Scarpa Mobe — High Powered Tour Weapons


This post by WildSnow.com blogger  

Shop for Scarpa Mobe

Scarpa Mobe is essentially a fairly beefy resort skiing boot with a bit of walk mode capability. The boot is compatible with AT bindings (including tech) and yields a good deal more comfort than what many people experience with alpine boots. It is the stiffest boot I’ve ever toured in.

Scarpa Mobe boot review for backcountry skiers.

Early season pow on Blackcomb, skiing the Mobe

Scarpa Mobe review for backcountry skiing.

Scarpa Mobe boot -- standard tongue and four buckle construction. Cammed buckles are removable. Comes with the neoprene 'dynamic power strap'.

My Mobe review pair weighed a total of of 1800g per boot, size 27, BSL 305 (Scarpa claims 1790 grams). The included liner is a custom Intuition Luxury liner weighing in at 220g with a slightly thinner 5mm sole to accommodate people who want to use footbeds. Note that all weights are per boot, see other backcountry skiing boot weights here.

This is not a light boot. However, compare with other boots in this category and you can see that attention has been paid to weight-savings, so there is credence to this being a touring shoe (in my opinion, only the Dynafit Titan (2000g) and the BD Factor (2140g) come close in stiffness). Some Mobe weight-saving features below:

• “V-frame power ribs” are basically raised areas/ribs in the rear cuff. This drops some plastic off the rear cuff but the ribs add rigidity in an effort to keep Mobe stiff yet light.
• Magnesium buckles.
• No interchangeable alpine soles. This means Mobe is not suggested for use in alpine bindings (although the more adventurous among us might do so). This also means you do not get the micro-slop that boots with removable sole blocks sometimes produce.
• Intuition liner (lighter than all other liners yet usually comparably warmer and more performance-oriented).

Scarpa Mobe for backcountry skiing.

Skywalk sole on the Mobe (no interchangeable alpine and AT soles).

Fit and technical details
I have a wide forefoot and minimal arch but fit most boots without much customization. The Mobe has a new mold and a bit less forefoot volume than older Scarpa models but a forefoot last a touch wider at 104mm. I fit a 27.0 Mobe (305mm boot sole length) after molding the stock liner. Although the fit was comfortable, note that Mobe has a big heel pocket. Some people might need customization to get decent heel-hold.

The boot’s plastic is so stiff that buckling up can be a bit of an effort. I found Mobe to be especially sensitive to slight changes in buckle tightness so took some time to tune the fit. Fortunately this was easy as all four buckles have micro-adjustments. On the whole I had to resist the urge to overtighten either buckles or the ankle strap since the boot is so stiff that downhill performance was still very good even with the buckles being moderately tight. Overtighten, and your feet and shins will hurt without noticeable performance improvement.

More technical tidbits:
• Scarpa continues their laudable and WildSnow award winning tradition of user-serviceable & removeable buckles & mounting hardware. We beg you Scarpa, never quit doing this, and please, other boot makers, can’t you provide the same?
• Licensed Dynafit tech fittings with small arrows to indicate where you step-in (kind of useless in deep snow but useful in hardpack)
• In tour mode – the boot only reclines to + 5 degrees from vertical (more on how that affects touring later in this review).
• Ski mode lean is adjustable from 15 to 22 degrees.
• Removeable bootboard gives you customization options.
• Included is Scarpa’s “dynamic power strap”, wider, has neoprene but is lighter than a Booster strap (replaces the metal cam with velcro).
• Mobe is made out of Scarpa’s Pebax Rnew. I didn’t detect a substantial change in boot stiffness as temperatures fluctuated.

Intuition liner for backcountry skiing.
Backcountry skiing Scarpa footboard.

Mobe interior - note removable bootboards and hard stops to help limit forward travel.

On Snow Performance – Skiing
Mobe is rated as a 125 flex index boot. Despite much web chatter comparing different brands of boots using flex numbers, reality is that flex indices are only accurate as a comparison within a given company, and even then, who knows how they really test and rate. Thus, a number of 125 would indicate Mobe is the stiffest Scarpa boot (Hurricane is 120, Skookum and Typhoon are 110 while Maestrale is 100). I left Mobe in the 18 degree lean mode while skiing.

Since flex numbers are only a rough guide from company to company, old fashioned comparison is still the best way to figure out what’s what. So here you go: Mobe is stiffer than the Dynafit Titan and the BD Factor. To give even more context, I initially had the Mobe on a smaller light ski (177cms long Atomic TM:ex) and lost feel for the snow as the boot basically overpowered the ski. I had to ski a bigger ski (Kneissl Tanker in 180cms length) and ski quite aggressively to feel that Mobe was paired with the right set of sticks. I feel this is something inherent to the Mobe’s construction. For example, the Scarpa marketing literature waxes rhapsodic about the new Powerblock Tour ski/walk mechanism and how it is “a rigid interface…. a game-changer and in ski mode, this mechanism offers the closest thing on the market to the rigidity of a fixed cuff boot.” This is one of those situations when hype meets reality. Mobe is the closest boot I’ve yet seen which comes to the stiffness of a dedicated alpine boot yet at a relatively light weight.

Yet, is a boot this stiff what I really need, or you?

To answer the above eternal question, first, in my opinion Mobe is overkill for a skier of my weight & aggression level. I don’t charge terrain inbounds and would be considered to be on the conservative side when skiing inbounds. This is a big powerful gun and not for lollygagging. Thus, this is a boot for the bigger-boned crowd (boned in both senses of the word?) or for skiers who send it.

Second, although Mobe is stiff, it still does not have the smooth progressive feel of an alpine boot. That said, I have no wish to be unfair to Mobe, as no alpine touring boot I’ve skied matches the smooth power transmission of an alpine boot. I did find that Mobe skied better when I used a soft touring tongue. I attribute that perhaps to the softer tongue adding some progression and mitigating the slight harshness of power transmission endemic to all alpine touring boots. (Note the touring tongue is not included in-box but can be purchased from Scarpa retailers.)

Backcountry skiing boot height comparison.

