Dynafit New Gear Part Two — TLT 5 Boots, Ski Poles, Backpacks, More


This post by WildSnow.com blogger  

Support WildSnow. Shopping links to Dynafit gear:
Dynafit backcountry ski boots
Dynafit skins
Dynafit bindings
Dynafit ski poles
Discounted Dynafit gear

Ok girls and boys, I’ll just go through the line with emphasis on the new (leaving skis for later).

First, the new boots. Last year Dynafit introduced their Dy.N.A (DNA) race boot, a feather weight form-fitting shoe with a small amount of metatarsal flex. At the time, friends and I looked at the DNA and said “we want something like that for touring.” The DNA’s tiny amount of forefoot flex isn’t an issue for binding performance and may enhance comfort and efficiency, the lack of weight is terrific, and the boot’s two buckle (including lean lock) closure system is simple and quick. It also has a very short sole for a given size, which adds even more comfort and efficiency.

Dynafit TLT 5 backcountry skiing boot.

NEW for 2010/2011, Dynafit TLT 5 Performance backcountry skiing boot. The shell tongue is easily removable for less weight and more comfort in touring mode. You can carry the tongues in your pack and place in the boot for the down, or just leave them in the boots.

The Dynafit DNA race boot lacks a plastic shell tongue, so you just ski them downhill rigid and locked. That’s fine for rando racing when you’re simply trying to get down the mountain as fast as possible, but it is not the sweeter flex you want for casual touring turns. The DNA (Dy. N. A.) boot is also quite expensive.

Dynafit TLT 5

Italian boot craftsman/engineer Federico Sbrissa explains the Dynafit TLT 5 to our weiss beer ransomed ears.

So this year Dynafit is introducing their “TLT 5″ ski touring backcountry skiing boots based on the DNA platform, only optimized for both up and down (mostly, they added an easily removable plastic shell tongue you can carry in your backpack, leave on the boot, or leave at home).

Top of the TLT5 line (pictured above and to right) is their TLT5 Performance TF with a carbon fiber cuff and thermo liner (probably around $900 MSRP unless the overvalued euro gets an adjustment — yes, we can always hope.)

For around $200 less coin and a bit more weight, Dynafit also offers the TLT 5 Mountain TF, main difference being a regular plastic cuff instead of carbon fiber.

TLT 5 Performance weighs about 1,115 grams with tongue, TLT 5 Mountain weighs about 1,125 grams with tongue. That’s very light, and they have a sweet touring flex. Repeat, these boots could very well be some of the best footwear yet for human powered skiing.

For details on how the TLT 5 works, you can check our Dy. N. A. race boot review from last year, as all functions and parameters are nearly the same.

Dynafit’s climbing skins remain similar to last year’s, with their proprietary fixation system using an elastic nub that fits in the slot on any Dynafit brand ski tip. While this system works 99% of the time and is easy to apply, the elastic can come off at the ski tip if your skin stretches. Still, I use this rig quite a bit and give it a pass — the key is to make sure the elastic fits tautly. The company also sells race mohair on rolls, though it’s not certain what will be imported to North America. If you’re in a group that likes mohair and skis lots of miles, getting a roll of skins can make things much more affordable.

Other than developments in the race grabber we blogged yesterday, Dynafit’s binding line remains little changed. Both the FT 12 (now called the FT Z12) and Vertical ST are available in both gray and white color schemes (my guess is they had a military contract for some white ones, and figured why not stick them in the catalog for those needing something in white to go with their white one-piece suit?).

The classic TLT Speed will still be available (basically the original mainstream production Dynafit, main advantages some cost and weight savings, but they don’t work as well for aggressive skiing as the ST/FT offerings.) Dynafit is also making the TLT in a green limited edition, to go with the green scheme of their Broad Peak ski, a new plank for extreme skiing (stiff, 112/74/96) that I’m allowed to blog about. This could be a good board for steep icy ski descents if that sort of thing is your bag, but it’s not that interesting to us here at WildSnow HQ.

Also in bindings, worth mentioning that Dynafit will have a budget race binding available, basically a TLT toe with one of the new race heels, at 197 grams compared to TLT Speed at 335 grams. Not sure if this will be imported, but it looks like a good option if you want to save significant foot weight without buying the super expenso version. (See yesterday’s blog for more info about the race bindings and such.)

Get your Dynafit bindings here.

Moving along, one of the cooler new things is a “Speed” crampon with shorter teeth. Lighter weight, easier to pack.

Dynafit Speed ski crampon.

Dynafit Speed ski crampon.

While the Speed Crampon was developed with races such as Mountain Attack in mind (steep icy sections), the concept is good for times that you’re carrying ski crampons more for icy conditions than for firm snow. Of course the shorter teeth mean you won’t be using your higher heel lift — but you don’t really want to be teetering on stilts in a glacier ice field anyway. Only available in one skinny width, so that could be an issue.

Buy Dynafit ski crampons here.

If you like using bindings without ski brakes, how to leash a Dynafit is always the question. B&D Ski Gear (see ad to left) has addressed that question, and you can easily homebrew good solutions. But it’s nice that Dynafit is offering a leash that looks functional and easy to modify, and has some binding adjustment tools built in.

Dynafit binding ski leash.

Dynafit binding ski leash is ready to modify to your own specifications.

At the European press event each year, they spend quite a bit of time going through the Dynafit clothing line. I’ve really liked this stuff since they first launched, but the super slim fit can be an issue, and you never know what pieces will be imported to North America. Nonetheless, if you’ve got an athletic build and want some clothing that is truly built specific to backcountry skiing, I encourage you to take a look.

Truth: I’d be perfectly happy to dress in Dynafit from my gloves all the way down to my base layer — their apparel is that good.

New this year in Dynafit clothing are some nice merino/synthetic blend base layers. A 3/4 length long underwear looks good, as does their men’s short. Same stuff for the women as well. Layering out from there, they’ve got soft shells, down or Primaloft puffs, and tons (or, in the case of Dynafit, grams) more finery. Let’s see what they’re going to bring in and we’ll base a more detailed review on that.

Oh yeah, I should also mention that Dynafit’s “Storm” overglove is a great concept for speedy athletic backcountry skiing. The idea is you wear this Primaloft insulated mitten with a light liner glove, and a window in the palm allows you to quickly stick your fingers out to manipulate cameras and that sort of thing.

Dynafit's Storm overglove has a large window in the palm. Not ideal for extreme conditions, but perfect for photography during moderate trips and that sort of thing.

Dynafit's Storm overglove has a large window in the palm. Not ideal for extreme conditions, but perfect for photography during moderate trips and that sort of thing.

Having a finger window in your mitten palm isn’t a particularly new concept, but this one is executed in such a way as to be less bulky and more easily accessed than most. Downside is the window is always open, so this isn’t the mitten for hardcore trips where you’re dealing with hours and hours of desperate cold and snow. It’s more for the in-between times.

If Dynafit’s new SSS ski pole works as promised it could revolutionize the adjustable pole market.

As far as I know, all adjustable ski poles up to this juncture work with friction. Before flicklock mechanisms, you had to twist a compression fitting — which sometimes worked — the operative word being “sometimes.” Things were much improved when Black Diamond introduced their Flicklock system, which became the standard by which all other adjustable ski poles are judged (at least they were here, anyway). But nothing is perfect, and flicklock mechanisms still require adjustment, can collapse when heavily weighted, and so forth.

Instead of friction, the SSS ski pole lock works with a system of small notches and a cam. The cam forces a pawl into a given notch, tightens things up, and you end up with a super solid adjustable pole.

Bear in mind that the SSS system has not been independently tested to any great extent, so don’t go hog wild on it yet. But once the mechanism is vetted I’m thinking this might be super nice. Not sure what the downsides would be — I guess we’ll just have to find out.

Dynafit RC 20 backpack is available in black or lime, includes a pastry box.

Last gear in this review: backpacks. While Dynafit’s packs of course lack the ever essential Black Diamond Avalung or an avalanche airbag system, they’re still a viable option if you don’t feel any particular need for an avalanche safety device built into your rucksack. Of particular interest are their lightweight Broad Peak (28 liters) and RC 20 (20 liters) models.

