Scarpa Maestrale – Long Term Report


This post by WildSnow.com blogger  

Shop for Scarpa Maestrale and Maestrale RS

I used the Scarpa Maestrale boot all last winter, spring and now summer — a legendary ski season up here in the great Pacific Northwest. These are incredible backcountry skiing shoes, lightweight, with an unreal walk mode and sufficient stiffness to make skiing downhill fun. Since they’re a bit on the softer side, I use the Maestrale for my longer tours and for trips where I want lighter gear. That’s most of my travels.

boots for ski mountaineering and backcountry skiing

The well worn Maestrales on top of Mt. Buckner, Washington Cascades.

After using my Maestrales on miles of snow, rock, dirt, and ice, they are beginning to show some character. We’ve done a few Scarpa Maestrale reviews here on WildSnow, but this is our first “long term” report. Thus, I’ll skip the technical details and focus on what I loved about the boots, and what I didn’t.

With the assistance of thermomoldable liners, I tend to fit most boots well. Scarpas are no exception. I configured my Maestrale fit to be a fairly tight “performance” type, in order to eek as much downhill action out of them as I could, and since my feet stay pretty warm.

Even with such a semi performance fit, due in large part to the great flexibility in walk mode my Maestrale are very comfortable — even comfy all day (around here, we seem to define “day” as any trip over 10 hours.) I did lose a few toenails this year, something that hasn’t ever happened before. Perhaps this happened because of the tighter fit, or maybe the ridiculously long season I’ve had is as hard on my feet as it is on boots.

In my opinion, the most important aspect of an AT boot is the ratio of loose walk mode and stiff ski mode. The Maestrales are some of the best out there in this regard. I usually hike with all the buckles loose, and the walk mode is dreamy. When buckled down for the descent, the boot locks up well. As a test of just how far one can take these boots, I used the Maestrales a bit during midwinter on my Black Diamond Megawatts. There was enough to power the ski in soft powder, but it got overpowered on harder snow. On my smaller K2 Coombacks and Waybacks, they work well in all conditions.

Backcountry skiing equipment

Intuition Liners are awesome, and the ones Intuition makes for Scarpa are no exception. The side of the liner is showing some wear from the interior of the boot. I applied some duct tape to prevent this, but most fell off pretty quickly.

Another terrific feature of the Maestrale is the power strap. It is similar to a Booster Strap, in that it is made out of burly elastic. However it has a traditional velcro closure instead of the cam buckle like a booster strap. I use a booster strap on some of my other boots. They are heavy, and freeze up after a long day. You can’t tighten the velcro straps as much, however they are much better for an AT boot.

The Maestrales are a 4 buckle boot, however I found the 4th buckle to be unnecessary. If I buckled it comfortably, the 4th buckle would come loose and flop around, If I buckled it tight enough to stay in place, it was very uncomfortable, and I didn’t notice any improvement in how the boot skied. I took the lower buckle off, and filled the holes with silicone caulk. This reduced a little weight, and also made the front of the boot have a slimmer profile nice for rock scrambling.

Backcountry skiing equipment

The waterproof fabric covering the holes in the cuff is holding up well. I expected this stuff to wear through, I'm happy it didn't.

Speaking of scrambling, I’ve done quite a bit this season, as well as a fair amount of dirt walking and even standing on some boot chomping snowmo running boards. The boot has held up pretty well to all the abuse I’ve thrown at it. While worn, the sole rubber is still intact. The plastic in the toe and heel area is also holding up well. I sometimes have problems with wearing a hole in the heel area of my liner, but the liners that came with the boot have resisted that well. I don’t tend to be extremely hard on my gear, but I do use it a lot, and for the most part I’m happy with the durability of the Maestrales.

That being said, this past season’s Maestrales do have one issue when it comes to durability, an issue I have definitely experienced. Most buckles and parts are attached with screws, which is great for customizing and repairing them, however I’ve had numerous problems with the screws coming undone. Several came loose on a single trip up Mount Baker; luckily just the lower buckles, so I was able to make it down easy enough.