Comparison of rear cuff heights - from L to R: Atomic alpine boots, Scarpa Shake, Garmont Megaride, Dynafit ZZeus then Mobe. The ruler is held level. All the rear cuffs are within mm's of equal height except for the ZZeus (5mm) and Megaride (10mm) shorter.

Backcountry skiing boots side height comparo.

Side profiles of boots compared to Mobe from top left going clockwise - Shaka, Atomic alpine, ZZeus, Megaride. Mobe, ZZeus and the alpine boot are quite a bit taller than the Megaride and Shaka.

On Snow Performance – touring
No way to sugarcoat this. The Mobe’s touring performance is a compromise that falls far short of other Scarpa offerings The best you can get out of Mobe in walk mode is a forward lean of about 5 degrees. This limited cuff movement is a hindrance when skinning. Having said that, if you typically shuffle your feet when skinning or, more likely, if you’ve never used a boot with walk mode, the amount of rear cuff movement in Mobe will be more than adequate. However, if you’re used to taking long strides or if your tours involve flat approaches on glaciers or roads then you might consider a different boot. Mobe’s sub-optimal touring experience is somewhat alleviated by using a soft touring tongue but even then you’re not going to get a long stride out of these boots. I will add that I tried some other liners with the Mobe including a set of my own Intuition Protour liners. This did not help touring capability; it is mostly the shell (not the liner) which restricts boot movement.

I didn’t evaluate Mobe performance in rock/snow/ice scrambling, but can easily guess with how stiff this boot is, combined with its limited cuff travel, Mobe is not going to cause smiles in those situations. Nonetheless, Mobe is a comfortable shoe for short walks (it does have a rockered sole and the slight walk mode is very noticeable for walking comfort). As for sole wear, my test wasn’t long enough or rough enough to evaluate.

When reading my critique bear in mind that Scarpa markets Mobe to people who are mostly in the slackcountry or on short tours and presumably understand that touring performance is sacrificed with this boot. I’m told that one of the reasons Mobe is so stiff is that everything around the walk mode is beefed up so there’s no play there. But that also means a restricted walk mode for true backcountry skiing where you’re earning most or all of your turns.

Mobe backcountry skiing boot lean lock adjustment.

Mobe backcountry skiing boot lean lock adjustment.

Lean-lock adjustment for forward lean

Scarpa Mobe’s forward lean is adjustable between 15 to 22 degrees but there isn’t any documentation as to how to adjust the lean-lock mechanism. I had to figure this out myself along with the help of some other people in online postings. The mechanism is pictured above.
• You will need a 3mm allen/hexagonal key to loosen the walk mode mechanism on the walk mode bar.
• Adjust the forward lean with the boot in ski mode (not walk mode) so the hex head screws are lined up with the mechanism.
• Do not loosen the screws too much otherwise the mechanism will separate from the boot (as in the picture above) and it will be a pain to put it together again. Loosen it enough so the mechanism can slide up and down on the walk mode bar. Now put the mechanism in walk mode to move it up and down on bar.
• Align the mechanism with the markings on the outside of the boot on the heel. Put the mechanism back into ski mode before tightening (helps you align with the bar holes.
• Once aligned fully tighten the hex screws.

Summary
As a light, not overly aggressive skier who tours for powder the Mobe is too much boot for me. However, Mobe is most definitely a touring boot and even critics will have to note that it is relatively light and has many features tailored for touring including a rockered sole and a walk mode, albeit a walk mode with limited range. Scarpa has positioned the Mobe as a backcountry skiing boot for skiers who are more about the alpine than about the touring and it shows. Heavy aggressive skiers who crave downhill performance but want some modicum of tourability should look to the Mobe. But as I’m sure Scarpa would agree, if you want a more touring optimized boot with Scarpa’s sweet features, look at other offerings in the Scarpa line (such as Maestrale.)

Shop for Scarpa Mobe

Personal Biases
I weigh 160 lbs and ski mainly in the Coast Mountains of British Columbia in the Vancouver/Whistler area. My skiing is usually in fairly high moisture-content snow. Accordingly, my preference is for bigger skis and boots. I ski about a 100 days a season, 70% of which days involves some touring. I spent 8 days on the Mobe of which 6 were spent touring. I have used a variety of boots including the Garmont Megaride, Scarpa Spirit 3 and 4, Skookum, Maestrale, Dynafit ZZero4-C, Titan and ZZeus. If you have a question about the Mobes and want a comparison to other boots please ask questions using the comments section of this article.

(Lee Lau is an avid skier and outdoorsman embarking on many adventures with his loving, and sometimes concerned wife, Sharon. He has over fifteen years of experience backcountry skiing and dabbles in mountaineering. In the “off-season” he is occasionally found working in his day job as an intellectual property lawyer when he is not mountain biking. As a resident of Vancouver and Whistler, British Columbia, Lee’s playground extends mainly to Western Canada, including South West B.C. and the Selkirks. Lee and Sharon share experiences at www.sharonandlee.net)

Comments

79 Responses to “Scarpa Mobe — High Powered Tour Weapons”

  1. Mark Williams December 22nd, 2010 10:28 am

    Great review. This may sound like a rookie question, but will the rockered sole mess up the release of alpine bindings?

  2. Dave B. December 22nd, 2010 11:42 am

    Thanks for another great review, Lee. I’ve now got two full days of lift served skiing on my Mobes, mostly in eastern icy conditions with a little crud thrown in one day. We have yet to get enough snow in the backcountry, so to test their touring comfort, I climbed on gently sloping road for about an hour (Whiteface Toll Rd). I’m coming off a pair of Garmont Radiums that I never could get to fit my feet, were a nightmare to tour in due to limited range of motion in walk mode, but skied downhill pretty well, or so I thought. The Mobes are far superior to the Radiums for me on the down. In fact, I like them more than my alpine boots (Technica Diablo Flame), and I am plenty fond of those. Comfort and fit are superb for me. I won’t quarrel with Lee, who has forgotten more about how to really understand a ski boot than I’ve ever known, but for me, the flex feels smooth and progressive, and not overly stiff. Because they toured so much better than my Radiums, I was quite happy during the hour I spent skinning (admittedly with a pretty short stride) in them and assume that they work even better when the going gets steep. For what it’s worth, I’m putting the Technicas on the shelf for awhile and will use the Mobes exclusively, skiing on a Kahru Jak with some old Fritchis (Titanal III) for in bounds days, and Dynafit Stokes with Dynafit bindings for touring (and in bounds powder) days. FWIW, I’m 59, weigh about 165, and ski pretty conservatively; I am fairly solid, but far from spectacular in my skiing ability and style. Hope this information is helpful.