What I like best about these packs is they ride a bit lower and closer to your back than some other models/brands. More, they really don’t compromise on reducing mass, and they have an excellent diagonal ski carry system that comes ready from the factory for clipping skis on and off without removing your pack.

All Dynafit backpacks have what my friends here and I are calling the “pastry box,” which is a horizontal storage compartment at the base of the pack you can access by reaching behind and pulling a velcro flap (which is spring loaded, so you won’t leave it accidentally open). You can store a rope in here, or your crampons, or a puffy. Kind of one step beyond just zipping open a panel loader or digging through a top loader.

That’s it for now, more later and of course I’ll soon start running some trip reports from the Tirol, the heartland of alpine ski touring!

Support WildSnow. Shopping links to Dynafit gear:
Dynafit backcountry ski boots
Dynafit skins
Dynafit bindings
Dynafit ski poles
Discounted Dynafit gear

Comments

131 Responses to “Dynafit New Gear Part Two — TLT 5 Boots, Ski Poles, Backpacks, More”

  1. Kevin January 18th, 2010 9:44 am

    Lou,

    I’m assuming those boot weights are per boot not per pair. Still amazingly light. Have you skied them and if so, how did the handle the descent?

    One thing I can’t wrap my graphic artist mind around is the bizarre color schemes these new boots are sporting. I can give the Euro stuff a pass as a cultural difference, but how about BD’s new boots? The Prime looks like an Oregon Ducks fan picked the colors and the others look like spats. Loud and obnoxious patterns and colors, just don’t fit my idea of backcountry skiing in a natural setting.

    That being said, I ski Garmont Helium’s in grassy green. :unsure:

  2. Kevin January 18th, 2010 9:49 am

    Ooop’s , I meant the Quadrant boot above. You sure can’t miss them on BD’s microsite cover pic.

  3. Lou January 18th, 2010 9:53 am

    I totally agree, the graphics on most of these boots just plain bite the big one. In some cases, sandpaper is the solution, in other cases, you’re stuck. Problem for me is when the company loans or give me boots, I’m a little hesitant to paint over the logos or grind them off. They might not like that (grin).

    The weight is for one boot, unless I’m mistaken…

  4. jerimy January 18th, 2010 10:14 am

    Seems like dropping the power strap and tongue from the TLT5 would get you close to the 920g of the DyNA for $600 less.

  5. ScottN January 18th, 2010 10:34 am

    Enjoying your reports as always Lou. Is the Dynafit leash available yet?

  6. Tony January 18th, 2010 10:47 am

    Kevin. I was skiing in some beautiful burned forest Friday (lightning strike, naturally caused). Mostly white, because we’re in snow, yeah? Then a bunch of black from the burned trunks. On top of that some beautiful swirls of deep browns, bright brown to almost red, & some pale yellows in the not fully burned trunks (white bark pine particularly gorgeous). There was even a sheen on the burned black trunks, about the same shine/reflectivity as the carbon in those boots.

    white, shiny black, yellow – not too much different from that predominately white boot above.

  7. Lou January 18th, 2010 10:58 am

    ScottN, smaller stuff like the leashes is sometimes available the same season they launch, but usually only in Europe… they had a leash last year as well that was useful. Contact Dynafit/Salewa in Boulder to find out what gives.

  8. Greg in Utah January 18th, 2010 11:02 am

    Let’s see here. We’ve got two buckles and a power strap. A plastic tongue and a little bit of metatarsal flex. Finally we’ll throw in a free moving cuff. It looks like Dynafit finally made a copy of the original F1. And it only took them, what is it now, 5 or 6 years?

  9. Mark W January 18th, 2010 11:30 am

    I wonder how the DyNA will rate compared to the F-1 in terms of the metatarsal flex. Not needing a shim like the F-1 sounds like a positive development.

  10. Lou January 18th, 2010 11:34 am

    I hate hassling with those shims… so yeah….

    That said, the boot might still need a shim in some situations, such as with a really big guy skiing hard.

  11. harpo January 18th, 2010 12:22 pm

    Lou, can you right more about the leash? It seems to have the same coiled steel spring as the B&D one. Does it have a fuse? How much does it weigh?

    Also, I presume the TLT 5 has the same last as the Dyna? This might have been mentioned, but how does the last of these boots compare to the Zzero? And if I remember correctly, you can’t shell punch or Dyna (and presumably the TLT5) for width around the forefoot/sixth toe? Could be a problem for me.

  12. harpo January 18th, 2010 1:24 pm

    please notify me of comments via email.

  13. Lee January 18th, 2010 1:55 pm

    Harpo, if you’ve got a sixth toe, I imagine getting any boot to fit is a problem! :biggrin:

  14. Lou January 18th, 2010 2:08 pm

    Harpo, yes, the leash has a short length of coiled cable. I’m 99%certain the Dy.N.A and TLT 5 have the same last. As to how much they can be punched, probably a bit by an expert, but not a huge amount because the plastic is thin.

  15. Jonathan Shefftz January 18th, 2010 2:49 pm

    “We’ve got two buckles and a power strap. A plastic tongue and a little bit of metatarsal flex. Finally we’ll throw in a free moving cuff. It looks like Dynafit finally made a copy of the original F1.”
    – Based on my use of the DyNA so far, the TLT5 will be way beyond the F1. The DyNA has so much fore/aft range of motion that it makes the F1 feel like the BD Factor. And the DyNA already skis way better than the F1. Add a velcro strap plus a tongue, and the weight apparently will go up only a few ounces (per pair), yet the skiing performance will be enough to make me sell my Zzero4. (Already I’m starting to wonder when I’ll next bother to use my Zzero4…)

  16. Greg in Utah January 18th, 2010 3:58 pm

    I don’t want to hear it Jonathan. $900 is not in a medical student’s budget. You were supposed to say “You’re right. Your F1′s are just as good, so save your money and your marriage and forget the TLT5.”

  17. Greg Louie January 18th, 2010 5:08 pm

    I want to hear it!

    A 1050 gram boot you can do all your BC skiing in?

    And why can’t the lower Pebax shell be punched out? F1′s are a bit tricky as you have to shield the bellows material while heating the green stuff while heating, but a skilled fitter can do it.

  18. Jonathan Shefftz January 18th, 2010 6:28 pm

    Any sort of punching is going to be very difficult — the boot has so little excess to play with. My foot measures out pretty much right at 265mm, and the shell length is 287mm. So that’s only 22mm of shell & foam in front of my toes (along with some wiggle room) and in back of my heels.
    Plus any punching in the toe box will be greatly complicated by the Activeflex area (or whatever it’s called).

  19. Jonathan Shefftz January 18th, 2010 6:30 pm

    “I don’t want to hear it Jonathan. $900 is not in a medical student’s budget.”
    – Sorry, I thought you were the Utah Greg I know who is a fellow economics consultant! (But speaking of economics, as a medical student, the present discounted value of your future cash stream is sufficient to afford the TLT5.)

  20. Jonathan Shefftz January 18th, 2010 6:32 pm

    “That said, the boot might still need a shim in some situations, such as with a really big guy skiing hard.”
    – I doubt it. The amount of forefoot flex in the DyNA I noticed when standing still and flexing forward very aggressively was about the same as an F1/F3 *with* a very supportive full shim (like the Scarpa sliding shim).

  21. Jonathan Shefftz January 18th, 2010 6:34 pm

    “Seems like dropping the power strap and tongue from the TLT5 would get you close to the 920g of the DyNA for $600 less.”
    – I was wondering about that too. Sure seems like the cf version of the TLT5 is just the DyNA with a velcro strap, plastic tongue, and more traditional buckle bails. Surprising that the price point drops so much for those additions.

  22. alyn January 18th, 2010 6:52 pm

    Finally something to replace the tried tlt pro boots! Can’t wait to get in a pair. Would love a set for this spring/summer, but sounds like it’ll be fall.
    By the sounds of it, the green TLT5 Mountian (not pictured) will be the most popular choice for this side of the pond. Its going to retail around $700, just about as light, and the liner looks to be a bit more heavy duty. Might make fitting these boots a bit easier. I usually go with a 28 and the 27.5 dyna boots i tried on were VERY tight up front. Hopefully the proper size and a decent liner will work for those with normal to wide feet.