I originally put blue Loctite on the screws, then red, and finally used epoxy as thread locker after they kept coming loose. The epoxy seems to hold them fairly well. But during my most recent ski trip to Mt. Adams up here in the PNW the screw holding the lowest buckle on the boot fell out. This is the first screw to come loose after securing them with epoxy.

When this problem with the screws surfaced last winter, it was conjectured that the Loctite used at the factory was defective, or perhaps the threads were contaminated with grease or something else that compromised the thread locker. Now that I’ve used epoxy and still had a screw come loose, I’m thinking something else is going on. Perhaps the screws are simply so short that very little thread really engages and they simply exceed their physical ability to stay tight.

Whatever the case, word from Scarpa is they’ll be going back to using regular press rivets instead of the problematic screws. We’re of course disappointed it had to come to that, since having things on boots attached in a way they can be easily replaced or removed is a dream for mods and repairs. But whatever works must be done.

Backcountry skiing equipment

The screw on this cant rivet came loose and I didn't notice it for a few trips. It wore the rivet a bit, but still works. Other brands of boots can have this problem as well. Solution is plenty of Loctite and mindful maintenance. The more serious problem of this nature occurred with the smaller screws attaching the buckles and tongue hinges.

In terms of durability, I should also mention that I broke a few of the tiny hinges that let the tongue swing to the side. These are easy to fix, and will be beefed in this year’s version of the boot. Even with them broken you can still ski, so I don’t view this as something to panic about.

Backcountry skiing equipment

The top buckle of the boot has this green clip to keep the buckle in place. It's a nice feature, but one of them fell off within a few weeks of use.

The only other issue I have had with the Maestrale is with the ski/walk latch mechanism. After long periods in walk mode in cold weather they freeze up. They do this more readily than the walk mode latches on my other ski boots. A few whacks with a ski pole is enough to fix the problem, but it’s still annoying. The mechanism is exposed on the outside of the boot, unlike others that are placed inside, next to the liner. I believe this makes it collect more ice and snow, as well as any ice not being melted or softened by the heat from the liner. I’ve spoken about this with other Maestrale users and we’ve reached no consensus on how to prevent the problem. Liberal doses of spray silicone would probably help, as would keeping the cuff of your pants down low so it protects the machinery from water intrusion.

I was excited when I first got the Maestrales, since they seemed like such an innovative boot. They proved to be just that, and enabled a ski season that is nothing less than legend.

Comments

70 Responses to “Scarpa Maestrale – Long Term Report”

  1. Matus August 4th, 2011 3:12 pm

    Thanks for the review. After one (rather short) season with Maestrales I agree that they are dream to tour and ski (I use them also for my alpine skis, which I know is not very safe but so far no problem. In fact I think they ski better than most cheap alpine skiing boots). I was shocked with walking comfort – 20km of nonstop skinning with no blisters. And they are pretty light.

    I lost 2 screws and glued the new ones. I recommend all Maestrale owners glueing all scews asap.

    It seems that the inner of the liner will not last very long – this needs to be tested further.

    Looking for the next Scarpa models (I expect more carbon in lower end models in two-three years).

    Waiting for the snow….

  2. CozT August 4th, 2011 7:31 pm

    Louie, could you compare the Maestrale to the TLT 5 P? I’m looking to get a lightweight pair of boots for next season, and both are on the list. Obviously there’s a price difference. How do they compare in terms of skiing ability? Stiffness? Is the Maestrale’s walk mode really as good as the TLT 5?

    And, fwiw, I’ve been enviously reading your summer posts while wilting here in New England. Keep getting after it.

  3. Verbier61 August 5th, 2011 1:01 am

    very nice, thanks! did you try the rush? looks like your maestrale, w/o the 4th buckle, are exactly like the rush… or am I wrong?

  4. Jonathan Shefftz August 5th, 2011 6:30 am

    “Is the Maestrale’s walk mode really as good as the TLT 5?”
    - hah!