  3. RandoSwede December 22nd, 2010 12:12 pm

    Thanks Lee. Please keep beating the drum of user-replaceable boot hardware! And if any manufacturers are reading today… I just passed up buying a pair of boots that did not meet this requirement.

  4. dg December 22nd, 2010 1:05 pm

    I suggest that the micro-slop you may get from replaceable blocks vs the one piece boot/sole is only relevant with tech bindings. The rubber in the AT sole provides far more compliance when in an AT binding than the block attachment would on current boots that have a removable block system.

    Good review thanks.

  5. Patrick December 22nd, 2010 2:16 pm

    Lee, thanks for the great review. Could you compare these to the Skookum? I am a fairly big guy (6′, 220lbs) and would be using only for BC. I have a pair of Mobe’s new in the box , but I’m conflicted over their touring capabilites. Any comparisons you could offer would be great.

  6. Nick December 22nd, 2010 7:37 pm

    Solid review, pretty much spot on with what I’ve experienced with the boot as well. The only issue that I’ve had is a that as you mentioned, the heel pocket is a little roomy.

    Any ideas about tightening down that heel a little?

  7. Lee Lau December 22nd, 2010 7:41 pm

    Patrick,

    The Skookum is a lot of boot. As with the Mobe I had to ski them with touring tongue to get a nice “feel” for the boot but keep in mind I’m 60 lbs short of you. Having said that the Mobe is another level of stiff. I thought Skookum toured very well. I suspect you’ll be very happy with the Skookum especially if you’re using it for a dedicated backcountry boot

  8. Lee Lau December 22nd, 2010 7:44 pm

    Nick,

    I took some EVA foam and glued it to the tongue to take up some space. I also put some foam under the heel in appropriate spots to lift my foot up a tiny bit. Use small bits of dense foam and add as needed – drastic changes tend to lead to unhappy feet

  9. Paddy McIlvoy December 23rd, 2010 12:24 am

    Patrick, we’re almost exactly the same size, and I’ve been touring w/the Skookum for the last year. I love ‘em; mostly with the Manaslu’s (which they almost overpower) and with the Stokes, which they drive with authority. Plenty of boot all in all.

  10. Doogle McReid December 23rd, 2010 11:17 am

    I purchased the Mobe from campsaver recently and had ordered the Skookum and the Zzeuss from other websites to try them all on. I’ve got a wide foot 104 and the Zzeus was to narrow, but the Skookum and Mobe fit really nice.

    The Skookum was very comfortable, but the lower two buckles were frustrating. The powerstrap was a clumsy to use. Each time I stepped into the boot I found myself having to rethread the strap through the tension buckle. Super comfy and I liked the additional tongue option, but to much tinkering to get this on.

    Once I had the Mobe on and walked around the house for a day with it, i really liked the way it felt on and there was a fair amount of room. PLUS super light. The one exception was the second buckle that each time I cranked it down it was way to tight, even with the micro-adjustment all the way out and the buckle repositioned. After having the liner molded, the shop helped relocate the buckle strap up one spot, which required a new hold to be drilled. The nice part is that Skarpa thought about big footed guys and there is a pre-set area that can be drilled for this purpose. A little plastic weld filled the other original hole and all was good.

    I’ve skied on them with my Mustaghs for a day and was really happy. Also tried them with my Marker Dukes on my Mantras and thought they were as good as my stiff alpine boots.

    The liners are really nice and warm. Overall, I’m really impressed with this boot.

  11. Berto December 23rd, 2010 12:29 pm

    Hello Lee,

    You made here the review of the Mobe and you mentionned it is too stiff for you.

    Previously, Lou made a review of the Skookum and said it was too stiff for him with the stiffer tongue:
    http://www.wildsnow.com/1115/skiing-on-the-scarpa-skookum-backcountry-boot-guest-review/

    Do you agree?

    Since you tried all of them, would you say the Scarpa Maestrale is better than those 2 in term of transmission of power to the skis?

    I would like a “boot-to-do-all” (as many of us) and I could make some concessions on the stiffness since I am a light weight (145 lbs) and not a very aggressive skier. Which of those 3 Scarpas (Skookum, Mobe or Maestrale) would you recommand?

    Thanks for your help and again thanks for a great review

  12. Lee Lau December 23rd, 2010 4:22 pm

    @ Doogle. I totally agree that micro-tuning the Mobe buckles affects boot feel and performance a lot. It’s nice to have data and experiences from others on that point. I’ve noted to Scarpa that a few other people have had fit issues with some of the buckles. Designing boots must be tough as there’s so much variation in foot size and shape but somewhere there should be a happy medium. If enough people have issues (you being one of them) it’s valuable information to have for Scarpa to consider!

  13. Lee Lau December 23rd, 2010 4:24 pm

    Berto – I totally agree with the review as it’s my review!!

    For your size, weight and preference I would recommend the Maestrale

  14. neonorchid December 23rd, 2010 6:16 pm

    Lee,
    I’m 135lb 5’7″, want a do it all AT boot that i can also use for faster medium to long turns, but no mogul’s, on east coast groomers. From what i’m reading it seems the Mobe would be more boot then i need.

    Do you think i would be alright with the Maestrale with it’s subjective 90/100 flex, or should go up in flex to the Black Diamond Prime subjective 110 flex index?

    Additionally of the two if the decision comes to fit and the Maestrale wins would i be happy with them for my intended purpose?