  23. Cam January 18th, 2010 6:53 pm

    Unfortunately, the TLT5 buckle placements are poor and do nothing to pull back the foot into the heel of the boot. They would be better boots if Dynafit could find an area half way between the current two buckles and put one effective one.

  24. Jonathan Shefftz January 18th, 2010 6:56 pm

    Buckle placement has worked perfectly for me so far.

  25. Eric Steig January 18th, 2010 9:57 pm

    Speaking of buckle placement, seems to me the lower buckle would be better if the buckle was on top, rather than on the side where it can catch on rocks and branches — or chunky snow — when scrambling. My old Garmont Megalites (1st year) had this problem, which was corrected in year 2.

    Lou: if you can get Dynafit to changes this for the production model, I think it would be great!

    Jonathan Shefftz: any thoughts on this from your own experience with D.y.N.A?

  26. Jonathan Shefftz January 18th, 2010 10:01 pm

    I doubt that the tongue of the TLT5 is beefy enough to allow a reverse buckle.

    On my DyNA, such a configuration is obviously impossible. But the buckle sure seems small enough and also positioned such that catching on various objects is unlikely. I’ll have to report back though on that in the spring…

  27. Lou January 18th, 2010 11:28 pm

    Jonathan has a Dy.N.A. review on tap, we’ll publish ASAP. Good to hear they definitely don’t need a shim under the sole.

  28. Bar Barrique January 18th, 2010 11:36 pm

    My Komperdell Carbon poles with Powerlock (flicklock clone) are in their fourth year of use, and, are holding up reasonably well. I can adjust the powerlocks with my thumb nail, when needed. I would like to try on these boots; I have been a slow convert to light weight gear (following my wife’s lead), slowly realizing that most of BC is touring, and, that I don’t need super stiff boots for most conditions. Retired the big Stocklis 8 or 9 years ago.

  29. Mike S January 18th, 2010 11:58 pm

    I really hope these things have a wider last than other Dynafit boots – that seam is right where it would need to be punched for me. I just got my Titans back from the fitter – ’6th toe’ ala Harpo – what a relief that my foot is no longer being squeezed into a taco shape. The fitter mentioned that he wouldn’t do punches near seams between different types of plastic (like BD Factor, Method, etc).

  30. Federico January 19th, 2010 2:43 am

    Cam January 18th, 2010 6:53 pm
    Unfortunately, the TLT5 buckle placements are poor and do nothing to pull back the foot into the heel of the boot. They would be better boots if Dynafit could find an area half way between the current two buckles and put one effective one.

    … I don’t really understand in base of which technical knowledge you say this? the TLT5 last and shell construction are so well done that you don’t need any buckle to pull back the foot on the heel of the boot. Just a little pressure of the shell buckle is enough to make the heel perfectly stable and not sliding. As regards the coments on the reveresed or not reversed postion of the cuff buckle there is no need to revers anything, the buckle is postioned very high, it’s very small and it’s nearly impssible to open it on snow or rocks I personally have more than 150.000 up altitude meters on my Dy.N.A. and TLT5, sometimes on very technical alpine terrain, and I’ve never had any troubles with the cuff buckle. There are people with much much more altitude done, also in high mountain expeditions and nobody figured out any trouble with it.

    - The fitting of the TLT5/Dy.N.A. is not tight on the forefoot!, it’s the same of zzero and very similar to Garmont Megaride, Adrenalin, Endorphin etc. which means a standard comfort last made to fit most of the people wordwide!… anyway the shell can be punched like all others, I’ve seen examples with more then one full size extra punched in lenght and width. Only the operations must be done from someone who knows how to do it properly and it’s not easy to find one..
    Most important before punching anything is to do a proper thermoforming of the liners, if well done you can easily get 3-4mm more room on the forefoot.

    - The difference from the TLT5 Performance and the Dy.N.A. it’s not only adding pieces and reducing the cost… .. … . of course not…. it’s a complete different technolgy in the carbon fiber cuff, more fine/performing and expensive on the Dy.N.A., the carbon shell reinforcement which is missing o the TLT5 (very expensive part)…. and especially the use and positioning… Dy.N.A. is a racing boot, tuned to be light… and the TLT5 is an athletic ski mountaineering boot.

    - The main thing…. between using a boot like the TLT5 and a 4 buckle freeride boot like the titan or the Factor, is that you can do 2 or 3 times more climb with the same fatigue in your legs and easily challenge all kind of descent with it… then if you don’t care about climbing or getting with dead legs on top and you’re using a ski 110 underfoot with Marker Duke bindings… the right choice is still a Titan or similar…
    It’s a different way of doing this sport and it’s the “authentic way” … I mean.. it’s like doing an MTB cross country track with a downhill bike…or doing it with a nice cross country bike with brain suspensions…
    Then you know … the right choice really depends on how you interpretate this sport and what you like the most…
    Most of the people in Europe loves the great sensation you feel when you reach the summit of the peak you’re dreaming to climb since years or the personal proudness in doing a very long traverse … and of course to ski down with fun…
    In north America most of the people thinks “it’s all about the down” … which is great!… but If sooner or later you will have the chance to use light skis, fast skins, dynafit bindings and light boots with full free cuff movement… you might starts to like this other way of doing the sport :-) …. but don’t misunderstand me, I don’t want to convince anybody or change the mind of anybody… it’s just a personal comment :angel:

    Ciao

  31. Lou January 19th, 2010 2:08 pm

    Feddy, as always, thanks for being here!

  32. James January 19th, 2010 3:42 pm

    Lou. Is the TLT5 Performance model’s est MSRP $900 Euro or $900USD. If it is $900US, I would like to know why Dynafit felt the need to gouge $1500 for the DyNA this year. R&D recovery? Small market?

  33. Cam January 19th, 2010 8:53 pm

    Hi Federico,
    Thousands of Raichle/Full Tilt users will certainly attest to the importance of a mid buckle. In fact, many of us can rip without the need of the instep buckle and the only slightly more valuable lower calf buckle. Raichle, Scarpa and Dalbello have known this for years – I thought it was obvious.

  34. Eric Steig January 19th, 2010 11:10 pm

    Cam, if you look at the boot that buckle is midway between instep and ankle.
    Looks like the perfect compromise to me (and felt right too, on the DyNAs I tried).

    I agree Dalbello design is nice — the Virus gets away nicely with 3 buckles but feels like a 4-buckle boot, because the high mid-buckle serves the purpose of two buckles (lower calf, upper foot). But the reason it works for touring is that the mid-buckle floats. The way to go light is thus obviously to do what Dynafit has done — not have one at all.

  35. Bar Barrique January 19th, 2010 11:18 pm

    Looking at this boot; I see that the lower buckle is in the approximate placing of the second buckle from the bottom on a four buckle boot, and, the top buckle is in the place of a top buckle on a four buckle boot. Since I have used four buckle AT boots, and, been happy with their performance, I see no reason why this boot might not work for me. On my current four buckle boot (Radiums, but still using my Megarides sometimes); I do not tighten the lower buckle to any degree, and, I could probably live without it. I have used a couple of pair of Raichle Flexon alpine boots “back in the day”, and, while I liked them, I do not consider them to necessarily be the “ultimate” boot design. The best way to find out if a boot may or may not work for you; is to try one on. This boot is an ultra light design so it is reasonable to expect that there are some trade offs between performance, and, weight. The important question for me is; does this boot deliver an adequate level of performance for the type of skiing that I normally do, and, is the decrease in weight worth the trade off.

  36. Lou January 19th, 2010 11:25 pm

    The lower 4th buckle on 4 buckle boots works with a magic power, and thus does not need to be tightened. It’s mainly there so the boots magically float of store shelves.