  5. Verbier61 August 5th, 2011 7:52 am

    jon, having tried extensively the maestrale and the TLT5m, I have no doubt they walk the same

  6. TimmaKhan August 5th, 2011 7:56 am

    Love this site. Long time lurker, first time posting. I put 60 days on my Maestrale boots this year. First day on the AT set up, been tele-ing last 8 years, I broke a quarter sized piece of the boot above the rear tech fitting on the right boot. Skied it three more times before it was replaced. No boot issues since other than those listed by Louie. I also had screws fall out on the trail. Now I just check all the screws before each use. The boot is light and has great range of motion. I found this boot to have too much forward flex, I would have liked the upper cuff to be stiffer. I’m 5’6″/155lb without a pack and I felt like I overpowered the boot too often. I also took the bottom buckle off the boot as it proved useless to me as well. Love the lightness of the AT set up but still not sold 100% on ease of use over my Tele gear.

  7. Lou August 5th, 2011 10:18 am

    Tim, thanks for non-lurking yourself! Give your AT an 8 year chance like you did your tele gear, then compare. Lou

  8. Louie August 5th, 2011 10:49 am

    My 3 buckle Maestrale is fairly similar to the Rush, but I bet it still skis better. The Rush has a lower cuff than the Maestrale, more cutouts of the shell, and i believe softer plastic.

    Lee’s rush review details some of the differences: http://www.wildsnow.com/5052/scarpa-rush-review/

    I haven’t skied any of the TLT 5 boots, so i can’t really compare. They seem fairly similar, although I know at least one person who believes the Maestrales ski much better.

  9. Jordo August 6th, 2011 8:52 pm

    After messing about with duct tape trying to patch the holes in my liners, I’ve started to just smear epoxy over the high wear areas. Seems to hold up much better.

  10. Lou August 6th, 2011 10:24 pm

    Seam Grip works super well for that and is more flexible than epoxy. Dust with talc powder after it dries, however.

  11. Lou August 6th, 2011 10:25 pm

    I also tried Shoe Goo, or however that’s spelled. That stuck nicely to Intuition liner.

  12. Lee Lau August 7th, 2011 12:08 am

    “Perhaps the screws are simply so short that very little thread really engages and they simply exceed their physical ability to stay tight.”

    I agree with Louie.

    I’m one of those who thinks the Maestrale skis better than the TLT5Ps. The TLT5P’s have a better walk mode.

    The Rush skis softer than even a 3 buckle Maestrale.

  13. Jonathan Shefftz August 7th, 2011 9:00 am

    No preview of the new “tactical” all-black color scheme?

  14. Robby B August 28th, 2011 10:19 am

    I Just wanted to thank you for such a detailed review of these boots and all the other gear. You do an awesome job on this site.

  15. Lou August 28th, 2011 10:27 am

    Thanks Robby, we try and sometimes succeed.

  16. Justin Wilcox September 8th, 2011 1:45 pm

    Louie – I probably missed this somewhere, but do you find the Radiums to ski significantly bettter than the maestrales? And likewise, do you find the maestrales to tour significantly better than the radiums?

  17. Louie September 8th, 2011 2:22 pm

    Justin,

    Yep, the Radiums do ski much better than the Maestrale, they are stiffer, and also have a “nicer” flex. It’s pretty hard to control big skis (185+ long, 120+ wide) with the Maestrales on less than ideal snow. The Radiums are noticeably better with big skis, although on smaller skis they both ski great.

    The Maestrales are noticeably lighter, and have much more cuff movement in Tour mode. The Radiums tour well enough for how stiff they ski, but the Maestrales are on a different level. Another difference is that the Maestrales are much easier to get into when it is cold, nice on multi day tours.

  18. Austin September 19th, 2011 10:52 am

    Lou, Thanks for the great reviews! It’s really helpful to have some tech talk that focuses on resolving some of the field issues in our ski gear.