    For skis, I plan on using either the K2 backlash, Volkl amaruq or mauja.

  15. Lee Lau December 23rd, 2010 6:41 pm

    @Mark – sorry for the late response. The Mobe isn’t recommended for alpine bindings. Having said that, I know people who use alpine touring soles in alpine bindings. I won’t though

  16. Lee Lau December 23rd, 2010 6:42 pm

    neonorchid. sidenote but I skied with someone who had the Volkl Amaruq. What a fantastic looking ski. I have no experience with the Prime so take that into account. I suspect the Maestrale would be plenty of boot for you.

  17. Ben R December 24th, 2010 1:51 am

    Lee –

    Thanks for the excellent review.

    1) I feel somewhat responsible for what might be a bit of possible misinformation regarding adjustment of the forward lean. The first time I adjusted the forward lean I was sitting in my friends car holding on for dear life on the way to go skiing. ;) I had overlooked a couple things…. I originally posted that adjusting the forward lean was easier in ski mode; however, further experience has suggested that performing the adjustment solely in walk mode may be preferred. Strangely I never did come about any instructions from Scarpa, but I also didn’t look very hard. :roll:

    The middle and largest of the three holes in the ‘sliding bar’ that attach the cuff and heel of the boot (see picture above) allows for an additional access point to the top hex screw that tightens the forward lean apparatus. Using this access point makes it possible to adjust the forward lean while in walk mode ultimately allowing for less force to initially approximate and seat the ridged parts of the apparatus. This being said, it does still seem easier to put the boot in ski mode when setting the forward lean to the most dorsiflexed position (explanation for this is not worth the text it will take up here.)

    UPSHOT: forward lean adjustment is possible in both walk and ski modes. ;)

    2) I like these boots. I agree that the touring tongue is much preferred for walk mode and comfort. The stock stiffer tongue is great for charging hard though, but I’m a bit fatter at 5’9 and 1/2 ;) and 190#. I agree that the the boot, or at least my feet and shins are very sensitive to the buckle tension.

  18. Mike Traslin December 27th, 2010 12:53 pm

    Thanks for this report!

    Now that I have some wider heavier backcountry skis….I am starting to realize I need some boots like these to be able to drive the ski more easily!

  19. Dave B. December 30th, 2010 6:06 pm

    Following up on my previous post, I used the Mobes today on low angle, narrow trails where the choice was between skiing in someone’s ruts or on an egg shell crust. Pretty challenging conditions and you had to be on it. The Mobes ate this stuff up far better than any other boot I’ve owned (Garmont Megaride; ill fitting Garmont Radium, Technica alpine boot). And as for the climb up? Very comfortable. I had wondered if there would be enough cuff mobility for flat and low angled skinning, but this proved to be no problem at all. My conclusion? The Scarba Mobe is like a good full suspension trail oriented mountain bike. Very nice on the climb, as long as you’re not trying to set a race pace, and once you start to descend – pure bliss.

  20. Adam February 23rd, 2011 2:43 pm

    Lee — How would you compare these to the Dynafit Zzeus both in terms of size and performance?

  21. Doug Reid February 23rd, 2011 2:53 pm

    25 days of skiing so far this year and I like my Mobes still. The terrain has been a good mix of resort, glades, and back country skiing this season. I haven’t thought twice about how my boots are performing because I don’t see any noticeable difference with my stiff, heavy Langes. The one big advantage of these boots is the walk mode and the virbam sole. I’m sure they’re not made for this, but I can even drive from the condo to the resort without any issue.

    Product comments, the first buckle over the toe pushes the boot pretty heavy, flexes the shell if I really crank it down. I usually have it loose, so no big deal.

    Really nice comfortable boot. I would suggest good insoles.

    My wfie likes them loads to. She wants a pair ;)

  22. Lee Lau February 23rd, 2011 7:18 pm

    Adam,

    I’m a size 27 ZZeus and Mobe. I fit both of them easily with perhaps a smidgen more toebox space in the Mobe vs ZZeus. The Mobe is definitely stiffer; its even stiffer than the Titan (the Dynafit boot above the ZZeus in beef)

  23. Adam February 23rd, 2011 7:23 pm

    Thanks Lee. I’ve got the Zzeus in 26 but my feet are wide and I def had to have a ton of punching done to fit in those things comfortably. Was wondering if I got these later on down the road if they were a better fit….

  24. Adam February 25th, 2011 10:17 am

    Just wanted to add to this discussion.

    I see it this way:

    -Mostly resort with some sidecountry through gates and light skinning: Mobe

    -Mostly skinning for steeps with some resort thrown in: Skookum

    I like them both a whole lot, but they are different beasts. FWIW, I feel the Skookum makes the Spirit 4 irrelevant. I know that’s akin to telling a Christian that Jesus wasn’t real, but as a big guy I don’t get any more touring performance out of Spirit 4s (mostly Colorado backcountry and peak skiing) and Skookums are nearly as light. Then I can put on the stiff tongue and it’s a resort ready boot.

    I have found myself on some resort days with the Skookum and lusting for the Mobe. The Skookum suffices, but barely and I am pretty beat at the day’s end. I weigh 195 lbs.

    I don’t own the Mobe, so I don’t have the choice to use it instead, but I plan on picking a pair up so I can swap for those days where I’m at the resort. It means that much to me, yes.

  25. Robert Tangen April 15th, 2011 6:43 pm

    I could not find how to adjust the cant on these: my booklet talks about the U-shaped wrench, but the Mobes don’t have the 2 little slots, they have a shallow crater on the cant bolt. Do you know how to adjust cant?

  26. Lou April 15th, 2011 6:48 pm

    Robert, we have some boots with that same cant. We just loosened the bolt in the center, then rotated the cant washer by pushing in the “crater” with a sharp object. Seemed to work. Don’t know what they did to the slots, they were nice… they fixed what worked, dang…

  27. JohnK April 16th, 2011 4:15 am

    Great review. I am essentially a resort down hill skier that usually skiis with stiff Dalbello downhill boots and 163 to 174cm carving skiis. However I want to now dable in some cross country ascents in the back country and maintain my intermediate / advanced downhill skiing in the resorts and in the back country areas.
    Which bindings and skis could I use with this boot given what I am used to skiing with?
    Would prefer a short technical ski that is easy to turn with.