  37. Lou January 19th, 2010 11:30 pm

    Seriously though:
    Some people have foot shapes that are low to moderate height in front of the shin. Combine that foot shape with a low volume foot, and boot shape alone may not result in good heel retention and one might feel the need of a buckle that pulled slightly back from the position of the Dynafit buckle.

    In most cases a Dynafit boot will fit as Feddy says, with good heel retention due to the shape of the last. But I’d ad that certain people do have trouble getting good heel retention. A boot craftsman can move the buckle back a bit, but it’s best to just try some fitting tricks such as adding some volume to the liner over the instep, lifting the heel a bit, lifting the whole foot, that sort of stuff.

  38. Mike S January 20th, 2010 2:09 am

    Federico, thanks for the feedback. it’s good to hear that this boot can be punched for width. I agree that the finding a qualified boot fitter is the hardest part. I had one place say “AT boots use crappy plastic – we won’t punch new boots”. Even when you find a fitter, accepting the ‘no guarantee we won’t wreck your boots’ is a bit hard. Ideally fitters would have a good relationship with boot manufacturers so that if an accident happens (wrecked shell or something) the end buyer doesn’t eat the cost the boots.

    As for “all about the down” in North America, it’s actually all about the quiver, including boots – right tool for the job. Wide skis, big boots for slacker day trips, skinnier skis, lighter boots for longer/high vert trips – if you can afford it. By the way, my Titans have awesome fore/aft travel when loose – by far the best of any boot I’ve skied. Now I just need a TLT5s for long trips, if my fitter is able.

  39. Federico January 20th, 2010 8:17 am

    Cam… not to be polemic but Scarpa and Dal Bello maybe represent 5% of the world wide ski boot market and the “original” Raichle was bankrupt quite some years ago…
    So if the remaining 95% of the ski boots in the world use two shell buckles, all more or less in the same position, for the optimal downhill performance and don’t offer a “middle” 45% buckle maybe there is a good reason, don’t you think?
    Anyway the need or not of that buckle really depends on how the internal shell last is designed and for the Dy.N.A./TLT5, having a very up-hill / walking performance designed last with incredible heel fitting, there is a need of only one buckle exactly in that postion, which is enough to keep the heel in place while walking and still enough to close the shell around the feet for more ski control during the descent. Anyway compared to the TLT5 pictures you saw now, it might be that the shell buckle will be moved a few millimeters more on the back, it’s still under testing.

    As regards the discussion if two bukles in the shell are needed or not… well for me this is a completely non sense discussion… First of all plese consider that North America and Scandinavia are unique in the planet, most of the people there have feet which are much wider and flatter than the rest of the world, especially versus europe. So the lower shell buckles, which is not needed for most of the american’s, as you’re already pressed enough in the shell, is really needed from the rest of the world and especially from those who have a normal or narrow fitting and needs more pressure to be stable inside the shell .
    As boots must be sold world wide producers always try to make them a good compromise for everybody :-)
    Also it does not make really a lot of sense to remove the lower buckle as it’s about 20-25 grams less and no performance differences … but if someone really think he doesn’t need it… well he can simply take it out, it’s not really a big work.

    Mike, for punching the shells, with the TLT5 it’s not more difficult than normal AT boots… even if the shell is super thin Grilamid, the plastic it’s made, is really a superior material… much more resistant than other more common materials like pebax or pu… Of course an alpine ski boots is much easier to mould because the thickenss of the shell is much more … but a proper wroker can do miracles… we fitted two of our colleagues in a 28,5 Dy.N.A. shell and they normally wear a 30 … so the shell is stretched in lenght for more than 1cm and pushed everywhere in width… anyway it requires attention and the right tools…
    I would recoment the really old way but still the best one… boil a nice pot of water… leave the shell area you need to mould to warm up inside the boiling water for some minutes and then push the shell with the traditional pushing tools… wait until the plastic is completely cooled down and remove the tools… in this way it’s much more difficult to create damages on the shell as the heating guns might over heat the plastic and damage it.. let’s say heating guns are faster..but more difficult and dangerouse to use…
    If it’s a lot of operations to do it’s clearly better to drill the two cuff rivets, work the shell without the cuff which makes the life easier and then replace the cuff rivets… :cool:

  40. jerimy January 20th, 2010 8:35 am

    I believe you have the weight of the TLT5 Mountain wrong. It should be 1290g instead of 1125g.

  41. Federico January 20th, 2010 8:49 am

    Jerimy, you’re not right, TL5 Mountain weights:

    TF liner 1.065 (up hill mode) / 1.130 (Downhill mode)
    TF-X liner 1.225 (up hill mode) / 1.290 (Downhill mode)

    the difference between uphill and downhill is the removable optional tongue that you add only on the descent and weights 65gr. The TFX liner weight 160 grams more than the normal TF.
    Ciao

  42. Ben W January 20th, 2010 9:15 am

    I’m praying i can make these fit. I just started saving. AT boots (at both the light and burly ends of the spectrum) are improving so fast.

  43. jerimy January 20th, 2010 9:46 am

    Frederico, thanks for the clarification on the liners.

    Let me see if I have the line-up correct, all in downhill mode:

    Performance: 1115g
    Mountain TF: 1130g
    Mountain TF-X: 1290g

    So the carbon fiber cuff only saves 10-15g?

  44. roca January 20th, 2010 11:05 am

    federico,
    some more questions as you seem to be very well informed:
    will shell size (and sole lenght) be the same for tlt5 and dyna, or there is a half size jump for thicker liners etc..(I think this happens with new scarpa carbon F1, for example)
    -do the shell make 27-27.5 or 27.5 – 28 in these models?
    -which is the sole lenght for 27.5 ? (both dyna and tlt5 if different)

    -do you know if some tlt5 will be delivered end of this season already?
    -do you have a price idea for europe?

  45. Hamish Gowans January 20th, 2010 4:08 pm

    So there’s a boot comparable to Scarpa F3s that weigh a full 1.5 lbs less per pair?

  46. Jonathan Shefftz January 20th, 2010 8:40 pm

    Hamish, based on my outing today in the DyNA (my fourth outing, but my first in steep backcountry terrain), I’d say it’s comparable to the F3 I used to have . . . but 2.5 lbs less, not 1.5 lbs less.

    For buckle placement, the two buckles have so far worked really well for me. The only other thing I would want (for steep winter backcountry terrain, as opposed to spring/summer touring or racing) is a velcro strap . . . and a plastic tongue . . . which is exactly what the TLT5 will have.

  47. Federico January 21st, 2010 2:07 am

    Roca, yes weight are right… but I would not consider the downhill ones… I mean you will alwasy climb without tongues as, even if it’s possible to climb with the tongues placed, it make such a huge difference that you will never use them for up hill… the placement operation is so easy that you can do it in all conditions, windy, cold, deep powder, etc… and, after a little practice it’s still much faster to insert the tongue and close the boots than closing all buckles on a normal 4 buckles boots. The use of carbon fiber cuff it’s not for a weight saving but for added performances… the carbon version has a really impressive stiffness… let’s say, it’s not a fragile, thin, light carbon piece… it’s a very safe ultra-stiff piece made for last and used for years… not for a season.

    Sole lenght of 27,5 both for Dy.N.A. and TLT5 is 297mm, shell breakdown is the classical, one shell fits 27 and 27,5 and so for all the others…
    No eary delivery for this season, USD prices will be 999 for the Performance and 749 for the Mountain Tf-X, if you consieder the exchange rate very similar to euro which are 700 and 500.

    TLT5 is not comparable with F3 at all… lighter, better uphill agility, better downhill support.

  48. Schnappi January 24th, 2010 9:45 am

    Is there are release date for the TLT5 Mtn? Like April-ish…?

  49. Andy February 4th, 2010 10:44 am

    Hi Lou,
    I’ve got hold of some really great Dynafit clothing recently, but it is hard to come by in the US. Do you know of any online stores with an extensive collection?
    Andy

  50. Euro Rob February 4th, 2010 10:54 am

    Federico, everything you and Lou say about this boot sounds awesome and I’ll probably get them as soon as they’re available. Being able to do races (with light skis) without tongue and velcro strap and go for serious powder runs with bigger skis is just what I’m looking for.

