Black Diamond Carbon Compactor Poles Review


Post by WildSnow.com blogger | March 12, 2014      
The BD Carbon Compactor Poles were great for packing in my luggage all the way to Japan, and for full days on the skin track.

Black Diamond Carbon Compactor poles were superb for packing in my luggage all the way to Japan, and for full days on the skin track. Click all photos to enlarge.

Lightweight gear is the name of the game for backcountry travel, and as someone choosing to ride a splitboard every ounce counts. Unlike our skier compadres, more of the gear is only used half of the time, and transitions from going up to coming down involve added steps. We willingly take on the added effort for the undeniable enjoyment and feeling of laying down surf-like turns in soft snow. Any piece of gear that cuts down on transition time and streamlines your backcountry kit is incredibly valuable to moving efficiently through the mountains (and keeping our skier friends happily sliding beside us).

The easy deployment is a winning feature for quick transitions.

Easy deployment is a winning feature for quick transitions.

I have found Black Diamond’s Carbon Compactor Poles to be a useful piece of gear to aid in the efficiency of transitioning from the skin track to the slide down and vice versa. For a piece of gear that is only necessary for uphill travel, several features make it an ideal choice for your splitboard kit. These poles check the boxes for lightweight, easy to use, and minimalist gear. Black Diamond did a good job in the design to keep these poles compact enough to fit inside your touring pack. Additionally, keeping gear off the outside of your pack on the descent helps to streamline your kit and keep weight closer to your back, this is a key advantage in my opinion.

Poles fit neatly inside my Black Diamond Revelation Avalung pack

The poles fit neatly in my Black Diamond Revelation Avalung Pack.

Another design feature that I have found to be effective in cutting down on transition time is the quick and easy deployment. The top section of the pole slides up and extends the poles to the fixed length and locks off with a spring pin, a similar action to extending a probe. In ideal conditions this is incredibly fast and smooth. The drawback to this mechanism is the potential for icing up in non-ideal conditions. I have only experienced the sliding section getting stuck once, and even so it only took minor effort to free it. But if the mechanism were to fail in that regard, the pole would be useless.

BD's Z-Fold design

BD's Z-Fold design.

Here you can see the spring pin locking mechanism.

Here you can see the spring pin locking mechanism.

Black Diamond offers two different models of the Compactor pole, the Carbon version is the lighter one (150 grams for the pair vs 165 grams) and is designed to have a fixed length. If you are confident on the length of the pole you want, then the benefit of lighter weight, and easier deployment outweighs any of the potential drawbacks. The Carbon pole comes in lengths from 110 cm to 130 cm in 5 cm increments (I am 5’11” and have the 125 cm). If you are someone who tends to adjust your pole length for travel through various terrain (ie: steeper uphill, side-hilling, etc) then your options are limited to using the lower grip (which I think is more than adequate). On another note, the spring pin as a locking mechanism on the Carbon version is more prone to icing up and malfunctioning, rather than the flip lock design on their other poles. I have only found this to be an issue once, and like I said it was resolved with minor effort. If it becomes a more consistent issue, I’ll be sure to pass that information on. A potential improvement could be to make the spring pin larger and easier to depress with a gloved hand.

Black Diamond Carbon Compactor poles on sale here.



IF YOU'RE HAVING TROUBLE VIEWING SITE, TRY WHITELISTING IN YOUR ADBLOCKER, OTHERWISE PLEASE CONTACT US USING MENU ABOVE, OR FACEBOOK.

Please Enjoy A Few Suggested WildSnow Posts


Comments

10 Responses to “Black Diamond Carbon Compactor Poles Review”

  1. Jack March 12th, 2014 12:28 pm

    Nice review. I could see a guide, or a party on a multi-day trip carrying a pair (or even one) of these in case of lost pole/broken pole, etc.

  2. Ryan March 12th, 2014 1:14 pm

    The BD poles use a similar tension system to what they use on their probes. The difference is your probe sees a fraction of the action that your poles see, even if you’re a splitboarder.

    The problem is you’re stretching a cable that once it stretches out too far becomes useless to keep tension on the pole and the pole will no longer stay together. It’ll be interesting to see how this setup fairs from a durability standpoint in poles compared to probes where it’s not really an issue until after years for use.

  3. Coop March 12th, 2014 2:39 pm

    Ryan,

    You have a point, and as a splitboarder we are constantly extending and collapsing the poles. I will keep you all posted how it fairs over an extended period of time in the backcountry. From friends who I have talked to who have used these poles extensively, the tension seems to have held up well. Thanks!

