Sweetgrass Valhalla – Ski Movie Review


Post by WildSnow.com blogger | September 11, 2013      

How do you get a clothing sponsor when all your skiers are nude? That’s a question you might find yourself jesting about after screening the new Sweetgrass ski flick, Valhalla.

You might also find yourself thinking “I asked for a ski flick with a story, but I sure wasn’t expecting this!”

Valhalla is set up as a series of chapters, metaphorically reflecting the growing of a child to an adult: youth, adolescent, and so on, all with the goal of passing through life’s phases while always seeing the world through a child’s eyes — playfully interacting — be it skiing or socializing with your tribe.

To thread the story, Valhalla takes the view of a protagonist (“Conrad,” played by Cody Barnhill) a bearded road warrior who journeys “north” in an old Volkswagen Beetle he finally abandons for foot travel. That’s when the flick turns a kind of 1960s psychedelic, when Conrad runs across a group of ski hippies living a camped out fantasy life in the winter wild, with girls and nearby pillow lines. Yep, Valhalla (Odin’s castle, in legend), which morphs to a backwoods party — which morphs to a ski sequence that plays with fireworks and other light-show effects that’ll get you wondering if someone slipped some LSD into your Nalgene. The music helps with that as well: sort of a millennium acid rock mix. (Excellent scoring by the way, I want every song on the soundtrack, today, on my music player).

All the while, Conrad’s internal dialog is the voice-over. The script is well written, with a lot of gems that harken to the soul side of riding white waves, but never too bombastic. “Life there asked you for nothing, except to find out who you are,” referring to an idealized ski bum adolescence.

The carefree life wraps up when the snow melts out of Valhalla, and Conrad heads north once again. But before we get the goods, it is time for legacy. To that end, Sweetgrass cuts in what appear to be old super-8 films of a backcountry skiing and wilderness loving family from the 1960s or 70s. As a baby boomer, the funky old footie totally fit the bill and brought me right back to my roots joy. How the old timey stuff will resonate with folks who weren’t even born yet is another matter, but I’d hope the roots message would arc across generations.

Conrad’s roots saga of course leads him to a high-performance aircraft and a glacier camp in the big hills of the far north. Here you’ll get classic big mountain ski filming, yet with a soulful twist in that many of the ski shots don’t cut away when the athlete falls. More, many of the lines are filmed wide, giving you a sense of the mature immensity the skiers and snowboarders are dealing with.

Obviously all that snow had to come from somewhere, so Conrad is conveniently trapped in his tent during a 3-day storm. When the blue breaks out, you’re thinking it’s time for the aircraft pickup and back to real life. “But first,” says Conrad, “there was three feet of fresh.”

Valhalla of course contains a ton of terrific ski footage. But it’s not a “ski flick” as we’ve come to know ski porn. Instead, I’d call it an art film and an internal experience for anyone who’s found the wilderness speaks to his soul — surpassing adrenaline into the metaphysical. The ending brings it all home, as Conrad’s life comes full circle. To say more would be a spoiler.

Oh, and about the streaking. Let’s just say all is bared and you wonder what the air temperature was. The ski lifts of Whitewater will have new meaning. And you will laugh.

Though parts of Valhalla are somewhat predictable, overall the flick breaks new ground and Sweetgrass should be commended for getting a bit out there and taking risks. I’d even go so far as to say before you go, think about your relationships: family, friends, opposite sex — and where all that takes you in the arc of your backcountry life. Recommended.



IF YOU'RE HAVING TROUBLE VIEWING SITE, TRY WHITELISTING IN YOUR ADBLOCKER, OTHERWISE PLEASE CONTACT US USING MENU ABOVE, OR FACEBOOK.

Please Enjoy A Few Suggested WildSnow Posts


Comments

9 Responses to “Sweetgrass Valhalla – Ski Movie Review”

  1. Lisa Dawson September 11th, 2013 2:15 pm

    Good stoke for snowy days ahead!

  2. Mark W September 13th, 2013 10:30 am

    Show in Fort Collins at New Belgium soon…if river doesn’t wash away the venue!!

  3. Dan Hindert September 14th, 2013 6:52 pm

    People skied in the backcountry in the sixties . . . ?