    I’m just not buying that it’s takes less time to get the tongues out of your pack and insert them than buckling up 6-8 buckles and flipping the touring mode switch.

    Well maybe if you have a “pastry box” compatible pack so you don’t need to take it off :-)

  51. Lou February 4th, 2010 12:01 pm

    Andy, I don’t know of any sources. But I don’t track that. Anyone have the answer?

  52. stephen February 6th, 2010 1:34 pm

    The boots sound really interesting, but:

    1. Is there still a soft tongue there (as on the DyNA) to keep snow out when the plastic tongue is removed?
    2. Does either of the liners have laces to prevent heel lift?

    Sounds like Scarpa F3′s are safer for me as I know the instep buckle prevents heel lift – I have skinny heels, ankles and calves and this is usually a major problem for me with two buckle boots. Shredded feet get old pretty fast IMHO. The weight difference to the F3 isn’t so great (~360g/pair) if one cannot justify/afford the carbon version, and I think the extra buckle will make my feet a lot happier than lifting a few grams less…

  53. Woody Chuck February 7th, 2010 11:16 pm

    Excellent information. This thread (and others) all beg the question that quatifies the weight quandry.

    How much weight in your rig is noticeable when touring? Ounces? A pound? A decagram or two?

  54. Lou February 7th, 2010 11:30 pm

    I easily notice a few ounces if I’m used to a lighter or heavier rig, and I’m not breaking trail and loading the ski up with snow and thus disguising the true weight. But who cares what is noticeable? We’re talking pure physics. Hauling more weight uphill is harder than hauling less. Ounces or pounds.

  55. Woody Chuck February 7th, 2010 11:56 pm

    Thanks for the quick return. Point taken.

    I ask because as a relative newbie to going uphill without a seat, or rope, I have been hauling maybe the first pair of Karhu Jaks ever made, Silvretta 404′s, and someone’s 2nd hand weighty garmonts up several climbs. I’m about to shellout a big piece of my mini-income for a “quiver of one” and I keep imagining my new RT 86′s, dynafits, and 3 buckle zzero C-tfs will like floating heavenward. But I wonder if I am being too un-weight crazed and sacrificing downhill pleasure.

    FWIW I’m graying, (a lot) skiing more relaxed, and not the most balanced skier but can get down anything if no one is watching.

  56. Jim Sogi February 22nd, 2010 2:12 pm

    On the subject of leashes, surfers use an elastic leash. When guys ride the big 50 footers, they use a 5/16 that will break away in a wipe out, but not when just paddling around. There is a velcro that straps around the ankle. I wonder if such a thing would work for ski leashes to hold when putting on skiis or powder fall, but break away in an avalanche? I might have to try it and report back.

  57. Jonathan Shefftz February 22nd, 2010 2:37 pm

    Jim S. — B&D (not to be confused with BD) offers exactly such a product:
    http://tinyurl.com/ygb2j9r

    I briefly covered it in my review here:
    http://tinyurl.com/ylnntc8
    Works very well overall.

  58. Jonathan L February 22nd, 2010 9:38 pm

    Used the Dynafit Manaslu Pack this weekend. 32 liters, pastry box, etc. My girlfriend, who hates all packs, declared it the most comfortable carry ever. The crazy loop and elastic hook ski-carry actually works. Yank your skis off, clip them to your back without taking your pack off, scramble across the rocks, pull them out, click them back on. Genius.

  59. Jim March 2nd, 2010 9:06 pm

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WV3ViwtDsRQ&feature=player_embedded#

    Check out this La Sportiva all carbon race boot with titanium buckles. Oh my gosh.

  60. jayson March 9th, 2010 11:33 pm

    Check the review on the TLT5 Perf that i did last week. i kinda liked it.

  61. jayson March 9th, 2010 11:33 pm
  62. Mike March 12th, 2010 3:36 pm

    I got a chance to fondle some TLT5s this afternoon and all I have to say is “wow.” If they ski as well as they promise I may have to take a major hit to the wallet this fall. Can’t wait to demo a pair.

  63. Lou March 12th, 2010 7:52 pm

    I’d agree that those boots are a game changer in many ways. I’m not sure about the low volume and thin liner, however. That probably would be too cold for me in mid winter Colorado. Won’t know for sure till I try, however, and Fedy says I’m wrong and they’ll be plenty warm so we’ll see who’s right.

  64. Bar Barrique March 12th, 2010 11:13 pm

    So Lou; when do we get your review?

  65. Lou March 13th, 2010 7:58 am

    Oh… I’ve been so focused on Denali gear that it’s been tough to fall back to rando race boots, but we’ll see… once requested I tend to obsess on a bit more on getting a review done. Heck, I have a boot puncher now in the WildSnow mod shop, perhaps I can blow the toes out on a pair of those and use ‘em on Denali!

  66. Bar Barrique March 13th, 2010 10:59 pm

    I guess there is no big hurry, since I can’t get a set until next year. You are right to focus on the Denali gear, and, I will be following your trip. Considering your focus on light weight gear, I sure that you will get around to reviewing them at some point.

  67. Lou March 14th, 2010 12:07 pm

    Jim, I usually rig my backcountry leashes so they’re breakable. Doing so is an inexact science but involves using fairly thin nylon shoelace type material for the string. My theory is I’d rather loose a ski than loose a leg if it gets trapped under a log. I know a guy who detached both hamstring muscles when his skis went under a log and his tow-truck cable tele binding held him in rather well. Rehab was more than a year and he’s blessed to even be walking. I’d hate for my powder leashes to have the same effect as those tele bindings.

  68. Bruce March 17th, 2010 8:11 am

    Good morning. Do you know where I can purchase adjustable ski poles that weigh less than 14 ounces?

  69. Steve March 18th, 2010 4:06 am

    I am pretty new to ski touring and am looking at this boot or the F1. In the second paragrph you wrote that adding the plastic tongue to the DNA race boot to create this boot made the flex softer (or maybe smoother?). That adding a tongue makes the flex softer doesn’t make sence to me and I want to understand. I’m I not understanding your explanation or could you breifly explaine how the addition of the plastic tongue changes the boot.
    Thanks,
    Steve

  70. Jonathan Shefftz March 18th, 2010 5:46 am

    If we’re looking at the same paragraph, reads as “sweeter” not “softer.”

  71. jayson March 18th, 2010 10:19 am

    The plastic tongue, the “ski booster” definately makes the flex stiffer, by a significant amount over the standard DNA design.

  72. jayson April 21st, 2010 6:18 pm

    Another several trips on the boots and they continue to impress. We did a race at Golden Alpine Holidays a couple of weeks ago and the Cdn National team was there…all on the D.y.N.A. boots where they have huge no of days….80+ on them and they are all holding up really well. Also, i am finding the buckle placement just about perfect….I can literally leave the lower buckle in one position whether up or down as it holds my foot and heel very securely without pinch or looseness. If I am skiing something harder/more serious than just a nice bowl or couloir, on more notch does the trick. I have 15 days on them now and they are holding up better than my Radiums did in their first 15 days…that was surprising.

    So save your pennies boyz and girlz…you will want to have these!

  73. Mike April 23rd, 2010 5:25 pm

    Can anybody comment about how these boots compare, in fit and performance, to the Zzero4?

  74. Jonathan Shefftz April 23rd, 2010 5:53 pm

    Based on my DyNA, the fit of the TLT5 should be pretty similar to the Zzero4, but it gets there by using a slimmer shell and thinner liner as compared to the Zzero4. So I suspect the fit will be less “forgiving” that way — not as versatile for as many different foot shapes?

    In rearward support and lateral/torsional stiffness, the cf upper cuff is amazingly solid.
    Forward flex, my DyNA boots lack the (removable) plastic tongue of the TLT5, but I have noticed that adding a Booster Strap (duct taped in place, since I can’t drill the cf shell) improved the forward responsiveness significantly, and the TLT5 will come with a velcro stap.