  4. Mattd March 12th, 2014 4:11 pm

    The tension on the poles is adjustable, so if after multiple deployments a little slop develops, simply adjust the tension to your liking. In my experience though they have not yet needed adjustment after a winter of use.

  5. Nate March 18th, 2014 2:12 pm

    These poles are great how light they are but they break easily.

  6. Jason March 23rd, 2014 5:25 pm

    If you are that concerned about weight, which is the first you mention as a splitter, the drop from the expedition to the carbon compactor according to BD is 95 grams, or .2 lbs. Its really not that much. I’m interested in seeing how they hold up, but they look pretty easy to break. If you are that concerned about weight, you should look at other options, like hardboots and Phantoms. I saved 328g on my previous setup completely, and 1112g off my feet when touring. Something to consider.

    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Phantom-Splitboard-Bindings/363651653710150

    http://splitboard.com/talk/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=16089

  7. Deling Ren March 23rd, 2015 10:49 am

    Speaking of lightweight, I have my eyes on Blackdiamond Distance Carbon FLZ, which are really light: http://blackdiamondequipment.com/en/trekking-poles/distance-carbon-flz-pole-BD11217600001251.html
    The only problem is that they don’t accept powder basket. I wonder if anyone has tried to take out the tip and slide powder baskets on them. I don’t mind super gluing them in place permanently.

  8. Al July 24th, 2016 3:23 am

    Had 2 poles replaced under warranty after both failed while touring. First in Japan after about 3 days use and second after about 7 days. In both cases just lost tension and came apart while skiing. In first case I managed to carefully saw down length of handle to access internals and sort with tape, and zip ties to get me out. Second time and other pole I was unwilling to go to such major surgery. Yes, very compact but unreliable and very difficult to repair in the field. Unfortunately it doesn’t seem like I’m the only one who has had the same issues I’m going back to boring old reliable alloy poles that can be straightened when bent and don’t fall apart when skiing with them.

  9. Lou Dawson 2 July 24th, 2016 7:55 am

    Al, indeed, personally I prefer just a regular non-adjustable pole for nearly everything. But I get out-voted on that all the time (smile). Lou

  10. thomas bankes January 30th, 2018 9:54 pm

    Hello,

    I have a pair that I was using for snowboarding, and have had the poles ice up at the top of the run.

    Now they are down the pin won’t come out of the hole, it no longer has the spring… any knowledge on how to repair or if BD has a replacement part for this?

    thanks

  Your Comments


  Recent Posts




Facebook Twitter Google Instagram Youtube

WildSnow Twitter Feed



 



  • Blogroll & Links


  • Welcome to Louis (Lou) Dawson's backcountry skiing information & opinion website. Lou's passion for the past 50 years has been alpinism, climbing, mountaineering and skiing -- along with all manner of outdoor recreation. He has authored numerous books and articles about ski touring and is well known as the first person to ski down all 54 of Colorado's 14,000-foot peaks, otherwise known as the Fourteeners! Books and free ski touring news and information here.

    All material on this website is copyrighted, the name WildSnow is trademarked, permission required for reproduction (electronic or otherwise) and display on other websites. PLEASE SEE OUR COPYRIGHT and TRADEMARK INFORMATION.

    We include "affiliate sales" links with most of our blog posts. This means we receive a percentage of a sale if you click over from our site (at no cost to you). None of our affiliate commission links are direct relationships with specific gear companies or shopping carts, instead we remain removed by using a third party who manages all our affiliate sales and relationships. We also sell display "banner" advertising, in this case our relationships are closer to the companies who advertise, but our display advertising income is carefully separated financially and editorially from our blog content, over which we always maintain 100% editorial control -- we make this clear during every advertising deal we work out. Please also notice we do the occasional "sponsored" post, these are under similar financial arrangements as our banner advertising, only the banner or other type of reference to a company are included in the blog post, simply to show they provided financial support to WildSnow.com and provide them with advertising in return. Unlike most other "sponsored content" you find on the internet, our sponsored posts are entirely under our editorial control and created by WildSnow specific writers.See our full disclosures here.

    Backcountry skiing is dangerous. You may be killed or severely injured if you do any form of ski mountaineering, skimo randonnee and randonnée skiing. The information and news on this website is intended only as general information. Due to human error and passing time, the information, text and images contained within this website may be inaccurate, false, or out-of-date. By using, reading or viewing the information provided on this website, you agree to absolve the owners of Wild Snow as well as content contributors of any liability for injuries or losses incurred while using such information. Furthermore, you agree to use any of this website's information, maps, photos, or binding mounting instructions templates at your own risk, and waive Wild Snow owners and contributors of liability for use of said items for ski touring or any other use.

    Switch To Mobile Version