING IN YOUR ADBLOCKER, OTHERWISE PLEASE CONTACT US USING MENU ABOVE, OR FACEBOOK.

Please Enjoy A Few Suggested WildSnow Posts


Comments

55 Responses to “Dynafit Announces NEW Graphene Ultra Ski & Revolutionary Product Timing”

  1. Erik Erikson April 1st, 2015 1:25 am

    Quite unbelieveable… If that thing works its a REAL Innovation in the end…

  2. Swiss Hosers April 1st, 2015 1:46 am

    A fitting technological marvel…!

  3. Frame April 1st, 2015 4:05 am

    man, the things I could do with a diamond toothed hacksaw!

  4. Eric B April 1st, 2015 5:00 am

    Top secret space age material, US Special Forces, diamond dust, secret testing in Chile, and a beautiful femme-fatale who can also ski like a demon – it all sounds more James Bond than WildSnow. Well done Lou! 🙂

  5. Lou Dawson 2 April 1st, 2015 5:09 am

    We’ve been testing these skis all winter, the Zale edges actually do work, which surprised us. Other websites such as the PR Institute and Bubble Gear Review conclude the same thing. Where we all disagree is whether Graphene Ultra is a skimo race ski or a freeride touring ski. I met Allegria Moretti last winter in Bormio at the Salewa offices, she is the real deal, had just returned from a ski descent of Nanga Parbat. She was pretty funny, joking with Lisa and I about not needing to lose any weight after three weeks above 27,000 feet. Lou

  6. Lou Dawson 2 April 1st, 2015 5:13 am

    P.S., I just want to point out that we didn’t mention the Rodel Rocker, next generation of Scoop Rocker, it’s an improvement based on the hay sleds that have become so popular in the Alps. Rodel Rocker actually twists when you tilt the ski, thus initiating turns with nearly imperceptible movements. Prepare to be amazed. Lou

  7. Wookie April 1st, 2015 5:55 am

    I TOTALLY SAW SOME GUYS ON THIS SKI AT THE HINTERSCHEISSTERHALDE LAST WEEKEND!

    The ski was AWESOME!

    It made their beards even bushier! IMMA GET ME SUM A DEM!

  8. Stephane Mougin April 1st, 2015 6:39 am

    Brilliant !!!

  9. Alefoto April 1st, 2015 6:39 am

    april 1

  10. Stephane Mougin April 1st, 2015 6:42 am

    I’ve heard early rumor about this new revolutionnary ski concept.

    But I thought, it was Movement coming up today with a new FISH…

  11. Fra April 1st, 2015 6:55 am

    April’s fool?

  12. Erik Erikson April 1st, 2015 6:57 am

    @Fra: No, dead serious… 😉

  13. Erik Erikson April 1st, 2015 6:58 am

    PS: But I myself fell for it in the first moment… well done!!

  14. Skian April 1st, 2015 7:18 am

    CEO Bryce Ward seems to know the game. Good luck to them with this new campaign. Once again.the Pot has been stired.

  15. Swiss Hosers April 1st, 2015 7:24 am

    From Hinterscheissterhalde, they moved on to Verarschmichnicht here in Switzerland. I think they’re still there.

  16. swissiphic April 1st, 2015 7:26 am

    I also heard through the grapevine that this ski will be co released with the revolutionary Dynafit smart magnet binding system. No more moving parts.

  17. Mr. Gul A. Bill April 1st, 2015 7:35 am

    Only $1600, that is as ridiculous as the weight.

  18. Doug Hutchinson April 1st, 2015 8:44 am

    Finally! I now will no longer need to carry my heavy metal pry bar when skiing in earthquake terrain.

  19. OMR April 1st, 2015 8:50 am

    Just read on a competing blog (Walmart.bcskier.com) that Black Diamond will soon introduce a proyotype skin made from real carp skins, harvested from Utah Lake.

  20. Lou Dawson 2 April 1st, 2015 9:01 am

    I think they get this idea from Norway, only they’re using herring fish?

  21. Lisa Dawson April 1st, 2015 9:02 am

    Doug, you and me both. I always hate it when Lou sneaks the heavy metal pry bar into my pack. No more with Graphene Ultra!

  22. Tom Gos April 1st, 2015 9:17 am

    I get nervous cutting skins, I can’t imagine cutting skis!

  23. Lauren April 1st, 2015 9:42 am

    Cool ski and technology, disappointing advertising imagery.

  24. Kate April 1st, 2015 10:08 am

    Lauren, prepare for it to get worse. I hear that the former head of marketing for Lange has recently been hired by DynFit

  25. Lou Dawson 2 April 1st, 2015 10:18 am

    I’m telling you guys, you have to try Rodel Rocker. Amazing. Lou

  26. Lisa Dawson April 1st, 2015 10:29 am

    Is that why you smoked me skiing down the Crystal Chute on Sopris this morning? Lou, you dog!