    You mentioned in a previous article you have problems with the “bump” built in to the sole of Scarpa boots. What kind of boot modification have you done to build a flat footboard? I definitely feel like I have a lump under my foot just wearing them for a few mins.

  19. Lou September 19th, 2011 11:04 am

    Austin, they’ve reduced the arch bump a bit, thankfully. Fitting solution is to build up the footbed in the front of the bump, and perhaps grind away material off the footbed where the bump is. Sometimes when you mold the liner it gets rid of some of the bump. Main thing to remember is with so many different and wonderful boots available, there is no reason to battle a given boot shell fit to aggressively.

  20. David Aldous September 19th, 2011 1:25 pm

    If I wanted to replace my spirit 4′s and f3′s both with one boot could this be my boot? I’m getting the impression that the maestrale is at least as good for the down hill as the spirits and just a couple of ounces heavier than the f3′s. Is that an accurate assessment from people who have used the boot? Also should I fit in the same size shell as my previous scarpas?

  21. Louie September 20th, 2011 12:25 pm

    I haven’t skied the Spirit 4′s much, so I can’t say much about them. However the Maestrales ski better than my Spirit 3′s, which are similar to the Spirit 4′s (with the tour tongue). I’d say you would be happy with them as a replacement for the Spirit 4′s and F3s.

    Louie

  22. Mike Endres October 17th, 2011 11:06 pm

    I bought a pair of Maestrales last fall and have been completely satisfied with both their fit and all around performance. I do share the opinion of others in that the screws are not set well, for whatever reason. So far I’ve had 3 pop off. I’ll try the epoxy solution this year before heading out.
    The color??? Well, they’re easy to find in the dark:-)
    Thanx for the site and all of your effort Lou, a great resource!

  23. Robert Lee October 18th, 2011 6:17 am

    new maestral for me and gea for my lady last season, very pleased, no lost screws for me so far,
    fingers crossed

  24. Jonathan Shefftz October 22nd, 2011 11:41 am

    So that “Tactical” version really is military spec:
    http://goo.gl/9mkvG
    But wouldn’t they want all-white instead?

  25. Peter Berkey November 6th, 2011 11:35 am

    I’ve experienced the popped screw issue on these boots in the middle of a Mount St. Helens trip. Fortunately it happened along some hardpack wide open area while I was eating lunch and I saw the buckle and screw sitting there on the snow.

    Bought these last March and I’ve had a size issue with my size 10 1/2 right foot – size 11 left foot. Yes indeed, I’m between sizes, so I thought the smaller 27.5 size shell would be alright, felt a little tight, but that trip to Mt. Saint Helens took off my toenails on both feet. Didn’t heat the liner until after that trip, but the left foot now still feels a little tight. Will this improve over time or do I need to go in for a shell adjustment?

  26. Mike Endres November 6th, 2011 11:54 am

    Peter, while I’m no expert in much of anything I would always recommend getting both the liner and the shell molded to fit your particular feet. This is ‘especially true in your case where you have different size feet. Good luck!

  27. Lou November 6th, 2011 3:42 pm

    What Mike said. No other answer. Consider the worth of your feet, and how much you spent on the boots, and what you use them for…

  28. Peter Berkey November 10th, 2011 7:25 pm

    Thanks… I took the boots back today to the store where I bought them from for another heat molding. Hope this does the trick this time. They also gave me a pad that pushes the heal back into place on the left foot, so there’s more room for the toe. This seems to be resolving the problem. Always great to deal with a store that takes the time to make sure customers are taken care of.

  29. Robby December 6th, 2011 7:22 pm

    So I just bought a new pair of Maestrale’s and skied about 5 times so far. I have deducted that I don’t need the power strap to drive my ski (manaslu… thoughts on this are welcome) and I am wanting to take my first toe buckle off. I have a pair of the new ones, which means I will have to drill the rivets. That is the easy part, but what do I replace the rivets with and how? Is there a post you can direct me to?