  75. jayson April 24th, 2010 12:24 pm

    I have skied both boots, I skied the Zzero 4 carbon for a full season so I know it well. They are similar in power I think that is safe to say, perhaps the new TLT has even more torsional stiffness. The fit is also very similar. I didn’t need to punch out my Zzeros and i have not had to do that for my TLT’s either. The TLT though seems to fit a wider range of foot shapes in my opinion since it is more radically shaped than the last on the Zzeros. I have talked to several people on the DyNA boots and they all have very different feet yet all have had very good success with the fit. So I am not sure I can agree with Jonathan on this point.

    The power strap on the TLT is helpful but honestly having skied it with and without, I am not completely convinced it is really necessary and the hassle for transitions is perhaps not worth it.

  76. Jonathan Shefftz April 26th, 2010 7:26 pm

    Jayson, good points, and certainly some boot lasts are better for some people than others, while some boots lasts just somehow seem to fit a wider range of feet.
    What I meant though was that I thought a boot based upon a thinner liner foam was inherently less adaptable for various foot shapes. And only a single forefoot buckle. Plus the ActiFlex construction might limit any shell mods in that area. But maybe other aspects of the last will enhance its adaptability.
    Re velcro strap, have you tried swapping it out for a Booster Strap? Yes, it will add a couple ounces (the two-band version though should be fine), but when using the DyNA with my (relatively) bigger skis, I found the initial responsiveness is noticeably enhanced.

  77. jayson April 27th, 2010 2:37 pm

    agreed that the thinner liner will be limiting for some folks especially if you have a prominent bone spur or whatever which may mean you will have to go to the shell for accommodation vs relying on the liner to make it work.
    I have not tried the Booster strap on them as I am not feeling that they are lacking in the speed/feel when initiating the flex of the boot. I have large calves (on the largest buckle position) which may assist the locked in feel (ie.there is no play in the fit between my leg and the liner/shell..nice and snug, positive all the way around).
    An issue for many people I notice is that they are looking for simpler transitions and the less fiddling around the better, power straps complicate things for sure.

  78. Jonathan Shefftz April 27th, 2010 4:27 pm

    That makes sense — my calves are rather skinny, so the booster helps me a lot with initial responsiveness (otherwise I always have a bit of a void at the top of pretty much any boot, no matter how much I crank the buckles).

  79. Adam Andrade September 15th, 2010 1:20 pm

    If I fit a size 27 ZZero is it safe to say that I’ll fit in a 27 TLT5?

  80. Jonathan Shefftz September 15th, 2010 2:07 pm

    As I wrote before:
    “Based on my DyNA, the fit of the TLT5 should be pretty similar to the Zzero4, but it gets there by using a slimmer shell and thinner liner as compared to the Zzero4. So I suspect the fit will be less “forgiving” that way — not as versatile for as many different foot shapes?
    - Specifically, I took a 26.0 (same shell as 26.5) in the Zzero4, and ditto for the DyNA, and same as I expected for the TLT5.

  81. Bill September 15th, 2010 2:35 pm

    Hey Jonathan
    May I ask what size your were in a Scarpa F1?

  82. Jayson Faulkner September 15th, 2010 2:50 pm

    I was a 27.5 in zzeros and same in TLT. Most brands are pretty dialed in nowadays on length between boot models within a brand family. In this case, the TLT is a different last however so it does fit differently.

  83. Jonathan Shefftz September 16th, 2010 12:59 pm

    “Hey Jonathan”
    “May I ask what size your were in a Scarpa F1?”
    – I had the Matrix in a 26.5/27.0, the F1 in a 27, and the F3 in a 27. At the time, I was always wondering whether I should have gone to the next smaller shell, since those were all a bit too roomy. For the Matrix, I once tried on a 25.5, which shares the same shell as the 26.0 — that just seemed impossible for my foot length though. With the Zzero4, I was a bit nervous about going from 301mm Matrix shell to a 296mm shell, but like Lou said, the heel pocket was kind of deep, and hence I had just barely enough room for my toes. And the interior length on the 287mm/26.0 DyNA seems pretty much the same as the 296mm/26.0 Zzero4.

  84. Federico September 17th, 2010 3:28 am

    Jonathan… there is no relation from mm sole lenght and boot fitting… DyNA, TLT5 are more than 1cm shorter than the zzero but they fit the same.
    The shell thickness is reduced and being only dynafit binding compatible the “boot tipp” has been removed as that is needed only to work on standard touring bindings.

    TLT5 fits exactly the same of zzero in lenght and it’s just a little bit more precise ont the heel instep while the toe box is a little bit more roomy. it’s a more walking/climbing oriented fitting. but it’s hard to judge these type of things on the paper, the boots needs to be tried on each individual foot, thermoformed if required and then get an individual judgment…

  85. Jonathan Shefftz September 17th, 2010 10:16 am

    Federico, thanks for the clarification, but that was exactly my point, i.e., don’t worry about the exceedingly short bsl and instead just go with your regular size. And indeed the short bsl is a great advantage for off-snow agility.
    But is the boot really only for use in Dynafit bindings? I still haven’t gotten around to torque testing my DyNA in Diamirs (just b/c the combination seems so ridiculous), but unlike the TLT4, the toe & heel lugs, although foreshortened, do seem to be compatible.

  86. tony September 17th, 2010 10:43 am

    Fredrico,

    I think you (or someone else) said here last year that people have punched (carefully) the TLT5 several sizes bigger. I just wanted to confirm you can punch the 6th toe area, which would correspond to where the proto bellows is? Since this section isn’t carbon on the TLT5′s, I am guessing this isn’t a problem? But with the wider toe box, I might need to punch…….

  87. tony September 17th, 2010 10:52 am

    Fredrico,

    Sorry, I reread you comments above and you talk a lot about how to punch this boot. Could you give any special considerations on how to punch the proto bellows/active flex area?

  88. Federico September 18th, 2010 6:31 am

    Jonhatan, tlt5 works on a standard touring binding, BUT this doesn’t mean it’s compatible as the sole design DOESN’T follow the ISO/UNI norms.
    Anyway the release testing said the side releas is approx 10-15kg lower than the standard, this means if you adjust the binding release to 10 the boot will releas to 8,5 – 9.

    Tony TLT5 can be punched without any problem, being the shell very very thin needs to be done from expert hands and with some extra attention compared to alpine PU boots.
    We experienced extreme punching last year to make fitting friends with normal 30,5 size to a 28,5 shell … and the boots are still alive after 350.000 vertical meters climb …

    Ciao

  89. Federico September 18th, 2010 6:33 am

    Tony, in the next couple of weeks we will have to try a super extreme punching on the 6th toe area for the owner of Dynafit… he has the wider feet I’ve ever seen in my life… once we made it, if succesfull I’ll post some info.
    Ciao

  90. tony September 18th, 2010 12:25 pm

    Thanks, Fredrico.

  91. tOM September 19th, 2010 9:32 pm

    Fredrico, like many others here I’m interested in the TLT5 performance for upcoming bc pursuits. While I’ve got no “sixth toe” all my ski boots have needed to be canted outward significantly,(due to my superior stature:lol: ). My current F3′s were easily modified without any adverse effect to the cuff lock for downhill and I’ve been very happy with them. I’d like to know if you have any first hand experience or have seen adjustable canting added successfully to the TLT5 performance. Using shims has not seemed to be a good option for me in the past.

    Thanks, tOM

  92. climbhoser September 19th, 2010 10:05 pm

    Federico,

    I would wager my feet are wider than your friend’s. Mine are 26 cm long and just over 12 cm wide. I am anxiously awaiting your results as well!

    Thanks,
    Adam

  93. Federico September 20th, 2010 3:14 am

    Tom, please consider that the cuff alignment of the TLT 5 is not 0°, it’s approx 4° on the outside (external) following the anatomy of most of human legs.
    An additional modification, even if it might be possible with some work, it’s strongly not recomended. The buckle/cuff system works and locks only if it’s perfectly aligned so if you work changing the alignment of the cuff without working on the internal spoiler it might be that system starts to work not properly causing un-wanted buckle release on the downhill or faster abrasion on the sliding parts.