  28. combiner April 22nd, 2011 11:52 am

    So how does it compare with BD Quadrant?
    Stiffer, less cuff movement when walking, better power strap, slightly heavier, what else? What about buckles, durability, fit (especially heel hold)?

  29. combiner April 22nd, 2011 11:53 am

    oh, and i forgot – the liners are different. It is true that Boa liner is inferior in Your opinion?

  30. Lee Lau April 22nd, 2011 8:15 pm

    John, Sorry for the late response. I honestly don’t know. For a short technical ski I use the Atomic Rex, TMex but 90% of my skiing is powder so I’m not the best person to ask

    combiner – I have no experience with the Quadrant so hopefully someone else can chime in. I have used the BD boa liner in the 09 – 10 Factor. It felt like it packed out over the day so my impression on it was not great. Having said that I used it for only a couple of days so that’s hardly more than a cursory impression

  31. Bar Barrique April 22nd, 2011 8:48 pm

    Combiner; there is a thread on TGR regarding the Quadrants. There are numerous comments regarding the liners.

  32. Miroslav Mendros August 7th, 2011 9:04 am

    Hi Lee !!!

    I am 70 – 75 kg weight ( about 160 lbs ), wear 27.5 and I wanted to buy garmont radium because of their stiffness, but when I tried them on It didnt suit me … So I am looking for some ski boots with the same stiffness (not less) as Garmont radium, weight about 1800g and I would like to use them for everything, skiing, touring, walking : skialpinism etc… So On the first place ist comfort , then stiffness. I also considered dynafit zzero 4 px-tf but in shop they told me it will be not stiff enough for me, I need something as stiff as titan or radium . Do you have any idea what shoul I be looking for ?

    Thank you so much

  33. BernhardD October 31st, 2011 3:15 am

    Hey

    What rear movement does Mobe and Skookum (!) provide compared to other boots ie garmont endorphine
    Thanks

  34. Lou October 31st, 2011 8:41 am

    Bernhard, usually a bit more, but depends on liner as well as boot shell.

  35. BernhardD October 31st, 2011 1:48 pm

    Lou, thanks for the immediate answer!
    So you mean that the Skookum (originally out of box set up) has a significantly wider range of rear (and forward) cuff movement than the endorphine?
    Thanks

  36. Lou October 31st, 2011 2:10 pm

    No, I wrote “a bit.” I don’t have both boots here so that’s the best I can do. If it’s hyper critical to you, just buy both online, and return one, the other, or both. Or stop by a shop that has them… ‘best, Lou

  37. BernhardD October 31st, 2011 2:18 pm

    Got Endorphines, wanz New ones. no Shop close that got skookums in my Size to try and compare.
    Like your page als your service and am glad about your expertise!

    Thanks a Lot, from Innsbruck Austria

  38. Henning November 8th, 2011 12:40 pm

    Hi, and thanks for a great review! It is really nice that people like you take the time to write for us to learn the easy way.

    I am a 155 lbs skier, and plan to buy the Coomback 174 as my touring ski.

    I am a all mountain fairly aggressive skier. I can go of 30 foot cliffs, and plan to perhaps go a little higher this season.

    Q1: Will a Maestrale be a good boot for me? Or would you recommend something else? I have to go for a Scarpa boot, since they are the only brand that feels good on my foot of the one’s I tried.

    Q2: For my use, what would you recommend for bindings?
    I am thinking either Dynafit TLT Radical FT or Diamir Fritschi Freeride Pro(?)

    Hope you will have a great season and stay healthy!

    Best regards, Henning
    Norway

  39. Jay November 9th, 2011 11:37 am

    Lee,

    This may be well plowed ground but I am in need of positive reinforcement on a boot decision. I am just getting into BC skiing. My current boots are Lange Worldcup 120 flex. I used them last year for a day in the BC and it was torture. I am looking to upgrade and the Mobe seems to fit the bill given what I am used to but I am wondering if I would be even more happy going to a Maestrale. I am concerned about the softer flex on the Maestrale. I would say my skiing will now consist of half resort, half BC/AT. I am 5’11″, 200 lbs and would consider myself to be a relatively aggressive skier. Any advice on how I should be thinking about a decision would be helpful.

  40. muddy_hollow November 9th, 2011 11:43 am

    I moved to the Mobe from a similar set-up and I think they’re awesome. I ordered a number of boots online (a couple grand on the card) and tried each in my home; walking around, sitting, climbing the stairs, and I settled on the Mobe. The rest I returned (thank god for free shipping on returns) and REI ;)

    On the slopes and in the BC, I really enjoy the Mobe. For me they are the right combination.

    - D

  41. Lou November 9th, 2011 12:40 pm

    Muddy, nice work with the return system. I keep reminding people to do that when they buy boots online, amazing how many folks don’t bother, then end up with something that’s not right. Extra work, but it’s worth it.

  42. dario December 5th, 2011 1:46 pm

    Great review Lee. i currently use Spirit 3′s touring. They fit my high instep wider foot better than any other boot i’ve tried. Do you know if the Mobe’s last is as acoomodating. thanks in advance.

  43. Kurtis December 8th, 2011 9:22 pm

    I have spent one full season on the Mobe, 49 days in the back country, short tours to 14 hours, the latter of which trashed my feet – no fault of the boot, the price we pay for the bc experience. What I would like to discuss is the problem I have of pre-releasing out of my dynafit bindings. Is anyone else experiencing the same problem? If you are- go to your local shop that carries Scarpa, and put a pair of Mistraels in one ski then put your mobe in the other and compare. See the problem? I look forward to your feed back.

  44. Ben R December 14th, 2011 12:22 pm

    I skied the mobes over 50 days last winter in dukes and dynafits. I never had an issue with pre-release in the dynafits with the mobes.