  30. Georg Pfarl (Austria) March 4th, 2012 3:43 am

    Great boots, for both ascent and descent, BUT:

    The mentioned screw- and the ski/walk-latch-issues make them unusable for any serious tours simply because one cannot rely on them. Imagine skiing a 50° face in walking position with unfastened boots due to lost screws.

    I have been using mine for two seasons now and will send them back to Scarpa. I have lost 4 screws, the screw threads of both distal screws are worn out – I had to rethread them – and both liners are worn.

    Very disappointing! Would be such a great boot was it not for its lack of quality :(

  31. Lou March 4th, 2012 5:21 am

    Robby, when I drill out rivets I usually just cover the hole on the inside with a bit of duct tape, then fill from outside with some silicon. Seems to last quite a while. I’ve also filled with Seamgrip and that sticks better to the boot plastic, but the silicon caulk works fine. If you want to blend things, perhaps you could use a silicon caulk that was more similar in color to the boots, but I usually just use what I’ve got laying around. Lou

  32. Eric March 6th, 2012 11:54 am

    I have this years Maestrales. Still notice the bump in the arch. Seems like it is more in the liner than the shell. I have a high arch with a custom footbed and it still gives me a hotspot, thoughts Lou? Little to much forward lean also. Can this be tinkered with? Ski to walk problem still exists and is frustrating, will try the silicon suggestion.

  33. Geoff May 19th, 2012 2:27 pm

    @Louie: Have you had any more screws that were epoxied in fall out? I’ve also lost one that was epoxied in. Now that you have more experience with the boots, what do you think works better, epoxy or red loctite? Do you have any other suggestions for preventing the tongue-hinge screws from falling out? Thanks.

  34. Louie Dawson May 19th, 2012 6:48 pm

    It’s funny that you should ask this today. I haven’t been doing much skiing lately (my professors seem to be under the impression that their classes are more important). However, yesterday I was lending my Maestrales out to a friend, and while he was trying them on, one of the buckles fell clean off!

    I’ve gotten into the habit of checking each screw before every trip (I also do this for my ski inserts, so many screws!). Pretty much every time I check a few screws are a little loose.

    I haven’t noticed much of a difference between epoxy and red loctite, I believe they are pretty similar. One thing I haven’t tried is jb weld, which I know adheres better to metal than normal epoxy. I’m not sure how well the viscous jb weld would work in threads though. I’ve been thinking about replacing some of the screws with rivets, when I have the time.

  35. Peter Berkey May 19th, 2012 7:08 pm

    I’ve been using these boots quite a bit this year without a problem, haven’t even checked to see if the screws are loose, afraid I might break the factory seal if I tighten them. So far, only one buckle came off (last year) and I used plumbers glue to seal it back on, no problems since then.

  36. Robert Lee May 19th, 2012 7:22 pm

    had my first buckle screw come loose on my last trip, topp buckle, noticed it was missing when getting ready for the down, the screw thankfully was in the cuff of my ski trousers so i was able to screw it back, checked all screws ( both on my maestrale and my wifes Geas ) a few loose, guess ill follow Louies lead and check before each trip

  37. Lou May 20th, 2012 4:33 am

    Clean the screws with a tooth brush and rubbing alcohol, then use JBweld as thread locker. I’ll bet that’ll work… Lou

  38. john November 9th, 2012 2:17 pm

    One word of warning, the screw on the cant rivet is relatively soft and will strip if you use the provided allen key to excess. Dang.

  39. Lou Dawson November 9th, 2012 2:56 pm

    John, last time I asked Scarpa had replacement parts for that. Lou

  40. john November 9th, 2012 3:18 pm

    Working on it. Just one more thing to do though. I’ve been super happy with their customer service.

  41. Lew December 5th, 2012 6:48 pm

    Ready to pull the trigger on an AT set-up to complement my tele gear. I’m down to the Maestrale or the newer Maestrale RS. I can ski hard and check in at 6’2″+ and 200-205 without clothing and gear. Is there any reason to not go with the lighter mango boot or should I be looking at the RS. I plan to do some tours but am hoping for a solid downhill feel too. Thoughts?