  27. Zoran April 1st, 2015 10:33 am

    I just heard of Dynafit great marketing move to introduce Graphene on next Victoria Secret show in Las Vegas in November. I love that! Great job Dynafit!

  28. XXX_er April 1st, 2015 10:36 am

    And this morning Salomon announced the new MTN blade … bigger is not always better

  29. See April 1st, 2015 11:08 am

    … of course the downside of the Air Entrain core is that it will require a hammer drill to mount bindings.

  30. Lou Dawson 2 April 1st, 2015 11:15 am

    See, you are prescient. Nothing like compressed air in a tank, for damping effect. A secret part of the Graphene Ultra is the air tank core. Lou

  31. Adam Olson April 1st, 2015 11:29 am

    Bahahah!! Nice “it only come in one size”….short. Happy April Fools Day!

  32. Phil April 1st, 2015 1:02 pm

    I’m very intrigued with the edges. Carbon fiber and pixie dust composite – remarkable combination of the real and imagined! I did note that they only come in 176 cm. One can only assume that Dynfit consulted with Lou on the perfect length. Lou your influence is growing to truly worldwide proportions.

  33. Pablo April 1st, 2015 1:38 pm

    Allegria Moretti is no joke. By choosing to sponsor her, Dynafit is supporting the next generation in skimo champions. Allegria is an amazon. She’s over 2 meters tall, and it’s all muscle. I saw her leave Laetitia Roux in the dust during the Marmotta Grand Trophy 100 km SkiMo Sprint in Val Martello. We hear talk that she was seperated at birth from twin Caster Semenya but Dynafit makes all their athletes go thru gender testing and Allegria passed with no issues (records are sealed due to HIPPA). It was revealed her blood type is not even the same a Casters.

    In addition to modeling, Allegria has a background in clothing design. Part of her sign-on agreement ensures she will have the final veto power on all Dynafit clothing designs starting with the 2017 line. An interview with Germany’s popular magazine, The Spiegel, revealed she’s looking forward to developing the first weightless, spray on speed suit. I say, I like the speed suit she’s wearing just fine.

  34. Lou Dawson 2 April 1st, 2015 2:13 pm

    Pablo, thanks for that, I missed the skimo details since we’re not tracking that world so much. In any case, Dynafit is very lucky to have picked up Allegria, as I did hear she had offers from a major German automobile company as well as several national teams attempting to expatriate her from Italy. Lou

  35. sean April 1st, 2015 3:31 pm

    Nice touch with the Comic Sans on the graphic, classic!

  36. Stan April 1st, 2015 4:58 pm

    Bien joué, Lou

  37. Crazy Horse April 1st, 2015 6:19 pm

    I can see a big market for removable dampener modules of spent uranium designed so one can add enough weight to the tips and tails prior to downhill legs so they will ski somewhat like a ski. On the other hand with a model like Allegria anywhere within eyesight, who would want to ski away?

  38. Peter Max April 1st, 2015 6:47 pm

    Allegria was unusually standoffish last month in Cortina. I thought it was something I said or maybe the Limoncello was not to her liking. Now I know she inly wanted privacy for the skis.

  39. Gregg Cronn April 1st, 2015 9:22 pm

    Butt cheeks on wild snow. Appalling! Cancel my subscription! Oh right, this is a blog and I can’t stop myself from……..staaaaariinnng……..Allegra will gone down as the Lange girl of 2015.

    Well done Mr. Dawson.

  40. Ryan April 1st, 2015 9:25 pm

    Can’t sleep – so why not troll my favorite site and I get this…. Now wide awake laughing my ass off! Well played Lou! Waxless bases made out of HDPE and diamond dust edges – cracking up!

  41. Eric B April 2nd, 2015 4:09 am

    I recently saw Allegria on the Kaiserschmarren glacier in Badjöcken Austria. I noticed she was carrying a rather large pack, especially for a skimo racer. I asked her about it and in addition to testing the Dynafit skis she is also testing the new revolutionary BD JetForce Ultra avi pack. Instead of inflating a balloon it uses two small rocket nozzles to lift the skier 20ft above an avalanche and then gives 30 sec of power for the skier to steer to safety. I asked a BD contact re the wisdom of having rocket fuel in one’s pack, and he said it is no more flammable than cooking fuel or some of the drinks backcountry skiers carry. There will also be an instructional video on how to avoid rocketing over cliffs and into trees. Lou apparently your test pack will be delivered in the autumn.

  42. Lou Dawson 2 April 2nd, 2015 5:02 am

    Amazing skiing on the Kaiserschmarren, one of my favorite places, sweet as they come.

  43. Joking? April 2nd, 2015 6:57 am

    Killian Jornet isn’t sponsored by Dynafit. Joke?