  94. Federico September 20th, 2010 3:18 am

    climbhoser can you please let me know your feet volume? the feet width is not a usefull information when talking about footwear lasts. If I have some time I might check on the boot last volume.
    You can measure this witha a flexible “dressmaker” meter on the widest part of your feet and measuring the circumference.

  95. climbhoser September 20th, 2010 6:04 am

    Federico,

    Just measured and my R. Foot has a 29 cm circumference around the metatarsals. My width is all natural, not bone spurs or heavy weight.

    I have been skiing Strolz for 10 years now with great results, but yave simply suffered in AT and tele boots.

    I would love to hear more about the last on the TLT5!

    Thanks,
    Adam

  96. Jonathan Shefftz September 20th, 2010 11:21 am

    Federico, thanks for the info on the effective release values.
    A related question: DyNA/TLT5 in the new Low Tech Race, although not meeting official DIN in any way, about what release setting value does it test out at?

  97. Federico September 21st, 2010 10:41 am

    Climbhoser, 290mm circumference on a standard last developement correspond to approximately a Mond Point 30,5-31 lenght… so I’m sorry to say but I see no chance to mould a 26,5 TLT5 shell to such a width… Generally spoken I think no standard ski boot in 26,5 could fit you in a comfortable way.
    As regards custom developement and so on I alreadey replied you privately.

  98. Federico September 21st, 2010 10:44 am

    Jonathan, the low tech race should release at approx 9-10. But as you already said this is not very important as NO security issue are seriously considered on that type of bindings… and most of those users anyway ski with locked toe so it doesn’t really matter the heel release…

  99. colin October 14th, 2010 4:57 pm

    hey Lou

    do you think these dynafit boots would fit the silvretta 500 binders. as the boots have crampon welts (same as mountaineering boots) do you have the boots and 500′s at your disposal to check

    thanks
    c

  100. Lou October 14th, 2010 5:48 pm

    Colin, I’m sure they would.

  101. colin October 14th, 2010 6:34 pm

    so would you be bold enough to flex rate them obivously approximately as the flex number system is simular to the USA’s peace keeping program.

  102. Lou October 15th, 2010 9:26 am

    Colin, good analogy :D — though we’ve also had some successes. I’ll ask about the flex rating.

  103. Damien October 20th, 2010 2:36 pm

    Hi good thread…

    I bought the tlt5 performance a few days ago…. the fit is great but I need to get them punched for length maybe half to one size as the next size up just had way too much room mid foot.

    Would anyone be able to recommend the best boot fitter near Chamonix for this?(long shot I know but it would be great to get a recommendation for someone who is tried and tested etc) .

    Thanks in advance,

    Damien

  104. Alex R October 20th, 2010 4:37 pm

    Damien,

    A bootfitter was recommended to me by a guide and freind in the Chamonix area. I don’t have the name any more but he worked in the Sanglard Sports shop right off the big traffic circle on the main street (accross from the library I beleive). Unfortunately he was on vacation in May when I went through there so I have no first hand experience with him. He had a whole workstation set up right in the corner of the retail part of the shop when I was there in March though.

    A

  105. jayson October 20th, 2010 5:55 pm

    I would agree Sanglard is the place. They have several really good bootfitters there who will be able to help.

  106. Damien October 21st, 2010 1:00 am

    Hey thanks for your replys I will give Sanglard a try and post back hopefully with the good news.

    Cheers Damien

  107. Todd January 13th, 2011 3:44 pm

    I just got two pair of TLT5 Performance boots in two sizes so I could compare. I was a kind of shocked to discover that the pair that fit me better (size 30) will not fit into any of my Dynafit bindings. The pair that I don’t want (size 29) fit in the bindings just fine. Upon inspection, I noted that the sole thickness under the toe (the yellow part of the sole) is about 1.5mm thicker on the 30 than the 29. The thicker sole makes it impossible to click into the toes unit. I notified the shop that I got them from and they sent me a replacement size 30.5 (same shell at the 30). However, the replacement has the same problem. I called Dynfit in CO, and they told me that I should just grind it down. I guess I have a few questions. The first is a bit retorical. Why would Dynafit sell a $1000 boot that doesn’t even fit into their own bindings? If I grind it down what should I use? Do I have to be careful to preserve the contours and cutouts? Lastly, what if I mess it up? I guess I’d be SOL..

    Thanks for any advise.

  108. Greg Louie January 13th, 2011 3:54 pm

    Todd, my 27.0 TLT 5 P’s were hitting the toepiece arms in two spots directly under the toe sockets of the boots and making it hard to step in – I just cut chunks out with a knife and they work fine. The sole thickness in the middle of the boot was fine; I would check this first.

  109. Todd January 13th, 2011 4:16 pm

    Thanks, Greg. I think mine have the same issue: there’s enough clearance in the middle, but on the sides it’s too thick. Well. I guess I’ll just cut, sand or file it. I guess I’d suggest to Dynafit that they test their boot for out-of-the-box compatibility with their bindings.

    On a happier note, I’m very impressed with my initial fitting, and flex and workability testing. I can’t wait to ski them. My experience fitting is that I went up a full size from my usual 29 in Garmont Megalites and Megarides, and 29 in a Dynafit Titan. I was actually between sizes in the TLT5, but I felt like I would have some toe bang with the 29′s, and the 30′s were still snug in terms of volume with an added riser between the liner and shell.

  110. Jonathan Shefftz January 13th, 2011 4:31 pm

    Over on TGR, Federico was essentially saying better to err on the excess side, and that usually any excess will compress away after a few uses. Mine were just barely okay. But in addition to Greg, a few other TGR posters have needed to trim theirs a bit.
    Also, the heel rubber extends a bit past the boot plastic in the interface area. This isn’t a problem with Dynafit bindings, but my new Plum Guide bindings (review coming up soon…) essentially combine the Vertical heel pin length with the Speed 4mm gap, hence achieving an additional ~1.5mm pin penetration in the heel. This still leaves plenty of leeway inside the boot’s plastic sockets, but I had to grind the rubber just a bit to ease binding entry (otherwise the pins were bumping up against that excess rubber).

  111. Greg Louie January 13th, 2011 5:31 pm

    I don’t know about waiting for the sole to compress, that polymer looks pretty resiliant to me. What I want to do is to be able to step cleanly into my bindings now (well, as soon as this rain clears) not on next week’s tour or two weeks from now.

    I’m guessing they use limited sizes of the black and yellow sole on multiple BSL’s so depending on where the high points (sole lugs) line up with your bindings, you may have to trim a little off. It takes about 10 seconds per boot.

    Here’s a quick picture:

    http://www.randosaigai.com/tlt5solefix_4785.jpg

    Where I cut mine is actually a bit behind the toe sockets.

  112. Todd January 14th, 2011 9:46 am

    Just a follow-up: I had to removed quite a bit of material from the toe area, both on the sides (similar to what Greg posted), and on the front of the toe. The material on the front of the toe was so thick that the boot would not pivot, at all! It was actually quite a bit of grinding in terms of the area covered and the thickness that I had to remove, but I took it off a little by little until it worked.

  113. Federico January 14th, 2011 10:01 am

    Hi!, sorry guys, unfortunately rubber moulding is not a precise science as injection moulding, casting, cnc etc… there is a hot mould and the operators puts inside the pieces of rubber which after are vulcanized (cooked) and became a sole…
    Unfortunately there might be some tollerances if the operators put a little bit more rubber or a little bit less… and we decided to be on the highest tollerances to assure the best durability and binding function. B
    During this year production it happened that we had a little bit too much tollerance on the bigger and smaller sizes. Of course this will not happen anymore.
    The easy solution, even if not very nice, I agree, is to grind a little bit the rubber to make it working on the binding.
    Ciao

  114. Gentle Sasquatch March 19th, 2011 8:12 pm

    I tried the TLT 5 today in a store nearby. I liked the overall product but the boot fitted me too narrow. After about 10 minutes the boot became painful. Is Dynafit making these in different widths? Does the width vary as the sizes go up? For example I could go one size higher to 30 – could I expect the boot to be wider?

    If there isn’t a Dynafit boot for me then which manufacturer makes ‘wider’ versions ?

    Thanks for your answer.