  42. Jason December 15th, 2012 8:48 pm

    Ditto Lew above there. How much better is that RS downhill performance? Can the toung of the RS be added to the boot to make it almost an RS?

    Thanks!

  43. Lee Lau December 16th, 2012 8:49 pm

    RS is significantly stiffer than mango Maestrale. The tongues are interchangeable but you cannot order them separately at least in Noram. .

  44. stevenjo December 17th, 2012 4:50 pm

    I’m 6ft, 160lbs and I have the mangos. Great boot but are a bit soft for crud or driving my big skis (atomic atlas). If you are big or your skis are big I don’t see any reason NOT to go with the RS given there is very little weight penalty – though I appreciate that Lou and others may have different perspectives

    Couple of thoughts on using RS tongues for the mangos: 1) where do you get them? Scarpa is holding them close and sending for ‘warranty’ issues only, so I’ve found. Hard to say when that will change. 2) I did a carbon layup on the inside of my mango tongues only to find that they ended up transferring more flex to the lower shell. They are still overall stiffer than stock but not as much as I would have thought. I’d expect the same result from using the stiffer RS tongue.

    My $0.02…good luck and happy turns.

  45. reynolds.trailrun December 24th, 2012 9:59 pm

    I have a pair of the manogs and am considering removing one of the lower buckles. Any particular reason to keep the mid-foot buckle over the toe buckle? Perhaps clearance for climbing/scrambling? Currently, have an issue keeping both buckles tight even when adjusting “micro-adjust” part of the buckle. Generally only have one tight while the other is flopping about aimlessly.

    Also got annoyed with having wet feet from a day of breaking skin track/skiing freshy. So I put a Goretex sock on the outside of the liner. Now no wet liners or feet.

  46. Lew January 21st, 2013 7:27 pm

    Got my new Maestrale RS out on the snow yesterday. Yep…pretty stiff but expect they will soften just a touch over time…obviously two laps up and dopwn are not enough to get a real sense of what the boots will feel like later on. I tried skiing them in walk mode just for a run. Very sweet feel, but is this a no-no? Does skiing in walk mode do any damage to the boot? I could see doing this in some conditions.

  47. Lou Dawson January 21st, 2013 7:34 pm

    Lew, glad to hear they’re working out. Skiing in walk mode won’t hurt them, but it can injure your ankles if you get an extreme flexion. Lou

  48. StephBC January 26th, 2013 12:45 am

    Just bought a pair of Maestrales. In the box I found several sets of stickers that seem to be meant to put on each screw for each buckle according to the italian instructions. Anyone knows what these stickers actually are/what they do?

  49. Lew January 26th, 2013 6:00 am

    Had the same question when I saw them. I did put them on over the screws/rivets, etc. as shown and suspect they are to protect the liners a bit. In the past there were sticker pads to be placed on the liners for this reason. Have fun getting the smaller ones lined up down inside the boot. They stick really well!

  50. Louie January 26th, 2013 9:32 am

    yep, those stickers are to keep the screws from wearing holes in the liner.

  51. Lenny April 21st, 2013 12:56 am

    Just saw this blog and glad I did. I have been touring on the Maestrales about 10 days this winter as rentals. I do like them, but do notice that they are a bit on the softer side on the downhill. I’m looking for a pair for next year, but I am now wondering if I should opt for the RS instead. I haven’t done longer than a two day trip yet, although I’m planning for a week long trip into the backcountry next year. Any feedback on the RS’s on longer trips? Does the stiffness / performance of the RS’s in ski mode on the downhill compromise the comfort / flex in tour mode of the original orange version? Has anyone noticed a significant difference in comfort level between the two while touring on longer trips with the weight of an overnight pack?

