Voile V6 Skis — Review


Post by WildSnow.com blogger | February 25, 2015      

Boone Caudill

(Shop for Voile V6, recommended as a perfect touring ski!)

Voile V6, genotype of the perfect touring ski.

Voile V6, genotype of the perfect touring ski.

Last April, I put Dynafit bindings on a pair of Voile V6 skis and headed up into the spring backcountry for some “real” ski testing. At 155 lbs, 6’-1”, the 183’s seemed to be a good fit. A bit of fresh snow on top of early corn formation, with morning temperature rising, left a variable mix. The idea with these skis is they’re a narrower, lighter version of the now classic Voile V8 (a WildSnow.com all time favorite). With a more or less 100 mm waist (depends on length), they end up in the “100 is the new 80” category that seems to be the perfect compromise between weight, agility, and width.

I can ride the lifts on the four mountains in the Aspen area, but unless there is an epic dump, I prefer to wander around in the backcountry. Thus, considering the size of this admittedly long pair of planks, I did appreciate what Lou would call an “average weight” according to his research, but is still light considering the overall range of ski weights.

Peeling skins while looking out over our wildly beautiful local mountain range always sets the tone for delicious turns. My first run was an easterly aspect with protected northerly pockets retaining soft snow. In the trees at the top, the Voiles packed a responsive energy that kept me out of trouble. I’m typically skiing a shorter ski in the trees — these 183’s were a welcome surprise. The tip rocker combined with the 100mm waist and the 109mm tail put me in good position to get down into the soft snow, yet maintain speed and agility.

Popping out of the trees on the easterly aspect I found myself carving luscious turns in premature corn with a bit of newsoft on top. The pack was fragile, starting to break through as I pushed the speed and tightened the radius. Again I was impressed with the sense of confidence in the boards — as the graphics well represent — on my feet. The sidecut combined with the rocker helped keep the tips from catching on the breakable crust.

My second outing was spring corn above timberline. We skied early morning on frozen corn, putting in final turns later on as the hard surface gave way to the beautiful warm spring sunshine. I was impressed with the stability on the hard, frozen, early morning corn. In my search for the perfect one ski quiver, I have been weighing in on the final position to take in the balancing act between ski weight and stability when hard on edge. I believe the Voile V6 hits the sweet spot.

No question, these skis were designed for backcountry powder — and more. Light enough to climb all day and big enough to ride smooth and fast through the light stuff, they’ll also elicit a smile on piste or corn. Recommended.

(Guest blogger Boone Caudill is one of the pioneers of Aspen’s commercial powder tours. He’s been skiing, hunting, cabin building, climbing and otherwise enjoying the backcountry since before he could walk.)

(Shop for Voile V6, recommended as a perfect touring ski!)



IF YOU'RE HAVING TROUBLE VIEWING SITE, TRY WHITELISTING IN YOUR ADBLOCKER, OTHERWISE PLEASE CONTACT US USING MENU ABOVE, OR FACEBOOK.

Please Enjoy A Few Suggested WildSnow Posts


Comments

18 Responses to “Voile V6 Skis — Review”

  1. Joefbtg28 February 26th, 2015 8:52 am

    Got a powder touring setup, now looking for late/early season longer tour setup. I am 5’11” 175lbs and fairly aggressive skier. Voile V6, G3 Zenoxide c3 105, or G3 Synapse 101? Judging from how my other sandwich construction skis have held up, I like that the Voile and the Zenoxide?? are cap construction. Too many options in the lightweight touring category these days!

  2. Lou Dawson 2 February 26th, 2015 9:21 am

    Joe, I’d agree, amazing options out there! My take is that aggressive tour skiers like the G3 offerings. Lou

  3. Mark Worley February 26th, 2015 11:13 pm

    Been hoping to sell these at our shop. Thanks for a great review. Oh, and I know graphics really don’t matter, but dang, don’t these Voiles look great!