    Did you have you boot modified, stretched, without the aid of a jig? Possibly could have altered the location of the dynafit interface.

  45. Lee Lau December 14th, 2011 6:22 pm

    Miroslav. Very late response. Sorry but for some reason I was unsubscribed to the thread.

    The Mobe is quite a bit more stiffer than the Radium so if it fits you then this is what you’re looking for.

  46. Lee Lau December 14th, 2011 6:24 pm

    Bernhard

    The Endorphins go vertical – ie 0deg walk mode. The Skookum goes backwards of vertical (5 to 8 deg if I recall). So the Skookum walk mode is better than the Endorphin but not significantly

  47. Lee Lau December 14th, 2011 6:25 pm

    Henning – at your weight I think the Maestrale would be ideal.

    As for bindings you are surrounded by Dynafit addicts and I am one of them! Go for Dynafit

  48. Lee Lau December 14th, 2011 6:26 pm

    Jay – what boots did you end up getting? I’m going to have to agree with Muddy that the Mobes would be better for your mix of use

  49. Lee Lau December 14th, 2011 6:28 pm

    dario – I can’t think of many boots that had as much volume and were as wide as the Spirit 3. The Mobe isn’t quite as wide and doesn’t have as much volume but it’s definitely not a boot for narrow feet. Can you try before you buy? The Intuition liner provided is really good and can form to wide feet as it’s quite thermomoldable.

  50. Lee Lau December 14th, 2011 6:29 pm

    Kurtis,

    I didn’t have a problem. Just adding data

  51. Kurtis December 14th, 2011 8:40 pm

    Lee and Ben,

    Thanks for your replies, Ben- No I haven’t done any modification to the boots. I have been in touch with Scarpa and am sending photos to them. The problem I am having is that the bevel on the toe piece, of the binding -just past the metal point that seats into the toe tech fitting, is making contact with the plastic bevel on the boot. Which does not allow the toe piece to fully lock into the toe tech fitting. I have read a few articles on this web site in regards to Dynafit toe tech fittings. And the problem is that some boot makers are not using “Dynafit” tech fittings. I’m not sure if the fitting in the toe of the Mobe is an actual “Dynafit” fitting. The toe fittings on the Maestrale boot is a “Dynafit” fitting, and fits my binding with no bevel contact at all. I have photo’s but lack the computer expertise to figure out how to get them on this site, or post. If you want to send me your e-mail address I’d be glad to send you the photo’s. I have read that you can sand the plastic on the boot so bevel on the binding will not contact the plastic, but I’m not too excited about that idea, I think before I do that, I will just mount a pair of markers and enjoy the piece of mind and fit of the boot.

    This is a great web site – a lot of good tech info here.

  52. Lou December 15th, 2011 7:01 am

    I’d offer that if the boots you have don’t fit in a Dynafit, they might not fit correctly in a Marker either, though it might not be as obvious. Scarpa uses Dynafit fittings in their boots so the problem you have isn’t caused by the fitting, but rather a small error in how the fitting is line up, or else a small error in the boot molding. Why not just warranty the boots? I’m sure Scarpa would make good on them if they don’t fit in the bindings!

  53. Jay December 15th, 2011 9:16 am

    Lee,

    I ended up with the Mobes. I am ashamed to say I haven’t hit the slopes yet with them but they feel great walking around the house. Thanks for the recommendation. I will try to remember to post thoughts after some use. I look forward to getting after it this season…

  54. Ben R December 15th, 2011 10:50 am

    Kurtis,

    I don’t fully understand what you mean by the bevel on the boots and dynafit bindings. I think Lou, as usual, has the right idea: warranty the boots and save the headache.

  55. Per December 15th, 2011 5:23 pm

    Hi Lee (or anyone),

    I’m new to BC (1 week last winter) but I really enjoyed it so I’m going there this winter as well. But this year I think I’m going to get my own boots since I wasn’t satisfied with any of the rental boots offered (too soft). I ended up using my alpine boots (Nordica Speedmachine flex 120/130) which my feet love but there’s no walking mode…

    I’m about 200 lbs and like Jay I’m considering Mobe and Maetrale but have also been recommended BD Factor. Problem is that my feet are wide and it feels like the Maestrale might be too narrow. The guy in the shop told me that the liner will mold enough to fix that. What do you think? No shop in my town keep Mobe in stock so I havn’t been able to try those.

    In a perfect world I’d like to have one pair of boots where Mobe seems to be a viable option, but maybe I should go for Maestrale for BC where I’m not that aggressive and keep my Speedmachines for the days on the pistes where I ski pretty aggressively and go for the mogules from time to time. Opinions?

    My other question is a real newbie question… I know that those boots aren’t made for alpine bindings but how about semialpine binding as the Duke? And isn’t this all about the front binding having a construction that allows sliding sideways as for example Tyrolia LD12 has?

  56. Lou December 15th, 2011 6:00 pm

    Hi Per, if the guy in the shop says it’ll work, he has to take the boots back if it doesn’t, so give it a try. As for bindings, the purpose of a Duke or Baron is exactly what you suggest, they’re designed to hold AT boots but function as an alpine binding.

  57. Lee Lau December 15th, 2011 6:33 pm

    In my opinion The Factor’s liner is complete horse ****. There I said it – not sugarcoated. Avoid.

    The Intuition liner that comes stock with Scarpa boots will almost certainly mold to fit your feet but here’s another suggestion — read on

    When I ski with a big pack then I’m 200lbs and have got to tell you that the Maestrale is getting a bit soft for me. I’m not the only one with that opinion as both Louie and I were on the same boot and humping a big load and we were flexing the heck out of the Maestrale.

    Wide feet would either be Mobe or Skookum. I’m inclined to tell you to keep the Speedmachines for inbounds (if you’ve got a boot that you love keep it forever and ever is my opinion as fit is number one) and try a Skookum for touring.

    You’re a big guy. Big guys usually need bigger stiffer boots. Mobe is stiff but Mobe’s tourability is pretty mediocre. I’d think that Mobe is a decent one-boot option for big guys but if you have two boot options then keep the Alpine and get the boot that tours better and still skis pretty darn well – ie Skookum.