    I haven’t skied on much crud in the backcountry this being my first winter out, so I’m not really sure how they will perform for me in those instances. I already have a performance pair of boots that I use on groomed runs / crud, etc. at the resorts, so would it still be better to opt for the RS’s? Or, is the RS more of an attempt to bridge the gap between resort performance and touring comfort?

  52. Lew April 21st, 2013 5:36 am

    Lenny,
    I just returned from skiing the Haute Route from Chamonix to Zermatt and literally lived in the RS boots for seven days. Excellent for all aspects of touring and skiing and we saw a lot of variety. The snow was phenomenal with just one small stretch of crust. We had lots of skin time, climbed with crampons, and great long downhills. After skiing on and off piste all winter in them, the trip put it all together and they performed superbly.

  53. Frank White May 22nd, 2013 10:21 am

    First off, I want to say thank you for the awesome job you all do on this site. What a valuable source of information for all things AT.
    I’ve been skiing the Scarpa Maestals for two long seasons now, and have certainly seen some wear and tear on the boots, but nothing I wouldn’t expect. The big rivet on the buckle side of the main ratchet strap is becoming alarmingly loose, not quite sure how to deal with that as its an odd rivet…
    My main question is about comfort and boot packing. No problems when skiing, but come spring when booting often trumps skinning, I get an extremely painful middle toe on one foot, where the toe joins the foot. Anyone else have any issues like that? Any ideas on a fix? I’ve never had this problem in any other boot, and is the only issue I have with the Maestrals…
    Thanks very much

  54. Lou Dawson May 22nd, 2013 11:44 am

    Frank, experiment with custom footbeds right away! That problem can become chronic and ruin your ski touring! Don’t ski for a few days, ice, NSAIDs and gentle stretching along with self massage of the painful area. For a quick possible fix, try raising either your toes or your heel inside the boot, by placing layers of duct tape in various areas under the existing footbed you’re using inside the liner. Lou

  55. Harry August 21st, 2013 7:42 am

    Hi Lou,
    I love my Maestrales as well, thanks for the review, it helped me decide buying them.
    One beginner’s question: I am eyeing some Dynafit TLT Radical bindings, but they come in different sizes: 92mm, 100mm, 110mm. How do I know which size fits my Maestrale, I can’t find any info anywhere? ( my size is 28,5/ 44 Eur).

    Thanks!

  56. Lou Dawson August 21st, 2013 8:30 am

    Harry, those numbers refer to the brake width sizes, for your skis. I’ll refrain from good natured ribbing (grin). Lou

  57. Harry August 21st, 2013 11:08 am

    Hehe, thanks! Better safe than sorry. As a wise man once said: “there are no stupid questions. Just stupid people” :)

  58. Lou Dawson August 21st, 2013 11:42 am

    Come to think of it, they do sound like boot last sizes, but they’re a bit short for most normal people (grin). Lou

  59. Harry August 21st, 2013 1:59 pm

    Most normal people don’t go out when it is snowing, either ;-)

    I was actually wondering about the width, not length. I have no idea if Dynafits would come in Baby/children/women/men width’s or not. How else will they make money off growing kids :)

    I have the Seven Summits skis, Width 80mm.
    1) Would the 92mm bindings / brake be bothersome?
    2) Would I also need a 92mm crampon, or would the 82mm be ok? not sure if there is any connection/relation between the brake & crampon?

    By the way, I noticed that the DF radical bindings have a different crampon attachment than the DF vertical ones, do you know if the old crampons can still be used for the radicals?

    Cheers!

  60. Lou Dawson August 21st, 2013 2:39 pm

    92 mm brakes will work fine, and the crampons have always been interchangeable. Lou

  61. jose luis troncoso September 29th, 2013 3:26 pm

    Hi Lou.
    How would you compare the fit of the spirit 3 v/s the maestrale?
    Is it a fairly similar boot or way more tight in the toe box?
    I need to update my boots ASAP and I want to be sure they would fit well
    Any input more than welcome.
    Cheers.