  44. Frankie Z April 2nd, 2015 10:04 pm

    Joking? Nien! The French they are nimble and versatile, not likely to be seen on inferior Bootie, ergo Jornet=Graphine Ultra. Not reported here but overheard at the starting gate for the FokkenSpitz 50K last week while hyperventilating: the production model will feature revolutionary nanotec cabon/alu binding inserts manufactured at a previously defunct Aluminum Plant in Columbia Falls, Mt. This will allow the use of special dynapops (aluminum pop rivets) saving 158 g per binding over torq screws. Sliderite will produce a carbon handled tool for field repairs, for those of us who must rivit gunwales on OT Canoes at this time of year say goodbye to tennis elbow! The manufacturers of ibuprofen are going to take a big hit at market open tomorrow, Cramer eat my pixie dust! You heard it here first!

  45. Lou Dawson 2 April 3rd, 2015 5:30 am

    Rivets, now that’s cutting edge!

  46. Jim Milstein April 4th, 2015 7:42 pm

    The giveaway here is the spelling “Killian”. Our hero Kílian owns only one el. This is how you know Lou is pimping us. Otherwise, it’s totally plausible though, sadly, false.

  47. Mark Worley April 7th, 2015 10:45 pm

    Imagine my emotions when I realized how “heavy” my Carbon Converts had now become!

  48. Chris April 8th, 2015 7:03 pm

    Sooo… I did a Ctrl-F on “durability” on this page and got zero results. 🙂 Any prognostication regarding that subject and real-world use?

  49. Lou Dawson 2 April 8th, 2015 7:07 pm

    All I know is you’d probably be no match for Allegria.

  50. Chris April 8th, 2015 7:08 pm

    … I meant that mostly regarding the hardness of the base material and blow-out resistance of the edges.

  51. Lou Dawson 2 April 8th, 2015 7:16 pm

    Mostly?

  52. Lou Dawson 2 September 23rd, 2015 5:34 am

    Did anyone ever try the Graphene Ultra? We’re looking for a guest review.

  53. Steph Mougin September 23rd, 2015 5:40 am

    My daughter tested the lightest ski (500grs) and it’s not a April Joke …

    But No Graphene inside, only DIY !

    Check that : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZ_WN2J6KsE (until 1:36 to understand )

  54. Steph Mougin October 9th, 2015 1:34 am

    Hi there,

    Light Gear again, and was in April too, with my 2 young boys .

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFK26sqhDmo

    Steph

  55. Lou Dawson 2 October 9th, 2015 9:21 am

    Nice to see the kids out Steph, thanks for the link! Lou

  Your Comments


  Recent Posts




Facebook Twitter Email Instagram Youtube

WildSnow Twitter Feed



 



  • Blogroll & Links


  • Welcome to Louis (Lou) Dawson's backcountry skiing information & opinion website. Lou's passion for the past 50 years has been alpinism, climbing, mountaineering and skiing -- along with all manner of outdoor recreation. He has authored numerous books and articles about ski touring and is well known as the first person to ski down all 54 of Colorado's 14,000-foot peaks, otherwise known as the Fourteeners! Books and free ski touring news and information here.

    All material on this website is copyrighted, the name WildSnow is trademarked, permission required for reproduction (electronic or otherwise) and display on other websites. PLEASE SEE OUR COPYRIGHT and TRADEMARK INFORMATION.

    We include "affiliate sales" links with most of our blog posts. This means we receive a percentage of a sale if you click over from our site (at no cost to you). None of our affiliate commission links are direct relationships with specific gear companies or shopping carts, instead we remain removed by using a third party who manages all our affiliate sales and relationships. We also sell display "banner" advertising, in this case our relationships are closer to the companies who advertise, but our display advertising income is carefully separated financially and editorially from our blog content, over which we always maintain 100% editorial control -- we make this clear during every advertising deal we work out. Please also notice we do the occasional "sponsored" post, these are under similar financial arrangements as our banner advertising, only the banner or other type of reference to a company are included in the blog post, simply to show they provided financial support to WildSnow.com and provide them with advertising in return. Unlike most other "sponsored content" you find on the internet, our sponsored posts are entirely under our editorial control and created by WildSnow specific writers.See our full disclosures here.

    Backcountry skiing is dangerous. You may be killed or severely injured if you do any form of ski mountaineering, skimo randonnee and randonnée skiing. The information and news on this website is intended only as general information. Due to human error and passing time, the information, text and images contained within this website may be inaccurate, false, or out-of-date. By using, reading or viewing the information provided on this website, you agree to absolve the owners of Wild Snow as well as content contributors of any liability for injuries or losses incurred while using such information. Furthermore, you agree to use any of this website's information, maps, photos, or binding mounting instructions templates at your own risk, and waive Wild Snow owners and contributors of liability for use of said items for ski touring or any other use.

    Switch To Mobile Version