  4. Joefbtg28 March 12th, 2015 4:07 pm

    Thanks Lou!

    I did think the v6 felt a bit weak for my tastes, but they look soo pretty! I will go with the zenoxide most likely.

  5. Scott March 17th, 2015 11:53 am

    I skied the V6 with the G3 Icon binding on the mountain the other day and I was quite impressed. Even on hard pack they hold a great edge and are even excellent in the moguls too! I am the same size as you are and would definitely consider the ski for my ‘narrower’ plank. Love those Icons too!

  6. Brian November 27th, 2015 2:34 pm

    So after a quick search and not seeing anything…any advice on mounting location for these skis? I generally prefer a slightly forward mount but that’s a carry over from alpine days. Mounting speed superlite 1.0s.

  7. Lou Dawson 2 November 27th, 2015 3:17 pm

    Hi Brian, I’d stick with the factory mount position, that’s my recollection anyhow. Lou

  8. brandon December 3rd, 2015 4:27 pm

    what size v6 would ya’ll recommend. 6’3″+ 175lbs. like to go with 183’s for weight and having no more ski than necessary, but would the 188 be more appropriate. this would be pretty much just a backcountry ski. and would like to have it for longer tours, and multiday. thanks

  9. Lou Dawson 2 December 3rd, 2015 5:18 pm

    Obewhanskinoobie here, channeling through His Blogness. You are 190.5 centimeters tall. You are pretty much just ski touring, big. At your height a 188 is totally appropriate. Obe

  10. brandon December 4th, 2015 5:11 pm

    kinda too bad. in that the 188 are only 2oz. lighter than the v8 186. currently have 186 gotamas was trying to justify not getting fat. but i think that tipped the scales. so, looking for a spring and longer or multi day trips. v6 good choice? vector? coombacks aren’t any bigger. thanks. great resource ya’ll are.

  11. Mel Cooke January 24th, 2016 4:31 pm

    I’m having a hard time finding a sizing chart for the Voile V6. I’m 5’10”, 170-175 depending on the week and am what I would call an advanced intermediate skier spending much of the day on single blacks. I am typically skiing 75% of the time at the resort but am mostly playing off-piste in the trees when I’m there.

    I also wonder if anyone knows a place in the great Pacific Northwest who rents these skis.

  12. nate porter January 24th, 2016 5:51 pm

    There’s a size chart by body weight on the Voile website. Scroll down the page for the V6. Looks like you’d be good with either the 173 or 183 depending your terrain and preferences.

  13. Erich February 11th, 2016 7:02 pm

    Been on some 108 waisted skis this year as my everyday, first pair over a hundred, and certainly had some good days.. Been a good year in n.w Colorado..But after half a season I was ready to get back on something quicker edge to edge and with camber of some sort..a true skinna’..2016 style..
    I had tried the v-8 setup w fritchi at and also own some vector bc ..and knew voile had these v6 …a perfect in between..?..They are!
    Super fun in bounds, and a perfect match for any skin track, they didn’t let me down until I was ready to go down..and nicely they did through untracked but warmed up and tree branch deposited powder..feeling energized the next pitch was steeper and deeper, with an opening at the bottom I knew could handle some gs turns to the runout..the v6 was up for it and I was once again psyched to be on a ski that didn’t “waffle”..
    After flicking the tour lever on my switchbacks, an easy jaunt to the spork (I know, no one calls it the spork) was all I had left to finish up with 40 creamy shaded ridge turns to the bridge and the trail..easy $.. Super fun..
    With a trusted company like voile, you can’t go wrong ….they have been around forever, have an awesome product with a great warranty…and oh yeah…U.S.A!!