  115. climbhoser March 19th, 2011 8:21 pm

    GS, read up above where Federico talks about punching for width. Scarpas are lasted wider (F1/F3)…it’s up to you whether they are as good a boot or if you would rather punch TLT5s for width.

  116. Lou March 20th, 2011 3:57 pm

    Gentle, yes, the boot usually becomes wider as you go up in shell sizes. Also, were you evaluating before molding liner? If so, your impressions could be totally whacked.

  117. Gentle Sasquatch March 21st, 2011 6:58 am

    Lou,

    Thank you for the tips. Yes I was evaluating before molding liner. To be honest I really expected the boot no to fit at all when I walked into the store. They did not have any larger sizes. Nevertheless I just wanted to see how the boot felt. Although I measure about 28.5 – 29 I routinely fit size 30 ski boots. Go figure. I had regular hiking socks on. I was surprised that I was able to fit into the boot. If I stretched my toes I could feel the toebox. I think size 29.5 or 30 will be better. I do hope that the boot will be wider too.

    Are you saying that is I mold it I will gain some space in the width? It wouldn’t be a shocking discovery but I just like to ask. :-)

    Thanks.

  118. Lou March 21st, 2011 7:09 am

    Gentle, don’t be too shocked (grin), but yes, the liner will give when it’s molded thus creating more room where needed. Up to a point.

    Don’t mind helping you with this, but didn’t you talk to someone at the shop where you’re looking at the boots? Did they help you with a shell fit evaluation (not using liner)? The first step in fitting boots is to pick correct shell size, then mold. Only after that will you know for sure if they fit.

  119. Gentle Sasquatch March 21st, 2011 7:13 am

    The store employee was helpful but he did not have many options to offer me, given the fact they did not have larger sizes. The employee was skeptical I would fit into the boot at all. But I persevered. hehe. The store employee also did not know that the tongue is removable. If you know any stores in New England that stock Dynafit in various sizes and have good knowledge with fitting and possible punching out I would greatly appreciate your suggestions.

  120. Lou March 21st, 2011 7:25 am

    Gentle, sadly, stories of ski shop ignorance are like a stuck CD player, just repeating, and repeating and… to find a “top shop” please see this post and thread, leave top shop search questions there. Important we keep it all in one place, to help everyone.

    http://www.wildsnow.com/3921/top-best-ski-shops/

  121. Jonathan Shefftz March 21st, 2011 7:30 am

    GS, the second post in that thread has my summary of NE ski shops — unfortunately, slim pickings, but a few of them might be able to help you.
    (And which shop did you first try? Feel free to email me privately if you don’t want to discuss in public.)

  122. jayson March 22nd, 2011 10:15 am

    I punched my TLTs and they punched beautifully and have held the punch for months.

  123. Lou March 22nd, 2011 10:18 am

    Jayson, details? Where did you punch? Who did it and how?

  124. jayson March 22nd, 2011 12:04 pm

    I punched at the metatarsals and also on the lateral side of both heels for a bone spur. The forefoot punch was about 3mm and the rear about 2 or so. Both have worked very well and held well without any distortion of shell function etc.
    Hot water heating worked well vs heat gun.

  125. aviator March 22nd, 2011 1:15 pm

    @iayson
    When you do hot water punching, for how long do you heat it in water?.
    I’ve been experimenting with old pebax boots. And 5 or 10 mins in boiling water don’t do much? Sure it’s softer but not really soft enough? Am I missing something?

  126. jayson March 22nd, 2011 6:43 pm

    I don’t have a punch so had it done at my friend’s boot shop here in Whistler. Not sure what the dwell was on hot water punch. But you can use a heat gun successfully too, we have had a few customers that have had success with the normal technique.

  127. Lou March 22nd, 2011 6:59 pm

    Aviator, water heating is dependent on altitude in my opinion, also type of Pebax. When I heat gun mold Pebax I measure temp with infrared thermometer and I’m heating plastic up to around 250 F or 275 F, hot water at 6,000 feet elevation boils at around 200 degrees F (depending on exact barometric pressure). Thus I really doubt I could do much with with boot boiling here in Carbondale at 6,180 feet. One trick I’ve been using is to pre-heat the punch mandrel in my convection oven.

    Now, a different plastic might soften at a lower temperature. Perhaps the Grilamid used in boots such as TLT 5 does so…

    BTW, according to powers that be, Grilamid and Pebax are both formulations of nylon…

  128. Gentle Sasquatch March 28th, 2011 8:10 am

    I spoke to a couple of bootfitters on Saturday and asked them to examine my foot. They insisted on not going larger than 29. So I went back to the store that had the TLT Mountain in 29 and purchased them outright without baking them. Then I went straight to the bootfitter and after 3 punches and several adjustments and baking of the liner I can say that they fit me well. Yay! I will take them out next weekend for a 2 hour ascent and a ski down a mountain.

  129. Lou March 28th, 2011 8:21 am

    Gentle, good job. One thing bootfitters constantly battle against is people buying too large a boot because it feels more comfortable in the shop during quick fitting. Sounds like your bootfitter won that particular battle (grin).

  130. Jan Neuspiel March 31st, 2011 12:07 pm

    I am ordering new boots and considering the TLT5 Mountain TFX. It is clear that this boot will tour beautifully. What I am wondering is how it manages on the downhill? For reference I have skied a pair of stock mega rides for years. Previous to that I was a dedicated low cut, leather boot telemarker for over a decade. I guide skiing for a living. I will be skiing these boots on a pair of Mutzagh Atas with TLT bindings. I do not require a super alpine oriented boot for descent but I was not happy with the original TLT boots which I had years ago which I found painful when I had to tighten the buckles so hard to try to get any performance and they pinched through the cheap thermo plastic! Can you offer any feedback on how I might find the downhill performance on this new TLT5 Mountain TFX? Thanks!

  131. Lou March 31st, 2011 12:39 pm

    Surprisingly good, is how I’d rate the downhill performance. Fit them well and use the add-on tongue and you’ll be very happy. I ski mine without the add-on tongue, but I use an aftermarket liner with a beefy tongue..

Got something to say? Please do so.





Anti-Spam Quiz:


If you need an emoticon for a comment just copy/paste off the following list, or use text code you might be familiar with.
:D    :-)    :(    :lol:    :x    :P    :oops:    :cry:    :evil:    :twisted:    :roll:    :wink:    :!:    :?:    :idea:    :arrow:   
  
Due to comment spam we moderate most comments. Please do not submit your comment twice -- it will appear shortly after approval. Comments with one or more links in the text may be held in moderation, for spam prevention. If you'd like to publish a photo in a comment, contact us. Guidelines: Be civil, no personal attacks, avoid vulgarity and profanity.
Welcome to Louis (Lou) Dawson's backcountry skiing information opinion website and e magazine. Lou's passion for the past 45 years has been alpinism, climbing, mountaineering and skiing -- along with all manner of outdoor recreation. He has authored numerous books and articles about backcountry skiing and is well known as the first person to ski down all 54 of Colorado's 14,000-foot peaks, otherwise known as the Fourteeners! Books and free back country news and information here, and tons of Randonnee rando telemark info.

All material on this website online magazine is copyrighted, the name WildSnow is trademarked.. Permission required for reproduction, electronic or otherwise. This includes publication and display on other websites by whatever means. PLEASE SEE OUR COPYRIGHT and TRADEMARK INFORMATION.

Backcountry skiing is a dangerous sport. You may be killed or severely injured if you do any form of ski mountaineering, skimo randonnee and randonnée skiing. The information and news on this website is intended only as general information. While the authors and editors of the information on this website make every effort to present useful information about ski mountaineering, due to human error the information, text and images contained within this website may be inaccurate, false, or out-of-date. By using, reading or viewing the information provided on this website, you agree to absolve the owners of Wild Snow as well as content contributors of any liability for injuries or losses incurred while using such information. Furthermore, you agree to use any of this website's information, maps, photos, or binding mounting instructions or templates at your own risk, and waive Wild Snow its owners and contributors of any liability for use of said items for backcountry skiing or any other use.

Switch To Mobile Version