  62. Lou Dawson September 29th, 2013 5:11 pm

    Jose, Maestrale is similar. It seems to have a slightly flatter boot board and perhaps slightly less volume in toe area. But no huge difference is my recollection. Lou

  63. Shanekats November 15th, 2013 5:31 pm

    Just bought these boots. I have noticed a prominent clicking sound while in ski mode. It happens exactly when I transfer my forward weight off of the tongue of the boot while turning. Anyone else have this occurrence? I can’t really call it an issue yet since it doesn’t actually have a negative effect on the performance of the boot… but still kinda weird.. I did notice it at home while trying on the boots before skiing too

  64. adam February 1st, 2014 3:53 pm

    Hi. Can anyone recommend crampons that would fit the maestrale rs?

  65. Lew February 1st, 2014 3:57 pm

    I use BD Neve carmpons on mine. They served me very well on the Haute Route last April.

  66. Adam February 5th, 2014 3:47 pm

    Thanks Lew. I tried the BD Neve on my boots in my local store but found the rear tightening mechanism on the crampon did not fit well against the ski/walk mode area of the boot. How did you get around this problem?

  67. Daniel February 6th, 2014 12:40 am

    Maestrales are notorious for that. I toured with a group of 3 maestrales/geas and they all had crampon issues, pretty badly. I’d say go for non-automatic bindings.

  68. Lew February 6th, 2014 6:55 pm

    Interesting to hear of this problem. I have not had any issues whatsoever. The boots are a size 30 if that matters. Plenty of room to make everything work.

  69. Louie February 7th, 2014 5:45 pm

    I use BD crampons on my maestrales, they seem to work fine. They hit the walk mode a bit, but only if you lean way back in the boots

  70. Andy March 6th, 2014 1:22 am

    Lot’s of good info on here! One question for those of you who took the lower buckle off: How do you go about getting rivets out? Drill ‘em? Large rock? Flame thrower?

Got something to say? Please do so.





Anti-Spam Quiz:


If you need an emoticon for a comment just copy/paste off the following list, or use text code you might be familiar with.
:D    :-)    :(    :lol:    :x    :P    :oops:    :cry:    :evil:    :twisted:    :roll:    :wink:    :!:    :?:    :idea:    :arrow:   
  
Due to comment spam we moderate most comments. Please do not submit your comment twice -- it will appear shortly after we approve it. Once you've had one comment published, your comments will be pre-approved and appear immediately if you're using the same computer and not blocking browser cookies. NOTE however that ALL comments with one or more links in the text will be held for moderation no matter what, again for spam prevention.
Welcome to Louis (Lou) Dawson's backcountry skiing information opinion website and e magazine. Lou's passion for the past 45 years has been alpinism, climbing, mountaineering and skiing -- along with all manner of outdoor recreation. He has authored numerous books and articles about backcountry skiing and is well known as the first person to ski down all 54 of Colorado's 14,000-foot peaks, otherwise known as the Fourteeners! Books and free back country news and information here, and tons of Randonnee rando telemark info.

All material on this website online magazine is copyrighted, the name WildSnow is trademarked.. Permission required for reproduction, electronic or otherwise. This includes publication and display on other websites by whatever means. PLEASE SEE OUR COPYRIGHT and TRADEMARK INFORMATION.

Backcountry skiing is a dangerous sport. You may be killed or severely injured if you do any form of ski mountaineering, skimo randonnee and randonnée skiing. The information and news on this website is intended only as general information. While the authors and editors of the information on this website make every effort to present useful information about ski mountaineering, due to human error the information, text and images contained within this website may be inaccurate, false, or out-of-date. By using, reading or viewing the information provided on this website, you agree to absolve the owners of Wild Snow as well as content contributors of any liability for injuries or losses incurred while using such information. Furthermore, you agree to use any of this website's information, maps, photos, or binding mounting instructions or templates at your own risk, and waive Wild Snow its owners and contributors of any liability for use of said items for backcountry skiing or any other use.

Switch to our mobile site