    And did I mention again, get the boot that fits the best?

    And what Lou said about Mobe working with other bindings

  58. John December 15th, 2011 7:23 pm

    FWIW, I can drive any ski with the Dynafit Titan, or Garmont Axon. The Scarpa Maestrale is a capable boot even paired with an aggresive ski, but you really have to use good technique with stiffer or wider skis.

  59. JCoates December 16th, 2011 6:44 am

    Per,

    I think most of us thought we needed an aggressive set up with a fat ski, super-stiff boots, and DIN 16 bindings when we first started touring. However, I think most people tend to gravitate to a lighter set-up as they get more time in the backcountry.

    Here is a really good blog by Andy Doris (used w/o permission but so good I think it should be mandatory reading) on the subject. Scroll down to the Dec 3 blog “Light and Fast Ski Mountaineering: Part 1″:

    http://slcsherpa.blogspot.com/

    Unless you are TGR athelete and getting dropped of on a ridge by helicopter, most of your tour is spent skinning/climbing uphill. IMO, I would go with the Dynafit TLT line or a lighter Scarpa boot.

    Have fun and let us know what you end up getting.

  60. Bar Barrique December 16th, 2011 10:58 pm

    I agree that the BD liners are “throw aways” , but the two people I most often tour with are using BD boots. They have wide higher volume feet. If you have feet like this; I would recommend finding a shop that sells Intuition liners, try the BD boots on with an Intuition liner (even unmolded it will give you a better sense of the boot’s fit), and, if they work for you, negotiate a good price for the boot/liner combo.

  61. Per December 18th, 2011 2:43 pm

    Thank you all for your advices!

    Have already tried the BD Factor and I must say that the liners felt ehh… “strange”, even though the seller told me they were great when you “get used to them”… Maybe Bar Barrique’s suggested combo of BD shells and Intuition liners would be nice.

    Anyway. I’ve decided to a try out the Skookum since I think width i my main concern. Today I placed a weborder ($500!) and will get back to you when I’ve tried them on.

  62. Craig January 13th, 2012 9:51 pm

    I only go 160 lbs and am old and slow now but I don’t find the boot too stiff or too much for my skis. this is a performance boot and it doe the job nicely. It skis almost as well as my full on racing langes. I would recommend a custom foot bed but I would for any boot. The lack of backward mobility has not really bothered me on any of my tours so I personally don’t think it’s an issue. I have been skiing this boot in bounds as well as using it in the back country and have nothing but good things to say.

  63. Dimitar February 1st, 2012 6:15 am

    Hello Lee,
    This is quite an old review and I don’t know if you still check for any posts here.. but sill.. here’s my question.. I am currently skiing on a pair of Dynafit Zzero4 PUs, and after 3 seasons I am beginning to realize the boots are what limiti my skiing performance. I tour a lot ( at least half of my skiing.. 20-30 days a season), but I like skiing fast in powder and on hard snow. The snow in Bulgaria is variable – if we are lucky like this season we get lots of powder, but the usual situation is a mixure of crust, hard pack, wind-blown snow, some pow, lots of obstacles to navigate.. The zz4s just won’t let me do what I can do with my old Nordica beasts, and now that I upgraded to wider and stiffer skis, it got even worse.. My dilemma is how much of my touring comfort would I sacrifice if I switch to Mobe compared to the zz4s? Would those touring tongues really help? How about removing the tongues completely when touring? I do this occasionally with my zz4s and it really improves the performance. Does this work with the Mobes?
    Cheers,
    Dimitar

  64. todd February 12th, 2012 8:04 am

    I think your review kicks ass. Because of it I will probably be buying somthing other than the Mobe. That said can you help me chose. I am 6’2″, 220 and ski very aggrssively. I have been skiing a pair of Mega Rides for years and they are very soft not. Still fit great and tour great but ski a little sloppy with the bigger skis. IS there a Mega Ride Like boot with similar weight that is stiffer with a small heal pocket like the Mega? I appreciate what you do my friend and wish I had as much time as you to ski BC. Peace
    T. Mott

  65. Lou February 12th, 2012 9:23 am

    Todd, while Scarpa makes some of the best selling AT boots of all time, Garmont does have a different last and is also worth considering — especially if you’ve discovered you like their fit. I think Garmont Radium would be the one you’re looking for. Also, Garmont has a whole new line of “modern” stiff but lightweight boots coming out next fall that might be worth you waiting for:

    http://www.wildsnow.com/6524/garmont-powerlite-review/

  66. Lee Lau February 12th, 2012 11:01 am

    Hey Dimitar – sorry; I did forget to check for comments.

    The ZZero has quite a bit of negative lean (minus 10 from vertical if I recall) and because of that it’s just going to a bit better touring than Mobe. Mobe’s plastic rear cuff won’t let you lean all the way back. I didn’t try touring without the tongue but if’s the trad Scarpa boot which means you can snap the tongue in and out. If you’re trying to improve the stride in flat areas (that’s where having the ability to get a bit more ankle movement seems to help) Mobe won’t be great.

    Mobe is definitely really stiff but try something else like Dynafit Titan, Garmont Radium or Technica’s line if you want something that is stiff yet tours well. I’m not including BD Factor because it also has the same touring limit as Mobe.

  67. Lee Lau February 12th, 2012 11:05 am

    Thanks Todd. If you fit Garmont then you definitely should take a look at Radium like Lou said. Garmont feet also fit Dynafit boots well. With some padding at the ankles and instep they can also fit Scarpa boots. FWIW whenever I get Dynafit boots I have to mold liners to expand them because the ankle and heel pockets are small so if you try that boot in the store expect it to need liner thermofitting before it will fit. Maybe even bring in your old liners in the store to plop into the new boots just so you have some idea about fit? (although that opens up that whole can of worms about bootfitting and whether stores should mold liners for prospective clients

  68. Gary February 23rd, 2012 9:56 am

    Lee, Do you think the Mobe is a burly enough boot for a dedicated ski area boot. How about the Dynafit Titan. I am 140 lbs, good skier but not an ex racer or huckster. 80% resorts 20% backcountry. Looking for a one boot solution if that exist.