  14. David cobb January 13th, 2017 7:49 pm

    I am heading to Ouray for several days of back country skiing. Staying at a opus huts. I plan to rent Voile V6 – trying to figure the size. I am 62 years. 5′ 6″ 160 lbs. I’m an expert skier and very picky about how equipment feels on the snow. I enjoy a ski with easier initiation but enough strength to hold a turn. Just pick up a pair of Nordica Enforcer 100. Tried the 184 and settled on the 177. 184 were fine, but 177 were more playful. The company I am renting from only have 173 and 183 in stock. I know I can handle 183 but not sure that is best for uphill. Though not sure whether 173 will not be enkugh ski downhill. Any advice?

  15. atfred January 14th, 2017 9:53 am

    I’m about your size and age and I’d go with the 173 – easier on the uphill, and more nimble in tight spots. You typically don’t go so fast in the back country that you would need a long ski – at least I don’t.

  16. Ross Manning March 9th, 2017 4:15 pm

    I’m thinking of buying the BC version of this ski for rolling terrain & longer hut trips, and possibly taking these to Europe for spring Haute Route and other Alps trips. I’m tossing up between the 178cm & 183cm. I normally ski on about 185cm for bothy my back country & resort skis, but seems some folk go shorter for ski mounaineering, particularly in spring when shorter ski on steep & icy tracks may make kick turns easier & sorter turns on the down may be called for. However, I’m tall at 6’2″ and about 190lb so concerned that the ski may not offer as much support in the 178.

    Should I go with the longer ski, or would the shorter ski offer some benefits in maneuverability?

  17. Lou Dawson 2 March 9th, 2017 4:48 pm

    At your height I’d go for the 183, that’s still a few cm shorter than your height… Lou

  18. Ross Manning March 12th, 2017 7:49 pm

    Thanks Lou – Just ordered the 183cm version. Now for bindings – I think I’ll mount Vipecs on these, as it should allow easy transitions in rolling country

  Your Comments


  Recent Posts




Facebook Twitter Email Instagram Youtube

 



  • Blogroll & Links


  • Welcome to Louis (Lou) Dawson's backcountry skiing information & opinion website. Lou's passion for the past 50 years has been alpinism, climbing, mountaineering and skiing -- along with all manner of outdoor recreation. He has authored numerous books and articles about ski touring and is well known as the first person to ski down all 54 of Colorado's 14,000-foot peaks, otherwise known as the Fourteeners! Books and free ski touring news and information here.

    All material on this website is copyrighted, the name WildSnow is trademarked, permission required for reproduction (electronic or otherwise) and display on other websites. PLEASE SEE OUR COPYRIGHT and TRADEMARK INFORMATION.

    We include "affiliate sales" links with most of our blog posts. This means we receive a percentage of a sale if you click over from our site (at no cost to you). None of our affiliate commission links are direct relationships with specific gear companies or shopping carts, instead we remain removed by using a third party who manages all our affiliate sales and relationships. We also sell display "banner" advertising, in this case our relationships are closer to the companies who advertise, but our display advertising income is carefully separated financially and editorially from our blog content, over which we always maintain 100% editorial control -- we make this clear during every advertising deal we work out. Please also notice we do the occasional "sponsored" post, these are under similar financial arrangements as our banner advertising, only the banner or other type of reference to a company are included in the blog post, simply to show they provided financial support to WildSnow.com and provide them with advertising in return. Unlike most other "sponsored content" you find on the internet, our sponsored posts are entirely under our editorial control and created by WildSnow specific writers.See our full disclosures here.

    Backcountry skiing is dangerous. You may be killed or severely injured if you do any form of ski mountaineering, skimo randonnee and randonnée skiing. The information and news on this website is intended only as general information. Due to human error and passing time, the information, text and images contained within this website may be inaccurate, false, or out-of-date. By using, reading or viewing the information provided on this website, you agree to absolve the owners of Wild Snow as well as content contributors of any liability for injuries or losses incurred while using such information. Furthermore, you agree to use any of this website's information, maps, photos, or binding mounting instructions templates at your own risk, and waive Wild Snow owners and contributors of liability for use of said items for ski touring or any other use.

    Switch To Mobile Version