  4. Patrick September 14th, 2013 11:25 pm

    Well ya! People skied the backcountry until lifts were finally installed which created front-country skiing, which later provided some sneeky-duck-under-the-rope skiing, and still later gate-accessed slack-country skiing. Most of the early US and Cdn lifts were built in the 30s and 40s.
    Lots of skiers used climbing wax rather than skins, way-more relaxed up-track grades.
    And, yes, in the 60s and 70s, it’s likely that some BC skiers enjoyed some headwax on occasion, but my memory is a bit hazy about that.

  5. Jen Pow September 17th, 2013 9:00 am

    You nailed my thoughts with this review – saw it in Denver and our group loved it! Cannot wait to buy the DVD and share with friends… great job SweetGrass!

  6. Dan Hindert September 17th, 2013 12:05 pm

    Thank you for a thoughtful & intriguing review — and looking forward to a local screening in Utah!

  7. Lou Dawson September 17th, 2013 12:09 pm

    Just keep the cap on you water bottle while you’re at the venue.

  8. Ann March 8th, 2014 6:38 am

    Just saw it.
    Sweetgrass tried waaaayy too hard. In a word – Indulgent. It was like being force fed a completely unrealistic fantasy stereotype along with Abercrombie and Fitch and Holister models in their wealth inherited pseudo-poverty existence.
    I get it though. It was clear what they were trying to do and I do appreciate that they made the effort. But the audience, including myself, got quite restless and grew weary of the ridiculousness.
    There were funny parts and great skiing, awesome cinematography, the story that wove thru it was decent, and the fantasy we all have of a taking this journey holds some truth. But this felt like a bad copy of Leonardo DiCaprio in “The Beach”, with the characters, setting, and ambiance taking up to the next level of sad parody.
    Worth seeing for sure, but too far out there to make a true connection with real people, even in our own dreams.

  9. Lou Dawson March 8th, 2014 8:07 am

    Ann, thanks, we really appreciate your take. Lou

  Your Comments


  Recent Posts




Facebook Twitter Email Instagram Youtube

WildSnow Twitter Feed



 



  • Blogroll & Links


  • Welcome to Louis (Lou) Dawson's backcountry skiing information & opinion website. Lou's passion for the past 50 years has been alpinism, climbing, mountaineering and skiing -- along with all manner of outdoor recreation. He has authored numerous books and articles about ski touring and is well known as the first person to ski down all 54 of Colorado's 14,000-foot peaks, otherwise known as the Fourteeners! Books and free ski touring news and information here.

    All material on this website is copyrighted, the name WildSnow is trademarked, permission required for reproduction (electronic or otherwise) and display on other websites. PLEASE SEE OUR COPYRIGHT and TRADEMARK INFORMATION.

    We include "affiliate sales" links with most of our blog posts. This means we receive a percentage of a sale if you click over from our site (at no cost to you). None of our affiliate commission links are direct relationships with specific gear companies or shopping carts, instead we remain removed by using a third party who manages all our affiliate sales and relationships. We also sell display "banner" advertising, in this case our relationships are closer to the companies who advertise, but our display advertising income is carefully separated financially and editorially from our blog content, over which we always maintain 100% editorial control -- we make this clear during every advertising deal we work out. Please also notice we do the occasional "sponsored" post, these are under similar financial arrangements as our banner advertising, only the banner or other type of reference to a company are included in the blog post, simply to show they provided financial support to WildSnow.com and provide them with advertising in return. Unlike most other "sponsored content" you find on the internet, our sponsored posts are entirely under our editorial control and created by WildSnow specific writers.See our full disclosures here.

    Backcountry skiing is dangerous. You may be killed or severely injured if you do any form of ski mountaineering, skimo randonnee and randonnée skiing. The information and news on this website is intended only as general information. Due to human error and passing time, the information, text and images contained within this website may be inaccurate, false, or out-of-date. By using, reading or viewing the information provided on this website, you agree to absolve the owners of Wild Snow as well as content contributors of any liability for injuries or losses incurred while using such information. Furthermore, you agree to use any of this website's information, maps, photos, or binding mounting instructions templates at your own risk, and waive Wild Snow owners and contributors of liability for use of said items for ski touring or any other use.

    Switch To Mobile Version