  69. Dave B February 23rd, 2012 6:08 pm

    I weight 20 lbs more than you, would describe my skiing style and ability as similar to yours and use my Mobes in exactly the manner you’re wondering about. Fantastic boots for this purpose. No complaints whatsoever.

  70. Ben R February 23rd, 2012 9:27 pm

    I weigh 175. Mobes with AT tongue are plenty stiff for inbounds however not a wonderful progressive flex or as high performance as dedicated alpine boots. The Titans are significantly less stiff than the Mobes. I have skied both the titans and the mobes. Titans have a much better walk/tour mode.

  71. Don B March 15th, 2012 3:19 pm

    I have been using Skookum’s for the last two seasons. BC, skidecountry and inbounds with coombacks and dynafits. Great boot imho. I am stepping up to a 120mm underfoot ski and I am considering the Mobe for its greater stiffness to better control the wider ski. I am 160lbs. and mildly aggressive. Love powder. Do you think I should stick with my Skookum’s or step up to the Mobe?

  72. Lee Lau March 15th, 2012 3:29 pm

    Don

    You could but you’d be sacrificing the wonderful touring ability of the Skookum. They both fit pretty much the same

  73. Lou March 15th, 2012 3:46 pm

    Don, my advice with that sort of thing is to ALWAYS simply try your go-to boots first. This theory that bigger skis automatically need bigger boots is just a theory. It’s true sometimes, not true others. Depends on the boots you have, your style of skiing, all sorts of things. Lou

  74. Johnny January 27th, 2013 2:45 pm

    Where Can I find the Scarpa Mobe touring tounge In the Squamish-whistler area…

  75. Lee Lau January 27th, 2013 8:41 pm

    Johnny – flexon or krypton tongues fit the Scarpa without tools. Otherwise u have to call or email Scarpa to order

  76. Doug February 14th, 2013 6:14 am

    I’m on my third season with the Mobe and I think they are great for me. Comfortable and flexible when needed. I’m dong my first Rando race in a couple weeks with them and cannot wait.

    The question to the group is do you lube your boots? This week I decided to clean up my boots, re-apply some gorilla duct tape to the interior to reduce digging into my liner and especially clean out the hike / ski lock. Cleaned it with a Q-Tip and the followed up with some pure silicon spray lubrication. Which I then followed up by lubing the shell where the upper and lower meet, the interior, under the tongue and so on. This stuff dries 100% and doesn’t leave a nasty residue at all. In fact, I would be hard pressed to know if it was applied or not. Right away I noticed a slight different, especially with the ability to click into ski mode from hike easier. Cleaning the gunk off boots is always good, but does anyone Lube their boots???????

  77. Lou Dawson February 14th, 2013 7:01 am

    Nothing wrong with using some silicone on your boots if it’s the type that totally dries and doesn’t attract dirt. I’ve done it myself. But it’s not essential. All those plastics are self lubricating.

  78. Dave February 25th, 2013 3:42 pm

    I currently ski Garmont Adrenalin boots and am thinking of going to the Mobe. I’ve resisted buying a new pair of boots because the Adrenalin’s are so comfortable I’m nervous about switching but they are starting to fall apart and are not stiff enough. I’ve improved their performance by adding an Intuition Powerwrap liner and a Booster strap but they’re still not quite stiff enough. Can you comment on the fit and stiffness of the Mobe compared to the Adrenallin? Specifically the width of the forefoot and the size of the heel pocket. Also, how does the Mobe’s Intuition liner compare with the comfort/performance of the Powerwrap?

  79. Johnny December 5th, 2013 12:09 pm

    Thanks for all the info Lee , I scored the black scarpa touring tongues from vancouver mec last February , there was a box full of them ,and the girl gave me them for free. Smooth powerful. Not too light or heavy , just perfect.

Got something to say? Please do so.





Anti-Spam Quiz:


If you need an emoticon for a comment just copy/paste off the following list, or use text code you might be familiar with.
:D    :-)    :(    :lol:    :x    :P    :oops:    :cry:    :evil:    :twisted:    :roll:    :wink:    :!:    :?:    :idea:    :arrow:   
  
Due to comment spam we moderate most comments. Please do not submit your comment twice -- it will appear shortly after we approve it. Once you've had one comment published, your comments will be pre-approved and appear immediately if you're using the same computer and not blocking browser cookies. NOTE however that ALL comments with one or more links in the text will be held for moderation no matter what, again for spam prevention.
Welcome to Louis (Lou) Dawson's backcountry skiing information opinion website and e magazine. Lou's passion for the past 45 years has been alpinism, climbing, mountaineering and skiing -- along with all manner of outdoor recreation. He has authored numerous books and articles about backcountry skiing and is well known as the first person to ski down all 54 of Colorado's 14,000-foot peaks, otherwise known as the Fourteeners! Books and free back country news and information here, and tons of Randonnee rando telemark info.

All material on this website online magazine is copyrighted, the name WildSnow is trademarked.. Permission required for reproduction, electronic or otherwise. This includes publication and display on other websites by whatever means. PLEASE SEE OUR COPYRIGHT and TRADEMARK INFORMATION.

Backcountry skiing is a dangerous sport. You may be killed or severely injured if you do any form of ski mountaineering, skimo randonnee and randonnée skiing. The information and news on this website is intended only as general information. While the authors and editors of the information on this website make every effort to present useful information about ski mountaineering, due to human error the information, text and images contained within this website may be inaccurate, false, or out-of-date. By using, reading or viewing the information provided on this website, you agree to absolve the owners of Wild Snow as well as content contributors of any liability for injuries or losses incurred while using such information. Furthermore, you agree to use any of this website's information, maps, photos, or binding mounting instructions or templates at your own risk, and waive Wild Snow its owners and contributors of any liability for use of said items for backcountry skiing or any other use.

Switch to our mobile site